Asked in HomeschoolingDodge DurangoState LawsGeorgia (US State)
What are Georgia state laws regarding homeschooling?
October 10, 2008 10:40PM
Georgia General Assembly
"Requirements for Home Study Programs (O.C.G.A. 9 20-2-690 ET SEQ.) Every parent, guardian, or other person residing within this state having control or charge of any child or children between thei seventh and sixteenth birthdays shall enroll and send such child or children to a public school, a private school, or a home study program. HOME STUDY PROGRAMS
# Parent or guardian must annually submit to the superintendent of the local school district in which the program is located a declaration of intent to utilize a home study program by September 1 or within 30 days after a program is established. The local school superintendent will provide a form upon request for this purpose to be returned to that office. # The declaration must include the names and ages of the students, the address where the program is located, and the dates of the school year. # Parents or guardians may teach only their own children, the teaching parent or guardian must have at least a high school diploma or equivalent GED certificate. If a tutor is employed, the tutor must hold a baccalaureate college degree. # The home study program must include but is not limited to instruction in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. # The school year must include the equivalent of 180 days of at least 4.5 hours of instruction per day unless the child is physically unable to comply with this requirement. # Monthly attendance reports must be sent to the local superintendent at the end of each month. The local school superintendent will upon request provide the reporting forms. # Students in home study programs shall be subject to an appropriate nationally standardized testing program administered in consultation with a person trained in the administration and interpretation of norm reference tests. The student must be evaluated at least every three years beginning at the end of the third grade. Records of such tests shall be retained. # The instructor shall write an annual progress assessment report in each required subject area for each student. These reports shall be retained for at least three years. For additional information, contact the local school superintendent, visiting teacher, attendance officer or other designee. The state Department of Education, Division of Regional Education Services, should be contacted for help in identifying local systems. (404) 656-2446.