Family Travel
West Indies

What are four countries that possess islands in the Caribbean Sea?


User Avatar
Wiki User

The four non-Caribbean nations that have island territories in the West Indies are the United States, France, Netherlands, and the United Kingdom.

*Excluding independent island nations in the Caribbean and their dependent islands (like Cuba and the associated Isla de la Juventud), there are at least nine claimants :

United Kingdom - Montserrat, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, etc.

France - Martinique, Guadeloupe, etc.

Netherlands - Curacao, Aruba, etc.

United States - Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, etc.

and five countries that border the Caribbean :

Venezuela - Isla Margarita, Isla Coche, etc.

Mexico - Isla Mujeres, etc.

Nicaragua - Isla de Maiz, etc.

Colombia - Isla de San Andreas, etc.

Honduras - Swan Islands, etc.
north America Australia Africa Europe
France, the Netherlands, the United States, and the United Kingdom all have countries in the Caribbean Sea. Martinique, Aruba, Puerto Rico, and the Cayman Islands belong to those countries respectively.