Food Groups

What are the 7 main food groups?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2012-04-27 16:49:29
2012-04-27 16:49:29

The recommended food groups are grouped according to nutritive content. The "Basic Seven" food groups were first listed in 1942, and then reduced to the "Basic Four" food groups in 1956. Later the USDA included 6 of them in its "food pyramid," which was modified in 2005 to stress 5 in greater value and 1 (fats) of lesser value.

The Basic Seven (1942)

  • Green and Yellow Vegetables
  • Oranges, Tomatoes, and Grapefruit
  • Potatoes and Other Vegetables and Fruit
  • Milk and Milk Products
  • Protein (Meat, Fish, Poultry, Eggs, Dried Peas, Beans)
  • Bread, Flour, and Cereals
  • Butter and Fortified Margarine

(See the related link below for complete information on the origin of U.S. Dietary Guidelines.)

The "5 plus 1" pyramid (2005)

  • Grains
  • Vegetables
  • Fruits
  • (narrow band) Fats and Oils
  • Milk and Dairy
  • Meat and Beans

(See related question.)


Related Questions

User Avatar

The three main food groups are:CarbohydratesProteinsFats

User Avatar

The five main food groups are:Carbohydrates.Proteins.FatsVitaminsMinerals.

User Avatar

The six main food groups are staples, food from animals, fats and oils, vegetables, legumes, and fruits.

User Avatar

The main food groups in the MyPlate food pyramid are grains, fruits, vegetables, protein and dairy.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.