What can the law do to a 16-year-old runaway?
The police can take them into custody and turn them over to juvenile authorities where they can be held in a juvenile facility until a court hearing. A minor who is deemed incorrigible by the court is usually placed in a strictly supervised group home or other state facility.
The law can do a number of things because there are several issues involved. Depending on the state where you live the 16 year old could be below the age of consent which makes it illegal for the 18 year old to have a relationship with him/her. The 18 year old is an adult and because this person is a runaway they could be charged with helping a minor who is breaking the law by…
Can a police officer force a runaway to go home in Florida if the runaway is found at a friends house?
Is there a law that states whether or not a 17-year-old can move out of their parents home and into another stable home if they choose to or would they still be considered a runaway in Washington st?
A 17-year-old is a minor and therefore does not get to choose where they live. Ever heard of the Becca Law? It was passed in WA after a teenage runaway was murdered. It basically gave parents more 'power' in dealing with runaway/disobedient/truant children. You would be considered a runaway and you would be returned home.
Can a police officer force a runaway to go home in Washington state if the runaway is found at a friends house?
yes, by law the officer will take them to the juvenile corrections center and your parents will then decide to leave you in there until you 18 or come pick you up themselves. If the friend that the runaway is found with is 18 or older you parents could press criminal charges against them for aiding a runaway.
No, you will be considered a Run away. (c) As used in this section, "runaway" means a child under 18 years of age who is willfully and voluntarily absent from: (1) The child's home without the consent of the child's parent or other custodian; If you do runaway, please know that anyone who helps you is also breaking the law. (4) sheltering or concealing a runaway with intent to aid the runaway in avoiding detection…
The Fugitive Slave Law was enacted by the United States Congress in1793. It allowed the owner of a runaway slave to recover his slave by merely appearing before any magistrate and declare that the slave in question belonged to him. The law further held state and local officials responsible for capturing runaway slaves and returning them to their owners. In 1842, the Supreme Court ruled that law enforcement officers in the states were not obliged…
How old are you? If you are of legal age to get married in your state without parental consent then no, you are not a runaway. If you're too young to get married without parent's consent, then yes, you are a runaway and what's more, you aren't legally married. Google your state's law on "age of consent, marriage".
Depends on which state you live as the laws vary on this matter from state to state. If the law states age 18, then yes, you could be reported as a runaway. Under the strict interpretation of the law, no. Until you reach the age of 18 in most states, some of them vary, your parents are responsible for you and that includes determining where you live.</