Best Answer
Kingdom of Spain Islands

The Canary Islands (Spanish Islas Canarias ) (28� 06'N, 15� 24'W) are an archipelago of the Kingdom of Spain consisting of seven islands of volcanic origin in the Atlantic Ocean. They are located off the north-western coast of Africa (Morocco and the Western Sahara). They form an autonomous community of Spain. The name derives probably from a north African tribe (the Canarii) or possibly the Latin term Insularia Canaria meaning Island of the Dogs, a name applied originally only to the island of Gran Canaria. It is thought that the dense population of an endemic breed of large and fierce dogs was the characteristic that most struck the few ancient Romans who established contact with the islands by the sea.

The islands and their capitals are:

* Gran Canaria (capital Las Palmas de Gran Canaria);

* Tenerife (capital Santa Cruz de Tenerife);

* Lanzarote (capital Arrecife);

* La Palma (capital Santa Cruz de La Palma);

* La Gomera (capital San Sebasti�n de La Gomera);

* El Hierro (capital Valverde);

* Fuerteventura (capital Puerto del Rosario).

The nearest island is 108 km from the northwest African coast.

Also the Baleric Islands (Menorca, Mallorca, Ibiza)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-03-27 15:52:21
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


20 cards

What geographic feature separates Switzerland from Italy

What is the most densely populated Western European country

Which city is considered to be the gateway between the north and baltic seas

What is the name of the largest industrial district in western Europe

See all cards
8 Reviews
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-02-11 10:18:06

There are several island chains that belong to Spain, such as the Canary Islands, the Balaeric Islands, and the Strait of Gibraltar Islands.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What islands belong to the Kingdom of Spain?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked