Asked in
US Presidents

What presidents lost the popular vote but won the election?


User Avatar
Wiki User
December 23, 2017 10:58PM

Five presidents were elected after losing the popular vote.

  • John Quincy Adams in 1824 (Andrew Jackson won the popular vote. Jackson also led in electoral vote but did not get the required majority so the House of Representatives decided the election.)
  • Rutherford Hayes in 1876 (Samuel Tilden won the popular vote)
  • Benjamin Harrison in 1888 ( incumbent president Grover Cleveland won the popular vote)
  • George W. Bush in 2000 ( Al Gore won the popular vote.)
  • Donald Trump in 2016 (Hilary Clinton won the popular vote).