answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It depends on the circumstances. If you were beaten, sexually molested, or mistreated in any way then you had reason to leave. 18 is the legal age (but, a 14 year old in Texas can work in some establishments with the exception of gambling, or any place that has alcohol and this includes tobacco products as well. They can also work in the entertainment business such as becoming and actor, theatrical plays, etc., but not as a stripper or any adult orientated entertain of the same sort.) Your foster parent(s) would have to legally contact Child Welfare and report you missing. It is strictly up to Child Welfare to be accountable for your welfare. If you don't think they are protecting you, then you can take this to court and probably win because you are closer to 18 than not. In many cases the court system is on the side of the minor, but, if that minor is a delinquent and just plain trouble the laws can back-fire on them. If you caused no trouble, don't like the foster parents, it's quite possible that the courts will let you live on your own if you can prove you are working and can finish your education. Texas laws are tough. BEWARE: False ID or false papers of any kind have harsh penalties by the court in Texas if caught. Marcy * A minor who is in a foster home is under the direct jurisdiction of the Texas Family Court. The foster parents are required by law to report the minor as a runaway if his or her location is unknown or as an absentee minor if the location is known. Because there is a court order in place the minor will be taken into custody and remanded over to juvenile authorities as soon as they are located. The minor will then remain in a juvenile facility until a court hearing at which time a decision will be made by the judge based on the best interest of the minor and nothing else.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-03-11 19:54:00
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What will happen to a 17-year-old runaway from foster care in Texas?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What will happen if you runaway from Texas to Florida when your 18yrs old and get caught with the police cause your parenst reported you runaway?

you are free to go well you may sit in jail for 2 yrs but hey its worthin NOT you think it is its not dont run im a runaway i need help but cant go home


Is it legal for a 16 year old to runaway from home in Texas?

no legally you have to be 18 to runaway from home and not get in trouble


A runaway at seventeen in Texas?

The police cannot force a 17 year old runaway in Texas to go back home. Anyone, except for family members, with whom the 17 year old moves in with, can be charged with harboring a runaway.


When was Runaway Mine Train - Six Flags Over Texas - created?

Runaway Mine Train - Six Flags Over Texas - was created in 1966.


If your 17 and move out in Texas then move somewere other than Texas can you be charged as a runaway?

yes ]:


Are you considered a runaway if you leave California to Texas at 17?

No, at the age of 17 you can leave Texas for California and not be considered a runaway. However, if you have not graduated school at the age of 17 and do not enroll in another state you can get in trouble.


What can a runaway do if he is sixteen in the state of Texas and wants to turn himself in but under no circumstances does he want to live with his parents?

A minor can not choose where to live in the state of Texas but the judge will listen to your request. To remove parents rights to their child and put the child in foster care there has to be strong reasons to why. So there is no guarantee you will get your way.


Can a person be charged with harboring a runaway in the state of Texas?

yes, don't do it.


In Six Flags over Texas does the roller coaster Runaway Mountain go upside down?

Runaway Mountain does not go upside down.


When was Rae Foster born?

Rae Foster was born on March 4, 1986, in Lubbock, Texas, USA.


How did the Goliad Massacre transform the Texas Revolution?

it helped cause the runaway scrape.


When did Art Foster die?

Art Foster died on December 9, 2008, in San Antonio, Texas, USA.


How much do you have to make personally in order to foster in Texas?

25000


Who won the runaway scrape?

No one really won. Sam Houston kept fleeing from battles, and then the people of Texas got scared, so they ran off from Texas (not literally, they used wagons and horses) which is why its called the "Runaway Scrape".


State of Texas if foster parent licence was take how to foster again?

You probably can't unless the reason it was revoked is something that you can fix


When was the Texas Constitution signed?

The Texas Constitution was signed on march 17 1836 a few days after the battle of the Alamo but before the runaway scrape. (:


What age is considered a runaway in Texas?

{| |- | Anything under the age of majority. That is 18 in the state of Texas. Prior to that, the parents are responsible for the child's welfare. |}


Who is chad foster?

Mayor of Eagle Pass Texas. Passionate about Eagle Pass, Maverick County and Texas Border.


Can you move out at 17 in Texas with out parental consent?

no you have to be emancipated by a parent,otherwise you would be considered a runaway...


What is the first tubular roller coaster?

the runaway mine train at six flags over Texas


How many homes did Santa Anna burn during the Texas Runaway Scrape in 1836?

36


Did the Texas Chainsaw Massacre actually happen?

yes the texas chainsaw massacre did happen in the 1970s.


Do earthquakes happen in Texas?

Texas earthquakes never ever ever ever ever ever happen


If a runaway leaves Kentucky and goes to Texas does she have to return home?

Yes, but sometimes it depends on why they ran away.


What would happen is a volcano erupted in Texas?

No volcanoes in Texas.