wheat kernel is made of 3 parts such as: bran, germ and endosperm.
The vitamin-rich embryo of the wheat kernel.
Wheat starch IS wheat, it comes from wheat or the wheat kernel itself.
Wheat has a seed called a kernel or berry .
Wheat germ is separated from the kernel in the flour milling process.
White flour is made only with the endosperm portion of the wheat kernel. Farina is also made from the endosperm, but it is ground to produce a granular product.
Yes, you can plant wheat berries in your garden. Wheat berries are the whole, unprocessed wheat kernel and can be planted to grow wheat plants.
Whole Wheat
kernel
The “gum” formed by chewing wheat kernels is not a food gum such as gellan gum or guar gum. What happens is that chewing hydrates and develops the gluten proteins in the wheat, producing a sticky, elastic mass. This is essentially wheat gluten, with starch and other components being washed or separated away. So wheat germ itself does not turn the kernel into gum. The sticky material mainly comes from the gluten proteins naturally present in the wheat kernel.
Gluten is a part of the wheat kernel, or barley kernel, or corn kernel, and so forth. Naturally, when these items are milled into flour or corn powder, the gluten goes in, too, unless steps are taken to remove it.
No, wheat flour is not considered whole grain because it is made by removing the bran and germ from the wheat kernel during processing.
Whole grain refers to grains that contain all parts of the grain kernel - the bran, germ, and endosperm. Whole wheat specifically refers to wheat grains that contain all parts of the kernel. In other words, whole wheat is a type of whole grain, but not all whole grains are necessarily whole wheat.