answersLogoWhite

0

Creatures cannot be 'attacked' in Magic the Gathering. Players are attacked, and creatures are declared as blockers, although there are a few special abilities that can force things to attack or block.

A tapped Planeswalker can be attacked, as per the usual rules for declaring attacks against Planewalker cards.

Targeting a creature with a damage dealing spell or ability is not 'attacking' them. The creature being tapped has nothing to do with its targeting eligibility, it can still be targeted by cards that deal damage.

Damage spells never target Planewalkers directly, the cards target the controlling player and the damage redirected to the Planeswalker from there. This can be done to a tapped Planeswalker.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

In magic the gathering does the target creature have to be tapped in order to play blind with anger?

No, note it says 'Untap target nonlegendary creature", not "Untap target tapped nonlegendary creature." Most of the spells that steal control like this, will allow you to untap the creature if it's tapped. But they're all still fine to be used against creatures that are originally untapped too.


What happens when you tap target creature in Magic: The Gathering?

When you tap a target creature in Magic: The Gathering, it becomes exhausted and cannot attack or use its abilities until it untaps during the next untap step.


Can you explain how the mechanic "regenerate target creature" works in Magic: The Gathering (MTG)?

In Magic: The Gathering, the mechanic "regenerate target creature" allows you to prevent a creature from being destroyed by paying a cost. When a creature is targeted for regeneration, if it would be destroyed that turn, instead it is tapped, removed from combat, and all damage is removed from it. This allows the creature to survive and stay on the battlefield.


Can you tap or untap a target creature during your turn in Magic: The Gathering?

Yes, you can tap or untap a target creature during your turn in Magic: The Gathering.


Which target creature fights another creature on the battlefield?

In the game of Magic: The Gathering, a target creature can fight another creature on the battlefield by being chosen to deal damage to that creature.


Can you explain how the MTG tap target creature mechanic works in gameplay"?

In Magic: The Gathering, the tap target creature mechanic allows players to use a creature's abilities or attack by turning it sideways. This means the creature cannot block or use its abilities until it untaps during the player's next turn.


What happens when a creature with the ability "can't be the target of spells or abilities" in Magic: The Gathering is targeted by a spell or ability?

When a creature with the ability "can't be the target of spells or abilities" in Magic: The Gathering is targeted by a spell or ability, the spell or ability will not affect that creature. This means the spell or ability will have no effect on the creature with that ability.


Can you return a target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield in MTG"?

Yes, in Magic: The Gathering, you can return a target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield using certain cards or abilities.


Magic the Gathering Can a creature with shroud be affected by instants?

A creature with shroud cannot be targeted by instants, sorceries, or any other spells or abilities that target. However instants such as Evacuation will affect the creature because the spell does not target.


What is the best strategy for using the "fight" mechanic to target a creature in Magic: The Gathering?

The best strategy for using the "fight" mechanic in Magic: The Gathering to target a creature is to choose a creature with high power and low toughness to maximize the chances of defeating the opponent's creature in combat. Additionally, consider using cards that provide buffs or removal spells to enhance your creature's chances of winning the fight.


How can I bring a creature back from the graveyard in Magic: The Gathering?

You can bring a creature back from the graveyard in Magic: The Gathering by using cards with abilities like "reanimate," "resurrect," or "return target creature from the graveyard to the battlefield." These cards allow you to bring a creature back to play from your graveyard.


What does the keyword "hexproof" mean in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, the keyword "hexproof" means that a creature or player cannot be the target of spells or abilities controlled by opponents.