answersLogoWhite

0

Yes, lifelink is triggered by any damage dealt by a creature with lifelink, not just combat damage.

User Avatar

AnswerBot

4mo ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Best life link magic cards?

There are two things you might see in magic which are related: lifelink and "When this creature deals damage, you gain that much life." They both do exactly the same thing, with one difference. A creature can only have lifelink once. Lets say you have a creature with lifelink and you put the enchantment "lifelink" on it. Nothing happens. However, if you attach an enchantment that says, "When this creature deals damage, you gain that much life", then you'll gain life from the creature's lifelink AND the enchantment effect. As far as figuring out how much life you gain: your creature deals damage equal to it's power. If your killing a 1/1 with a 10/10, you still do 10 damage, and gain 10 life. If your killing a player who has 1 life, you still gain life equal to your creature's power. If the damage is prevented, then you don't gain life. If your creature has double strike, picture it as two distinct strikes. The first one deals damage, and if it doesn't kill the creature, then your second one hits. In other words, if you have a 10/10 with double strike and lifelink being blocked by a 1/1, you gain 10 life, not 20, because the second strike never deals damage.


Can creatures that are considered indestructible be defeated by combat damage?

Yes, creatures that are considered indestructible can still be defeated by combat damage, as indestructible only prevents them from being destroyed by effects that use the word "destroy." However, they can still be removed from the battlefield by reducing their toughness to 0 or less through combat damage.


Does double strike damage carry over to the player?

Double strike damage does not carry over to the player. It only affects how much damage a creature deals in combat.


Does double strike have an advantage over deathtouch in combat?

In combat, double strike has an advantage over deathtouch because it allows a creature to deal damage twice in a single combat phase, potentially defeating an opponent before they can deal damage back. Deathtouch, on the other hand, allows a creature to destroy any creature it deals damage to, but it only needs to deal 1 damage to do so.


What are the specific rules and mechanics surrounding commander damage in the game of Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, commander damage is a rule that tracks damage dealt by a player's commander to another player. If a player's commander deals a total of 21 or more combat damage to a player over the course of the game, that player loses the game. This damage is separate from regular combat damage and only counts when dealt by a commander.


What is the interaction between deathtouch and trample in Magic: The Gathering, and how does it affect combat resolution?

In Magic: The Gathering, when a creature with deathtouch deals damage to another creature during combat, it only needs to deal 1 damage to destroy that creature. If the attacking creature also has trample, any excess damage beyond what is needed to destroy the defending creature can be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker. This interaction can make it easier for a creature with deathtouch and trample to deal damage to the opponent during combat.


Does double strike hit the player if blocked?

No, a creature with double strike does not hit the player if it is blocked by another creature. Double strike only affects combat damage dealt to creatures during the combat phase.


Can hurricanes cause earthquakes?

No. Hurricanes are atmospheric phenomena, while earthquakes can only be triggered by processes relatively deep within the earth.


How does the double strike effect workin magic?

A creature with Double Strike deals both first strike and normal combat damage. so in total it deals double its normal damage.some examples:if a 2/2 creature with double strike blocks a 4/4 creature they would both receive 4 damage and die.if a 2/2 creature with double strike blocks a 2/2 creature the creature with double strike deals its damage before the creature without, so only the creature without double strike dies.if a 2/2 creature with double strike blocks a 2/2 creature with first strike they would both deal 2 damage to each other in first strike step so both die.if a 1/2 creature with double strike blocks another 1/2 creature with double strike they deal a total of 2 damage to each other so both die.if a creature with double strike is blocked it won't deal damage to defending player (unless it has trample) even if the blocking creature is destroyed or exiled.Official magic the gathering rules:http:/rules.wizards.com/rulebook.aspx?game=Magic&category=Game+Rules"502.28. Double Strike502.28a. Double strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step. (See rule 310, "Combat Damage Step.")502.28b. At the start of the combat damage step, if at least one attacking or blocking creature has double strike or first strike, creatures without double strike or first strike (see rule 502.2, "First Strike") don't assign combat damage. Instead of proceeding to end of combat, the phase gets a second combat damage step to handle the remaining creatures. In the second combat damage step, surviving attackers and blockers that didn't assign combat damage in the first step, plus any creatures with double strike, assign their combat damage.502.28c. Removing double strike from a creature during the first combat damage step will stop it from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step.502.28d. Giving double strike to a creature with first strike after it has already put first strike combat damage onto the stack in the first combat damage step will allow the creature to assign combat damage in the second combat damage step.502.28e. Multiple instances of double strike on the same creature are redundant. "


What happens when a creature with deathtouch and a creature with first strike engage in combat?

When a creature with deathtouch and a creature with first strike engage in combat, the creature with deathtouch will destroy the creature with first strike before it can deal damage. This is because deathtouch only requires dealing any amount of damage to destroy a creature, while first strike allows a creature to deal damage before creatures without first strike.


Does trample allow a creature to go through protection?

No, trample does not allow a creature to go through protection. Protection prevents damage, enchanting, blocking, and targeting from certain sources, but trample only affects damage dealt during combat.


Is the immune response triggered by antibodies?

No. Immune response is triggered by the antigen.