What would you like to do?
Not in any state I know of. The usual rate is 60% of base pay.
2 people found this useful
Was this answer useful?
Thanks for the feedback!
Answer For Maryland it's 70% of pay, tax free. I do believe it depends on state law. I know that in Maryland the first 3 days of injury Workers Compen…sation will not pay you, you either need to take sick or vacation leave. Do think about getting a lawyer so you can better understand your rights. Lawyers who specialize in Workers Compensation law normally do not require you to pay them, they charge a % based on if they get money for you from Workers Compensation. This should be something that does not come out of your pocket, If they do not get any money for you. Workers Compensation should pay for: Any medical expenses, procedures, or surgeries due to injury/illness received at work. Medications needed due to injuries. If you need in home care via nurse. Lost wages (including over time) minus the first 3 days of injury. Gas expenses by mileage to and from the doctors office and hospitals. Parking fees (this may need to be reimbursed) Tips; It is ALWAYS your right to be treated by the doctor(s) of YOUR choice, Workmens Compensation may require you to seek a 2nd opinion from a dooctor of their choice, however you do not HAVE to receive treatment from that doctor, you may have to see that doctor only for a 2nd opinion to keep receiving your benefits. It is a good idea to get a binder with tabs, and to keep all correspondance in with / from workmens compensation, doctors, diagnosis, tests preformed, work, hospitals, receipts, bills, pay stubs (from either work or pay from workers compensation) Keep detailed lists of doctors appointments dates and time. Keep all doctor appointments, either scheduled by you or Workmens Compensation. Take notes when speaking to your Workmens Compensation Case Manager or Nurse with: Name of person whom you speak with, Name of Doctors office, Date and Time and what the conversation is about. Good luck! Best wishes for a speedy recovery!
Yes. You need to keep track of your mileage and it is supposed to be reimbursed. Does that include all doctors visits, specialists visits, Physical Therapy sessions & trips to… the pharmacy to pick up prescriptions due to the workman's comp injury even if any of these are in the local town? Thank you for the answer , Are they supposed to be paying mileage as these appointments arise , or when the case settles, down the road ?
Depending on the laws of the state, an employer can deduct for Workman's Compensation. Deductions for federal programs such as Workman's Compensation and Social Security a…re standard deductions.
Wage Replacement (Temporary total or partial) While temporarily unable to perform any work, an employee is entitled to 2/3 of his or her gross average weekly wage u…p to a set maximum weekly limit. There must be seven (7) days of disability before benefits are payable. However, if disabled for more than three weeks, the employee receives payment for the first seven days. Benefits cannot exceed 500 weeks unless the person is totally and permanently disabled. If the injured employee cannot return to regular work and is given a light duty job at a lower wage, benefits are 2/3 of the difference between the pre-injury wage and the current pay up to the maximum weekly limit. Cost of living supplements are not paid on temporary partial benefits. For the Year Weekly Minimum Effective July 1 Compensation Maximum Effective July 1 Percentage Weekly Wage Maximum Weeks Cost of Living Adjustment ("COLA") EFFECTIVE October 1 Limit of Medical Mileage Reimbursement Rate Burial Expenses 2008 $210.25 $841.00 66 2/3% 500 COLA 4.2% Life $.445 $.505 Effective 7-01-08 $10,000.00 $1000.00 transp.
in new york state its .505 a mile.
It is a percentage base on your type of job - how much you earned doing it.
After workers comp settlement with lifetime medical you need surgery who will pay your wages while off of work?
A workers comp settlement usually covers the cost and expenses of medical care for ONLY the awarded injury. It does not address, or augment with supplemental income, any… time that must be used to treat the condition.
You need to check with your work comp state laws, but in most states you do not have to pay taxes on your settlement. You can usually google something like "your state-w…ork comp laws".gov to find website.
Workers comp. is for job related injuries not for unemployment.
Like 20% lose on a shoulder? Or 80% use of a knee which will need to be replace three times because of an individual age?
Can you deduct lost wages on your taxes due to an on the job accident and workers comp only paid you 60 percent of your normal pay?
No. You cannot deduct lost income when you never claim the actual income in the first place. You are only taxed on the amount of taxable income that you received. The reas…on that Worker's Compensation pays you at this level is that you are not paying income taxes, state taxes, social security taxes nor medicare taxes on this income.
Certainly. Med insurance EXCLUDES paying for workplace injuries. Offering WC means that employees can never sue for injuries, claiming employer neglignece. No million dollar s…ettlements. Further, they are really two separate coverages and are treated differently. While medical insurance is not currently required, many states require that an employer having a given number of employees or a payroll that exceeds a given amount, maintain workers compensation coverage. In generally, workers compensation coverage provides benefits for the injured employee (medical expenses and a percentage of average lost wages). There are some circumstances under which the worker may not collect, but by and large, the workers compensation system exists to protect the employee. It also protects the employer because, if the employer has complied with the law by providing workers compensation coverage as required, the employee may generally not file suit against the employer or a co-employee for damages for a workplace injury.
Typically Yes, but it depends on what your employer insurance covers.
Typically 60-66% plus all med expenses.
In Business Law
In WA we pay WC ("L&I") premiums by the hour. I pay L&I premiums even on a guy who works 20 hours per year. That way, if he gets injured or killed on the job, I am immune from… lawsuit.
Does an employer have to pay an employee wages and mileage to go to the doctor if it is workers comp claim?
The worker's comp law is slightly different in each state.Basically if an employee is injured in the course and scope oftheir work, they are entitled to having the cost of med…ical carepaid, and if they miss time from work, they are to be paid forwages they miss. There ARE limits on how much the payments are. Youshould look up worker's comp for YOUR state.