What would you like to do?
Which US states allow wage garnishment?
16 people found this useful
Was this answer useful?
Thanks for the feedback!
What is the maximum percentage allowable on a wage garnishment with child support garnishment in the State of Oklahoma?
The maximum percentage allowable is 65 percent. This can only be taken out if the garnishee does not support a second family and owes more than 12 weeks of back child supp…ort. If the garnishee does support a second family, the maximum is 55 percent if he owes more than 12 weeks of back child support, and 50 percent if he does not.
garnished wages in Texasno the state of Texas does not garnish wages for no debts unless it is IRS related or student loans or anything dealing with government loans.
All states EXCEPT: NC, SC, TX and PA.
yes, you still made the income
All states allow wage garnishments.
At present four U.S. states � North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Texas � do not allow wage garnishment at all except for debts related to taxes, child suppor…t, federally-guaranteed student loans, and court-ordered fines or restitution for a crime the debtor committed. Several other states observe maximum thresholds that are lower than the 25 per cent maximum provided by federal law. All other states allow wage garnishment for all money judgments. According to the North Carolina Department of Labor: North Carolina courts cannot garnish wages for credit card debt. However, if a court from another state issues a garnishment order for credit card debt, North Carolina employers must enforce the out of state garnishment order. Here is the exact text: Under North Carolina law, an employer may be ordered to withhold wages from an employee and pay them to a creditor for the following types of debts: taxes, student loans, child support, alimony, and payment of ambulance services in certain North Carolina counties. However, the courts of North Carolina are not permitted to order an employer to withhold wages for other types of debts such as car loans, credit card debt, and other personal debt items. While the North Carolina courts are not permitted to garnish wages based on these debts, creditors in other states may be able to get an order of garnishment under their own states' laws. It is not a violation of the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act for an employer to withhold an employee's wages if required to do so by law. If a court from another state issues a valid order under that state's laws requiring an employer to withhold a North Carolina employee's wages for payment of a debt, the employer does not violate the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act by obeying that order.
Garnishing Wages In certain states your wages cannot be garnished for certain liabilities. For instance, if you owe taxes, they will garnish your wages, if you o…we child support and have been a deadbeat parent, they will garner your wages, however, there are some jurisdictions that will not garnish your wages for certain unsecured debt. More input from FAQ Farmers: * Florida but only if you are head of household. * South Carolina, too! * Pennsylvania, South Carolina, North Carolina and Texas do not allow wage garnishment for creditor debt. Florida does not have specific laws prohibiting the action, but does have laws that make it very difficult for wage garnishment against the "head of household." * Kansas - Special "purchased paper" law. Basically, if an account is sold to another company *BEFORE* judgment, a wage garnishment is not allowed. If an account is sold to another company *AFTER* judgment, then a wage garnishment is allowed.
North and South Carolina, Pennsylvania and Texas. The exceptions to wage garnishment in these states are..taxes, child support, Federal student loans, court ordered fines or …restitution for debt incurred by a criminal act. According to the North Carolina Department of Labor's website, North Carolina Courts cannot order garnishments for debts other than taxes, child support, and student loans. However, if a court outside of North Carolina orders a garnishment for wages based on a judgment for credit card debt, North Carolina employers must honor the garnishment. Under North Carolina law, an employer may be ordered to withhold wages from an employee and pay them to a creditor for the following types of debts: taxes, student loans, child support, alimony, and payment of ambulance services in certain North Carolina counties. However, the courts of North Carolina are not permitted to order an employer to withhold wages for other types of debts such as car loans, credit card debt, and other personal debt items. While the North Carolina courts are not permitted to garnish wages based on these debts, creditors in other states may be able to get an order of garnishment under their own states' laws. It is not a violation of the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act for an employer to withhold an employee's wages if required to do so by law. If a court from another state issues a valid order under that state's laws requiring an employer to withhold a North Carolina employee's wages for payment of a debt, the employer does not violate the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act by obeying that order.
Answer None, all states allow wage garnishment if it pertains to child support, spousal maintenance, state and federal taxes
There are no states that do. This is a matter for a federal judge since it deals with banks and debits. The credit card company would have to secure a judgment against you in …a state court and request a lean against your tax returns or employment garnishments before they can take your bank accounts. Contact an attorney, he may be able to protect your from any garnishments.
Anyone who is owed money and who receives a valid court judgment to do so. This includes but is not limited to, child support, spousal maintenance, creditor debt, monies owed …individuals, medical issues (hospitals, doctors, dentist, caregivers). In theory, anyone who is owed money can file suit, receive a judgment and execute the judgment order in the form of wage garnishment of the judgment debtor. Please note, wage garnishments must run consecutively they cannot run concurrently. There is one exception, garnishment for tax arrearages and child support are usually allowed to be active while a second garnishment from another creditor is "running".
Garnishment is a process by which creditors [hospitals, doctors, credit card, loan companies or banks, etc] take a part of your income [dividends, commissions, rent received, …wages/tips] in order to pay a debt -- the exception is generally child support received, civil service and military pension benefits, Railroad Retirement, Social Security, SSI [Social Security Disability] and Veterans benefits and only one creditor can garnish at a time. Your after-tax income is exempt up to 30 times the minimum wage per week. If you earn more, creditors can garnish up to one-fourth (1/4) of the amount over the exemption. For example; Multiply the current minimum wage, $7.25, by 30 [$217.50]. If your after-tax income per week is less than $217.50, your wages can not be garnished. If your income is more than $217.50 but less than $290, the difference, $32.50, can be garnished. If your income is more than $290.00, say $300/week, one-fourth can be garnished [$75.00].
My fiance is currently having his wages garnished from Washington State while he is employeed in the State of Texas. He isn't employeed by the State but with a private b…usiness in Texas. He lived and worked in Washington State for about 10 years with the garnishment pending before action was taken. If you can get it paid off before they start taking it, that's the way to go.
In Civil Cases
Creditors can garnish wages in the state of Washington. However, they first have to go through the court system and get a judgment.
Sure. Texas has pretty much the same laws as other states when it comes to debts.
Answer States set their own laws for wage garnishment. Some states do not allow wage garnishment by creditors but will allow it when it pertains to child an…d/or spousal support, tax arrears and some court ordered restitutions. The maximum allowed is 25% of disposable wages with the first $154.50 being totally exempt. In most states the percentage is lower and can also be modified or increased by the judge issuing the garnishment order. The 25% maximum does not apply to child support. depends on what state you live in....google state wage garnishments and a list of all the states should pop up and you will be able to pick your state and it should go into detail about wage garnishments about your state.. any amount the court deems adequate Answer The maximum garnishment is 25% of disposable income with the first $154.50 of weekly wages exempt. Many states establish their own garnishment amounts rather instead of using federal guidelines. If the state of residency's garnishment amount is less than that of the 25% federal that is the percentage used. South Carolina, Pennsylvania, North Carolina and Texas do not allow wage garnishment for creditor debt, several other states that allow garnishment set the exempted weekly wage much higher than the federal $154.50 allowance. All garnishment action is subject to appeal and modification if it constitutes an undue hardship upon the garnishee or the garnishee's dependents. These guidelines apply to creditor debt only and not to federal or state income tax garnishments or a garnishment for child support and in some cases,spousal maintenance (alimony). The court will determine the amount of the garnish. You need to tell the court ALL your financial circumstances.
Student loan garnishment is a federal guideline set by the Dept. of Ed., therefor borrowers in all states can be garnished. There are only 2 ways to get out of default on yo…ur Federally Guaranteed student loans. Contact your collection company or student loan servicer and request to enter the rehabilitation program. Most people qualify, but I have seen some refused when the default is over 10 years old. In the rehabilitation program, you will need to make 9-12 on-time payments in addition to your garnishment. After the 9-12 on-time payments, they should stop the garnishment, but you will stay in a default status until your Rehabed loans are sold to a new lender. In the past, that was an easy process, but in these turbulent financial times, other lenders are not buying rehabed loans. So, with this option your loans will stay in a Default status for the forseeable future.The second way you can get out of default and have your garnishment lifted is to consolidate your loans. These days very few Federal lenders will consolidate defaulted loans and your lender will probably not release the loan for consolidation while in a garnishment stage. The good news is, there are a few companies out there that will help you get a garnishment lifted and find a Federal lender to consolidate the loans. One good example is Default Management Services, Inc. They are the cheapest I have seen and give a 100% money back guarantee on their services. You can Google the company name to get the phone #. Ask for Doug.