It all depends on the law of the state in which the conviction occurred. The court that convicted you will apply the law of its state.
If you are searching for information on expungement in your state, be aware that different states have different names for record clearing. It can be called such things as expungement, record sealing, vacating a conviction, and setting aside a judgment.
Most counties have a public defender's office who will file a petition for record clearance (expungement, vacating, setting-aside, sealing, or whatever it is called in your state) for free-- though most public defenders have a low-income requirement. They may also have packets on how to do it yourself. If you have financial means, you can have an attorney handle it for you. There are law firms that specialize in record clearing.
If your conviction was in federal court, you cannot have your conviction expunged. However, some states, such as http://www.answers.com/topic/Arizona, will allow you to petition to have all of your civil rights and gun rights restored.
Make an appointment to talk to the judge at the court where you were convicted.
No, you don't have to do anything else. The court issues an order to take care of whatever is needed.
You say no, since you have never committed a felony. Period. Don't volunteer anything not specifically asked of you.
As with anything in dealing with administrative bureaucracies, when an expungement is granted is not instantaneous. The expungement order has to be written, filed with the court, and then forwarded to various entities within the criminal justice system including law enforcement and the courts, etc. I would give it a good 30-60 days just to be on the safe side, before I started relying on the supposition that the record was now 'invisible.'
Yes you can get a hunting license as long as the misdemeanor has nothing to do anything with hunting or a "firearm issue"
You may purchase a gun regardless of whether a misdemeanor was a expunged or not. That is unless the Misdemeanor was for domestic violence. Anything Domestic Violence bars you from purchasing a firearm.
In Nevada, there is no statute providing for expungement of criminal convictions. You may petition to have the records sealed but it is at the discretion of the court and there are quite a few exceptions. It is my belief (after reading the information), that you cannot regain your firearms rights. As with anything having to do with the law, you may want to retain a Nevada attorney to counsel you.
In most US states, petty theft is considered to be a misdemeanor crime. Depending on the state, petty theft is the theft of anything valued under $400 or $500.
It depends on where you are and what type of misdemeanor it is. In the U.S. each state sets its own rules for issuing gun permits. If the misdemeanor is for domestic violence, you cannot get a gun permit, because that disqualifies you from having a gun. If it is for anything else, you are probably ok, but as I said, it depends on your state's requirements.
if they ask, yes. if you tried to hide it... not possible. unless you get it expunged, then you don't have to say anything.
yes as long as you dont have any warrents or anything like that
If you have a good lawyer anything can get anything dropped. It also depends on the judge and your age and prior crimes.
You can apply for expungement, and if you meet the qualifications the court MAY remove it from your record. Contact an attorney - it is NOT a do-it-yourself project.
any green leafy substance and you can go to jail in the US I believe anything under 28grams is a misdemeanor anything over is a felony
For the most part, yes, although anything related to domestic violence will disqualify them.
you can be charged with anything the question is can u go to jail and are they aloud to
Plenty of people stood to gain something from convictions and executions, namely the people who had disputes with those who were accused.
Depending on where u get caught, and how much you have on you. If u get caught with anything under an ounce(28 grams) then thats a misdemeanor. Anything above that the consequences are much worse.
$300 or more is a felony. Anything less than $300--even if it is $299.99 is a misdemeanor.
It depends greatly on the location and the type of crime. It could be anything from 6 months to 6 years.
Pretty much anything drug, weapons, violence, or sexually related.
No, Hitler committed suicide so only he had anything to do with his death.
Third Degree felonies are considered the least serious class of felony; anything less serious is considered a misdemeanor.
i once heard a spanish guy get 5 years for that in England and toleration for anything is x2000000 in the US
That depends on the specific jurisdiction. The level of crime can also be a factor. It could be anything from 6 months to three years.