Best Answer

If your state has the "cooling off period" law. Call you county attorneys office.Good luck.

There is no overall right to return or recind a car purchase contract. Once it is executed/completed it is done. Some dealers may provide the ability to return it as part of their agreement, however they likely have many fee's involved to do so...(as well they should: your changing your mind should cost you, not them). In any of these types of car purchase/return questions - the first thing to do is look at is that stack of paperwork you got when you agreed to the know, especially the one you signed and initialed, probably several times, and likely has a big bold heading like "Contract for Sale and Agreement for Purchase". See what it says about ways and reasons you can return the car, required notices, rights to cancel, warranties, etc. This is what YOU agreed to. Not reading it (or saying you didn't understand it) - and now wanting it to be enforced only as to what you think you would have wanted it to be then...- that is just foolish. But, look at it, maybe there are grounds... Once you bought it (you and them signed and agreed to the terms, conditions and did the work on the contracts and titles), it is yours now, (and for them to accept it back, you both need to do the same things...agree/conditions/titles/etc. again). And even in the dealers where they advertise a return policy...better read the very least you will be expected to pay for all the liscence, sales, registration, paperwork, etc., fees, and probably something for the fact the car, once sold...even if never moved, cannot be sold as "new" law...New cars have favorable financing, rebates, some have non transferrable warranties on things, etc. they probably have some calculation for those costs. Rightfully, your the one who made a new car a used one. The 3 day cancel frequently thought of is generally not applicable: Generally, the 3-day cooling off period applies to contracts signed in the customer's home - not at a company's place of business - for consumer goods worth $25 or more. And th contract must be pending…it can't be cancelled if the whatever was done….it is a right to cancel a contract…not reurn things…and the a car contract is no longer pending once you have the car and title…it is completed. If this cancellation period applies, it should be stated in the contract.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-07-30 14:36:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can one return a car within 3 days of buying it?
Write your answer...
Related questions

Can one return a used car if something goes wrong within several days of buying?

In some states you can return a used car if something is wrong within a few days of buying. In other states, they operate under the, 'let the buyer beware' type of thinking. You should do your homework and take the care to a qualified mechanic before buying a car.

Can you return a car if done within 3 days of purchase?

The answer is NO! Return it to who? You own the car, so therefore the dealer will not take it back, why should he. The lender does not want the car, he just wants his money that he loaned you to purchase the car, which you did. Buying a car is not like buying a shirt at WalMart. You bought it, and you are stuck with it. The minute you signed the papers, it is your car.

In Florida can you return a used car in 72 hours?

In Florida, the allow allows consumers to return a used car within 72 hours. The contract must be cancelled within 3 days with the return of the car.

Can one return a car within 3 days of the purchase in Iowa?

In Iowa, the law states that a person has the right to return a car within 3 days of purchase. Iowa also has a lemon law that allows a person to return a car within 24,000 miles or 2 years if it keeps breaking down.

How long after a car sale can a private party buyer return the car?

After a car sale, a private party can return the car within thirty days. This return policy is dependent on the individual seller.

Can you return a car within 30 days?

Read the purchase agreement.

What do you do if you loan your car to someone and they don't return it Can you have the car repossessed?

You send them a certified letter demanding return of the car within 3 days. If no response, report it stolen.

Can you return a car within 3 days of purchase in Oklahoma?

No, once you drive the car off the lot, the car is yours.

Can you return a new car in Louisiana?

You may return a vehicle within 3 business days of purchase and get a refund.

Can you return your car you brought from a car inpound?

You cannot return a car when it came from a car inpound because that is one of the rules of buying a car to them.

What are car return laws in Massachusetts?

You are protected under the lemon laws in Massachusetts. You can return a car for repairs or money back if repairs have not been met within 7 days of purchase.

Is there a grace period after buying a car that you can return it?


What states have the 3 day return new car policy?

I PURCHASED A used CAR and don't need to keep it due to health problems! CAN I RETURN IT to dealer within 3 days of purchase ?

If you buy a car as is and the transmission is going out can you return it within 30 days?

Probably not, "as is" means exactly that. See if the seller will take it back but I think you will be buying a trany. Check your local laws concerning the sales of vehicles as there are differences from area to area.

Can you return a used car purchased within 10 days?

It is possible, but it will take quite a bit of convincing on your part.

Can you return a car within 30 days ny?

No you cannot. The Buyer's Remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.

Can you return a car to the dealer that you bought in Ohio within 30 days?

NO! There is no law allowing you to return a car you changed your mind about buying. That law, the cooling off period or buyer's remorse law, only applies to unsolicited purchases, not to the purchase of an auto. That is nothing more than a myth. You now own a used car, and it is yours.

How many days after buying a used car in pa can you return it?

None, the buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.

Can you return a car within 30 days for a refund?

Not usually but some dealers are doing anything to sell a car so check with the place where it was bought.

In mass. Can a used car dealer sell you a car with the service engine light on. are they obligated to take a return on the car if it is 24 hrs after sighing?

I'm pretty sure you have 3 days to return any purchase anywhere in the US. I'm in Texas and the law states I can return it within three days and not be charged anything. That's the law.

Driving a used car home after buying used car without license plate?

In Michigan you can drive the car home without license plate after buying it. However you need a proof of insurance and the title document. You need to have the car title transferred to your name within 15 days.

Can you return a used car that you bought in Arizona and get your trade back within thirty days?

No, you cannot return a new or used car within any amount of time. The Buyer's Remorse, or Cooling Off Period laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle in any state.

Can you return a used car to a dealer within 3 days in South Carolina if you're already experiencing electrical problems?


Can you return a car within 30 days in south dakota?

No you cannot even return it in 1 hour let alone 30 days. The Buyer's Remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle in any state.

Can you return a new car within 72 hours in Colorado if not satisfied?

can you return a used car to dealer within 72 hrs in colorado?