answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

6 months to a year. CA Family Law Code

7822. (a) A proceeding under this part may be brought where the child has been left without provision for the child's identification by the child's parent or parents or by others or has been left by both parents or the sole parent in the care and custody of another for a period of six months or by one parent in the care and custody of the other parent for a period of one year without any provision for the child's support, or without communication from the parent or parents, with the intent on the part of the parent or parents to abandon the child.

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=fam&group=07001-08000&file=7820-7829

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-15 19:10:14
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: How long does it take for a child to be considered abandoned by a parent?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

How long does it take for a child to be considered abandoned by his parent?

it took 6 month


How long does a parent have to be gone before a child is considered abandoned in CA?

The law says about 9 months. But it varies depending which part you are in.


How long can a parent go without seeing the child before it is considered abandonment in the state of Michigan?

'Child abandonment' is when a child is intentionally left without either parent. If the child is with one parent, it doesn't matter how long it is that the other parent has seen it, it's not 'abandonment'.


How long can a parent go without seeing a child before its considered abandonment in the state of Pennsylvania?

How long can a parent go without seeing a child before its considered abandonment in the state of Pennsylvania


How long does it take for a child to be considered abandoned by a parent in the state of South Dakota?

Abandonment is a very broad spectrum when it concerns a child. Quite often this can be anywhere from 6 months to a year with no effort to make contact, or even to pay child support.


How long does a parent have to be gone for it to be considered child abandonment?

1 hour.


How long can parents leave their children with grandparents before the children are considered abandoned by the parents?

I would say that if a parent has to ask this question, they have already in some way abandoned their children.


How long can a parent go without seeing the child before it is considered abandonment in the state of South Dakota?

'Abandonment' is when a child is left somewhere with no parent, ie, the child has been ditched somewhere. If the child is with one parent, it doesn't matter how long the other parent doesn't see it, it's never 'abandonment'.


How long until personal property is considered abandoned?

it is abandoned when you get tired of it


How long can a parent go without seeing their child in the state in IL?

Before the child is considered abandoned? Three months of physical absence and/or failure to provide for the child is considered abandonment and the courts may involuntarily terminate parental rights if a motion is filed for the same. It should be noted, however, that termination of parental rights does not automatically terminate child support obligation.


How long can a child go without seeing a parent in Utah to be considered abandonment?

12 hours


What if the father abandond the mother and child?

If a parent has abandoned their child for long enough duration, there is an action for termination of his parental rights. Abandonment is the deliberate action by a parent to leave his or her child behind or the refusal to assume parental responsibilities from the outset of the child¿s life. The parent bringing the lawsuit has to show that the non-consenting biological parent has disregarded his parental duties toward the child and permanently intends to do so.


How long can a parent go without seeing a child before its considered abandonment in Michigan?

7 weeks


How long is considered abandonment in Ohio?

In Ohio it is considered abandonment if a child is neglected or suffers physical or mental injury by a parent. It is also abandonment if a parent leaves their child for any period of time without any support, money, or communication.


How long does a parent have to be out of a child's life before he is considered to have abandoned that child?

It depends on where you live. Even in the US, it varies by state, but it's generally 1+ year(s). Just to point out that in most cases child support--even if it's only paid because the court has forced it and/or it's only paid sporadically--is considered contact.


How long can a parent go without seeing a child before its considered abandonment in the state of NY?

its not about how long it is its your reason if it were abondonment you wouldhave left it on purpose and if you do leave it on purpose then it takes about 1 or 2 yearsbut you would have to be doing it deliberetly.Added: In regards to child support issues there is no such thing as 'abandonment." As the legal parent you have a legal obligation to support the child until the statutopry time-limit set by law for your particular state. You will not escape responsibility for paying child support by declaring that you "abandoned" the child.


How long a parent can legally ground a child for?

as long as cruelty is not involved, and the child is 'under age' than the answer is as long as the parent wishes


How long can a parent go without seeing there child before its considered abandonment in the state of California?

Six months.


How long can a child go without seeing a parent in Florida to be considered abandonment?

A bit of almost a few years


How long before a child is considered abandoned if left with grandparent's as temporary guardians in New York state?

In general most states it is 6mo.


How long does a parent have to be out of contact for it to be considered abandonment of the child?

Depends on the state. It can be 6 months to a 1 year without paying child support etc.


How long does it take for a child to be considered abandoned by a parent in Colorado?

Child abandonment is not specifically addressed using that particular phraseology. The Colorado Statute (C.R.S. 18-6-401 (2006) - Child Abuse) is the governing statute and describes only the various situations which my be considered to be prosecutable 'child abuse' situations but gives no statutory time limit for any of them. It is suggested that you confer with an attorney admitted to the CO Bar who specializes in Family Law.


How long can a parent go without seeing there child before its considered abandonment in the state of Missouri?

Well when I left my child under the bridge near Target I got fined for $400 Dollars because I abandoned him when i only left him for like 3 days so im thinking probally 2 or 3 days


Does a parent have to keep an annoying child especially if he or she bothers others around them?

Nobody can make you keep a child if you really don't want them. But I have to ask why this child should be given up. Has the parent tried finding out why the child is acting inappropriately, or is the parent not an appropriate parent? Perhaps some counseling could resolve these problems before the option of giving the child up is considered. Giving up a child can have long lasting negative effects on them.


How long can a parent go without seeing the child before it is considered abandonment in the state of Missouri?

48hrs unless its with someone or it is 18