US Presidents
US Constitution

How many people were president before the constitution?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2009-12-28 22:23:02
2009-12-28 22:23:02

None. Until 1789 there was no US government and that is when the constitution was signed and Washington became President.

User Avatar

Related Questions

There were 40 people who were President before Clinton. Clinton is usually labeled as the 42nd president, but that figure counts Cleveland twice.

many people think George Washington was the first president of the united states of America if you think that you are wrong john hanson was the first president, so remember that He was the first President before the Constitution we follow today.

While the President in the Constitution has many powers than the President had in the Articles of Confederation, both plans of government had a president. There really werenot very many similarities at all between the Articles of Confederation and the Constitution that replaced them.

how many the president/government says we can have

yes he had many jobs before he was president

he did many things....he worked for his community.......honored people.....and he did things that allowed him to soon become president.

42 people have been president of the United States before 2009. (Note, Grover Cleveland had 2 non-consecutive Presidential terms.)

Many people were involved in writing the U.S. Constitution, including Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, and Thomas Paine. At the time it was written, there was no President of the United States. George Washington was sworn into office on April 30, 1789, nearly a year after the Constitution was ratified.

2 of the signers of the US Constitution became president. They are James Madison and George Washington. George Washington was the first President of the US and James Madison was the 4th President.

There were 32 people who were president before Eisenhower. Eisenhower is counted as the 34th President of the United States. However, Grover Cleveland is counted as both the 22nd and 24th US President.

There were 574589bvb people involved in writing the constitution! :)

Only one term of six years is allowed by the constitution.

They can only be reelected once. This restriction appears in the 22nd Amendment to the Constitution. Before this amendment was ratified, there was no limit on how many terms a president could be elected to serve.

It lacked a Bill of Rights. The constitution was for the people. As needs change the people needed rights to amend the Constitution.

Before the 22nd Amendment to the United States Constitution was added, there were no Presidential term limits. Presidents could serve for as many years as the people voted them into office.President of the United States, Franklin D. Roosevelt (Democrat), will forever hold the record of being elected 4 times to a grand total of 16 Years.However, he died in 1945, and Vice President, Harry S. Truman became the next President of the United States.

He was a President who had very little formal education. He was also the 'father' of the way being president is done today ~ serving the people. He did many things before he was president.

The US constitution limits a US president to serving two terms in office.

The US did not have a president before 1789, let alone 1776. There was no country state with a president before 1776. Many places were instead ruled by monarchs.

3 states ratified the U.S. Constitution before Georgia. They were Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey.

No women did sign the constitution. the time of that was before the women was alowed anny rights.

39 people signed the Constitution

There were no term limits specified in the original constitution. That changed when the 22nd amendment was ratified.

The question is fundamentally flawed. America hasn't had a ruler since it's revolution. The Constitution is the supreme law of the land. Every elected and appointed official takes an oath to "protect and defend the Constitution." The author of the Constitution is identified in the first three words, "We the people" This puts Lincoln's words, "A government of the people, by the people, for the people" into perspective. The President is one of many elected officials who are granted certain limited powers by the Constitution. Article II defines the power of the President. During World War II, Franklin Roosevelt held the office of President, until he died in 1944, and was promptly replaced by Harry Truman.

There were 50 men that worked on the Constitution. Only 39 of them were actually present for the signing of the Constitution,

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.