How much sales tax will you pay on a new car purchased in California?
State is now 8% but it could be more depending on where you buy it. Different cities/counties add to the basic tax. Some places are nearly 10%. Our registration fees have now doubled too, so if you get a new car think of that. My Pruis will now run me 250.00 for a 5 year old car this is up from the 174.00 I paid this year.
4 people found this useful
I don't think so, you pay the sales tax when you register the car. So you would only pay once, unless you registered it in both states.
Be careful! As long as the car is titled to a private owner, NO you don't have to pay sales tax. But we made a huge mistake! Thought we were buying from a private individual but he put the title in his privately owned company name and now we have to pay sales tax. A fact the OWNER should have disclo…sed!! ( Full Answer )
The operative word here is SALES TAX. Which is collected when a car is SOLD. If you SOLD the car, then sales tax is due on that sale amount.
Sales Tax . No you do not. Sales tax is what businesses use to pay to the state. It's the "state's share" on a taxable item. A private party seller is not a business, so legally they cannot charge a sales tax. For example they cannot sell a car for $2,000 plus tax. However, you WILL have to pay a… use tax when you go to the DMV to register your vehicle. The use tax is basically the same exact rate as sales tax. The state will tax you anyway they can. ( Full Answer )
In the San Francisco East Bay (Castro Valley, CA) we pay 8.5 cents on the dollar.
Absolutely, although the process is slightly different than in a normal transaction in it is collected when you register or title the vehicle. If the amount you claim the purchase was for is different than the "Presumptive" amount that the state has determined its value as, you will be cha…rged the higher amount. The above is true in virtually all states. http://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/mtr_veh/faqmoveh.html ( Full Answer )
Yes. You must pay sales tax whenever you purchase a vehicle, no matter who you bought it from. If you buy from a dealer, the dealer will collect the sales tax then. If you get the car from a private individual, though, you'll need to pay sales tax when you first register the vehicle . Even if the c…ar was a gift.. You will need to file an RUT-50 form. This free form is not available online, but you can pick one up at any Secretary of State office .. You may also order it by mail from the Winchester Warehouse, a clearinghouse for the state's forms, free of charge. Send your request, including the form number and your full mailing address, to:. Winchester Warehouse . Attention: Forms Distribution . 3701 Winchester Road . Springfield, IL 62707 . Or you can simply call (217) 782-7132 and and ask to have the form sent to you. Have the form number and name handy when you call.. Once you have the form, you can call the Illinois Department of Revenue at (800) 732-8866 to find out how much sales tax is due.. Source:. http://www.dmv.org/il-illinois/registration-faqs.php ( Full Answer )
No you don't pay taxes to an individual, only a dealer. You will pay the sales tax at the dmv when you go to register the vehicle.
Answer . It depends on how close the family member is. Sister, brother, mother, father, child. Can't be cousins, etc. You can also sell it to them for $1.
Answer. I'm not American but I would assume that tax laws in the States are the same as in Canada where I live. It doesn't matter what state you buy your car in, if you have a license from another state, you will still have to pay whatever taxes there are in the State where you purchase your car.. … There must be Automible Associations right across America, why not contact one of them and ask your question, they would be best to advise you on taxes or for that matter contact by email California Tax information regarding the purchases of cars. You shouldn't have a hard time finding that on the net. ( Full Answer )
Probably the total price you paid for the vehicle - less the value of any trade multiplied by the tax percentage of your state: Example. $20,000 vehicle minus $5,000 trade value = $15,000 X 5% = $750.00 tax
Do you have to pay sales tax when purchasing a used car in Michigan if you are an out of state buyer?
Absolutely-the government has to get their money. It's even possible that you may have to pay taxes in both states.
Yes, a person does have to pay sales tax on a used car purchasedfrom a private seller in Pennsylvania. The amount of tax is 6percent of the sale price.
If you purchased the car from a dealership, the dealer collects it from you and pays it. If you purchased the car from a private owner, the county courthouse will collect it from you when you get it tagged and titled.
Yes, when you transfer the vehicle to your name, you will pay the taxes in the state you register the vehicle in.
You should ONLY pay the sales taxes etc. in the state where the vehicle is registered.
Do canadians have to pay California vehicle sales tax when purchasing a used vehicle from a dealership?
I had a dealer tell me they have to charge the tax, but I looked here: http://www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/faqex.htm Purchases for Use Outside California . A purchaser is not required to pay California use tax if the only use of the property purchased in California is to remove it from the state and …it will be used solely thereafter outside this state. No other use can be made of the property. See Regulation 1620, subdivision (b)(9).. If the property is used in California for personal use or for recreation, use tax applies. For example, you, as a resident of Oregon, purchase a boat in San Diego and immediately leave for home. Along the way, you stop at Marina Del Rey, have dinner, and have a boat decal added. The next day you fish in the Channel Islands. Later, you stop to visit friends in San Francisco and take them for a ride in your boat. The California use tax applies because you made a personal and recreational use of the boat in California, and did not simply remove it from the state.. Delays for emergency repairs made to the vessel must be verified as functionally necessary for the vessel to continue its departure from the state. You must provide supporting documentation such as fuel, repair, mooring, or lodging receipts to verify the property's departure from California, plus documentation showing at least six months out-of-state use of the property to qualify for this provision. . So from what I can see we Canadians shouldn't have to pay the tax. I emailed the dealer this and am awaiting there resposne. ( Full Answer )
In general you pay sales tax in the state where you live, not the state where the car was purchased. Thus, you cannot avoid paying sales tax on a car by going to a no-tax state like Delaware as your state of residence will require the tax to be paid before you can register it.
If the purchase is online or by catalog you are subject only to tax from you're state. If your organization has a 501(c)3 status you may give the purchasing company your tax exempt ID number if they require it. As sales tax is a state institution unless that state has an agreement with another sta…te they cannot charge sales tax on purchases made by another state. If you are in New York and you wish to make a purchase you need to provide your exemption number to the store for their records. If you have any doubt you can always contact the State in questions Tax Department and they can answer your questions. ( Full Answer )
If you live in tax-free New Hampshire and purchase a car in Massachusetts do you have to pay Massachusetts sales taxes?
From the Motor Vehicle Sales & Use Tax section at http://www.mass.gov Motor Vehicle Purchases in Massachusetts by Nonresidents: If a nonresident of Massachusetts purchases a motor vehicle in Massachusetts and takes title to and/or possession of the vehicle in Massachusetts, the sale is subject t…o the Massachusetts sales/use tax irrespective of whether the nonresident intends to use the motor vehicle within or outside Massachusetts. You have 20 days in which to pay the MA sales tax (6.25 percent in 2012) to avoid penalties and interest, not to mention criminal charges for tax evasion. ( Full Answer )
My wife went through this today. We purchased the car in New Mexico and paid sales tax there. We are not in California and she went to register her car and was charged almost $1500.00. They claimed that this was the difference between the sales tax paid in New Mexico and what she would have paid in …California. Also, they would not accept payments and would not accept credit card. It had to be paid cash, up front. So your answer is YES. At the same time, why is California 10% higher than New Mexico? ( Full Answer )
Yes. You will pay them when you register the car at the DMV. Pretty lame. Double taxation.
NO. But you will pay sales tax when you tag and transfer title. Based on the value of car... not the actual sales price
Yes. When buying a car from a private seller, the purchaser should get a signed bill of sale from the seller, which includes the sale price and identifying information about the vehicle, including the Vehicle Information Number. The purchaser then reports the sale price when registering and titling …the car, using the Department of Motor Vehicle's Form DTF-802. Sales tax is paid at that time. ( Full Answer )
yes you will pay sales tax when you transfer the title at your county's admin. building.
Normally you pay the sales tax in the state you reside in. If you live in Georgia you would not pay sales tax in Indiana, you would pay sales taxes when you registered the car in Georgia.
No. California might try to force you to, but you are technically required only to pay the sales tax of the state in which you are a resident. This is a common issue on the Washington-Oregon border. Washington has no income tax. Oregon has no sales tax. Washington residents near the border oft…en make "big ticket" (furniture, cars, etc.) purchases in Oregon to avoid Washington sales tax. Washington sales tax agents hang out in the parking lots of Oregon furniture stores looking for Washington license tags. GOTCHA! ( Full Answer )
Depending where the car is purchased and registered. Cities, counties have different tax bases. If you purchase a car in Tracy (8.750%) or Tahoe City (8.250%) and registered the car in Pleasanton (9.750%) or Oakland (9.750%) DMV would charge the additional monies.
Sales tax should be collected when and where the vehicle is registered. Maybe MI has some weird law, but that would be different than the many states I've registered cars in.
you will have to pay the sales tax on the vehicle . if the gift giver doen't right the sale price dmv will charge for what the car books out for. so wht you want to due is have the bill of sale with a price on it for say 1000 so you only pay tax on the selling price. Yes You use form DTF 802 and yo…u are exempt from sales tax, this is for a gift from a family member ( Full Answer )
This will depend on the state that you live in and the regulationsand laws of that state. Being related will not make a difference ifthe law in your state says individual sales are taxable then youwill have to pay sales tax.
No. See MGL C. 60A, section 1: The excise imposed by this section shall not apply to a motor vehicle owned and registered by a veteran, as defined in section 7 of chapter 4, who according to the records of the United States Veterans Administration, by reason of service in the armed forces of the …United States, has suffered loss, or permanent loss of use of, one or both feet, or loss, or permanent loss of use of, one or both hands, or has been determined by the medical advisory board established under section 8C of chapter 90 to be permanently disabled; nor to a motor vehicle owned and registered by a veteran, as defined in section 7 of chapter 4, who is receiving a statutory award from the Veterans Administration for the loss of sight of one eye or who according to the records of the United States Veterans Administration, by reason of service in the armed forces of the United States, has suffered permanent impairment of vision of both eyes of the following status: central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye, with corrective glasses, or central visual acuity of more than 20/200 if there is a field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to such an extent that the widest diameter of visual field subtends an angular distance no greater than twenty degrees in the better eye; nor to a motor vehicle owned and registered to any person who has suffered loss, or permanent loss of use of, both legs or both arms; nor to a motor vehicle owned and registered to any person who has suffered permanent impairment of vision of both eyes of the following status: central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye, with corrective glasses, or central visual acuity of more than 20/200 if there is a field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to such an extent that the widest diameter of visual field subtends an angular distance no greater than twenty degrees in the better eye. This exemption shall apply to not more than one motor vehicle owned and registered for the personal, noncommercial use of such veteran or person. After the assessors have allowed an exemption under this paragraph no further evidence of the existence of the facts required by this paragraph shall be required in any subsequent year in the city or town in which the exemption has been so allowed; provided, however, that the assessors may refuse to allow an exemption in any subsequent year if they become aware that the veteran or person did not satisfy all of the requisites of this section at the time the exemption was first granted. ( Full Answer )
Yes, but it is called as 'used tax'. "Use tax is generally imposed on the purchaser of tangible personal property that is used, consumed, or stored in this state. Sales of vehicles, vessels, and aircraft by licensed dealers are usually subject to sales tax, for which sales tax reimbursement is colle…cted at the time of purchase. Use tax applies to the cost of vehicles, vessels, and aircraft purchased from non-dealers (for example, private parties) or from outside California for use in this state. Use tax also applies to most leases of tangible personal property. Private party sales or brokered transactions are normally subject to use tax. If the first use of the property occurs in California, use tax may apply even if the purchaser is not a resident of the state. The sales and use tax are "mutually exclusive," which means that either sales tax or use tax applies to a single transaction, but not both." ( Full Answer )
I asked Dept. of Licensing in WA and got this answer: If you pay 8.5 % sales tax in CA, then you owe the incremental difference in WA use tax (additional 1 % for Seattle.) CA insists on dealers collecting the CA sales tax for any car picked up in CA regardless of where the buyer is from... some de…alers will drive the car to NV or OR border or ship the car and fill out a Form BOE 448... it is a hassle for all parties. If out-of-CA buyer arranges shipping CA sales tax still must be collected... Publication 34 "Motor Vehicle Dealers" ( Full Answer )
If the vehicle is titled in the business name you will pay sales tax. About 2 to 4 weeks after you register the vehicle you will get a form in the mail from the North Carolina Department of Revenue explaining how to pay the tax.
Yes, there is a sales tax on cars in TN. If you purchase your car from a licensed dealer, they will collect the sales tax but if you purchased your car from an individual you will be responsible for the tax when you register your car in your county.
Do you have to pay sales tax when purchasing a used car in California if you are an out of state buyer?
It doesn't matter if you buy a candy bar or a car in California; if you take delivery anywhere in the state (except Indian reservations) you must pay sales tax on your purchase.
well you need to calculate the average of the tax amount so say the price was 35,000.59 so say the tax was 20.00 so 35,020.59 would be the price in total.
The sales tax can be paid to the dealer when purchasing a new car, and is usually factored into the total dollar amount that you give to the dealer before driving your new car off the showroom floor.
How much sales tax would you pay to purchase a new bicycle that costs 429 if the sales tax rate is 5.2 percent?
5.2 percent sales tax means you multiply by 0.052. So 429 * 0.052 = 22.308, which rounds to 22.31 (nearest cent), and the total price is 429 + 22.31 = 451.31
Do you have to pay sales or use tax when purchasing a used car from an immediate family member in California?
It depends. Legally if you purchase it you have too. But, you can always claim that you bought it for less than what was actually agreed upon, or try and claim it as a gift. Just remember that that is fraud, so, the answer is yes, you have to pay on any purchase.
Yes, when you register it, the tax is collected by the MVD. If you trade a car in (at dealer) the value of trade in may reduce the amount the taxable sale is calculated on.
No, there is no sales tax on a vehicle obtained as a gift in California. Others have said that yes, you do.
By state law, only the seller/retailer has to pay the sales tax, not the consumer. ans The above is not just wrong, but even sort of crazy. There actually isn't a "sales tax", it is called an excise tax. Cars are subject to this sales tax (regardless of what you wan to call it), just li…ke anything else. Except it is collected by the MVC when you title/register it not the seller. UNLESS the seller is a registered dealer (who conventionally also handles all the title matters too), and then HE collects the tax to pay over to the MVC. Excise tax is assessed upon each transfer of vehicle, boat or outboard motor ownership, unless specifically exempted by law. . Excise tax is collected at the time of issuance of the new Oklahoma title. . Oklahoma residents are subject to Oklahoma excise tax on vehicles purchased in another state. . Nonresidents who purchase vehicles in Oklahoma are not assessed Oklahoma excise tax, provided they title and register the vehicle in their state of residence. Most vehicles are assessed excise tax on the basis of their purchase price, provided that purchase price is within 20% of the average retail value for that specific model vehicle. If the purchase price provided is not within that 20% range, a taxable value within that range is established for excise tax assessment purposes. . The purchase price may include a deduction for any dealer rebates or discounts. . The purchase price may not include a deduction for any traded in vehicle. . For new vehicles, a copy of the purchase agreement or bill of sale from the dealer is required. . For used vehicles, either purchase price listed in assignment portion of conforming title certificate, a copy of a bill of sale or purchase agreement, or a notarized Declaration of Vehicle Purchase Price (Form 722-1 available for downloading from the Forms section of this site) is required. . Please note, in establishing an average retail value for the purpose of assessing vehicle excise tax, Oklahoma law makes no provision for adjusting the value of a vehicle due to that specific vehicle's condition - be that condition above or below average. An average value for all such model vehicles is utilized.. Standard vehicle excise tax is assessed as follows: . New Vehicle: 3.25% of the purchase price (or taxable value, if different) . Used Vehicle: $20.00 on the 1 st $1500.00 of value + 3.25% of the remainder Excise tax on boats and outboard motors is based on the manufacturer's original retail selling price of the unit. Boat/outboard motor excise tax is assessed as follows: . New Boat/motor: 3.25% of the manufacturer's original retail selling price . Used Boat/motor: For each subsequent year of age, the taxable value is decreased 35% Excise tax on manufactured homes is based on the actual purchase price/current value of the home and is assessed in the following manner: . New Manufactured Home: 3.25% of Â½ the actual purchase price/current value . Used Manufactured Home: 3.25% of 65% of Â½ the actual purchase price/current value Excise tax on new and used all terrain vehicles, utility vehicles, and off road motorcycles is 4.5% of the actual purchase price with a minimum of $5.00. ( Full Answer )
You would pay the taxes on the actual price you paid for the car. If it was 10000 then you would pay the taxes on that not the list price. Hope this helps
Do Oregonians have to pay California vehicle sales tax when purchasing a used vehicle from a dealership?
If you plan on registering the vehicle in OR, then no. You will be issued a "trip permit," which acts as temporary registration until you return to OR.
yes. you must pay your home states sales tax no matter where you buy the vehicle. however you will NOT have to pay sales tax in the state you buy the vehicle, but they may (or may not) have a fee for out of state purchasers.
It's not "sales tax" but there is a vehicle transfer tax on any car bought by an Illinois resident. How much is owed depends on what kind of vehicle, how much it's worth and how old it is.
You pay the sales tax when you register the vehicle with the countyor parrish you live in.
If it is a private sale between two individuals then you shouldn't have to report it on your income taxes at all. If you have used it in business or taken business mileage deductions then you probably will have to report the sale on your tax return. You will use the Sale of Business Assets Form and …calculate the basis and sale price based on information you did not provide here. ( Full Answer )