Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out

Is a pregnant 16-year-old considered legally emancipated in Alabama?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2014-03-29 15:19:54
2014-03-29 15:19:54

No, pregnancy does not grant emancipation in Alabama or any other state. You must reach the age of majority in your state.

User Avatar

Related Questions

If you are married, you are considered emancipated.

No, in Alabama you are not emancipated automatically when you are pregnant. It does not mean one has the ability to take care of yourself. You do have certain rights as to obtaining assistance for you and your child, but you are still the responsibility of your parents until you turn 18.

No but 17 year olds and up can. You are considered an adult in alabama if pregnant.

Yes, in some cases, a 18 year old can get emancipated in Alabama. As of June 2014, a person is considered a child until they are 19 years old.

Only with parental consent. Pregnant teens are only emancipated and can decide fully over the pregnancy and their own health. Everything else is like before.

It may be possible for you. The laws vary and many states do not have emancipation statutes. Those that do require the minor to be at least 16.

The court will not emancipate just because you are pregnant but you can apply if you fill the requirements of living on your own, having an income, finish school and paying all your bills etc,

A person in Alabama is not considered the Age of Majority until 19, even though at 18 you are charged as an adult automatically if you commit any crime. Alabama Section 30-4-15 and 16 basically say that when an 18 year old is married, their removal of disabilities of nonage is effected immediately (basically saying when you turn 18 and are married in the state of Alabama, you are considered "emancipated") and you now have the same legal rights and abilities as anyone age 19 and older.

In most US states you are emancipated at 18 but not in Alabama for instance. There you are not considered Age of Majority until you are 19 but you can seek emancipation by the court at 18. You are considered an adult at the age of 18 as far as if you get arrested, but you still cannot enter into contracts and such until the age of 19.

No you have to be 18 to apply for that. The legal adult age of emancipation is 19 in Alabama.

18, unless you are emancipated by the courts.

The age of majority in Alabama is 19. You can move out at 18 with your parents' permission. That does not mean you are emancipated, or that they are relieved of the responsibility of taking care of you. You can, with your parent's permission, request emancipation from the court which 'relieves you from the disability of nonage.' *A legally married minor is considered to be automatically emancipated.

The age of majority for a minor under Alabama Constitutional statute is 19. Only those persons who are at least 18 can file a petition under the Alabama Code Title 26, Chapter 13 "Relief of Minor Children From Disabilities of Nonage". The issue of pregnancy is not relevant as being pregnant or having a child does not confer automatic emancipation or exceptions to the law upon the minor.

You must have parental consent or be emancipated.

Alabama does not have an emancipation statute. However, an 18 year old can be relieved of the disabilities of being a minor.

This depends on the state laws in which you live. In Alabama once you have a child you are considered an adult. This does not matter if you are twelve or seventeen, if you have one kid you are automatically emancipated in the laws eyes. A good idea would be to see what your state laws are on child birth and/or emancipation.

{| |- | Alabama does not have an emancipation act. The age of majority is 19. There is an act that will allow an 18 year old to sign contracts. |}

She can't in Alabama. The age of majority is 19. You can get 'relief from the disabilities of non-age' when you are 18.

{| |- | No, Alabama does not have an emancipation act. The age of majority is 19. There is an act that will allow an 18 year old to sign contracts. |}

{| |- | These is no way to do it. Alabama does not have an emancipation act. The age of majority is 19. There is an act that will allow an 18 year old to sign contracts. |}

In the state of Alabama , a child can loose her child support if she gets pregnant.

There is no state where a minor becomes emancipated by having a child. The age of emancipation remains 18. The minor mother is only medically emancipated and emancipated regarding making decisions for her child.

You can seek emancipation at 16 at the court but you will naturally emancipate when you turn 18.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.