Best Answer

The British Empire included many of the colonies that as countries later formed the Commonwealth of Nations (British Commonwealth). The United Kingdom still includes England and most of the British Isles, but the Empire was effectively dissolved during the 20th century.

Remaining British Dependent Territories

The 14 sovereign possessions outside Britain were renamed as the "British Overseas Territories" in 2002. They are

  • Anguilla
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • Bermuda
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • St. Helena and Dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • the Sovereign Base Areas on Cyprus (Akrotiri and Dhekelia)

Other Countries and territories of the British Empire(variously 1500-1997)

Aden (Yemen)

Afghanistan * protectorate 1839-1919





Basutoland (Lesotho)

Bechuanaland (Botswana)

British America (United States of America)

British Cameroon (Cameroon)

British Guyana (Guyana)

British Honduras (Belize)

British Somaliland (Somaliland)

British Solomon Islands (Solomon Islands)


Burma (Myanmar)


Ceylon (Sri Lanka)

Cook Islands (New Zealand)


Egypt * protectorate 1882-1922



Gilbert and Ellice Islands (Kiribati and Tuvalu)

Gold Coast (Ghana)



Hong Kong

India (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh)






Malaya (West Malaysia)

Maldive Islands



Miskito (Mosquito) Coast (Nicaragua / Honduras)

Newfoundland (Canada)

New Hebrides (with France)(Vanuatu)

New Zealand


North Borneo (Sabah, Malaysia)

Nyasaland (Malawi)


Papua New Guinea

Palestine (Israel)


Rhodesia (Zimbabwe and Zambia)

Sarawak (East Malaysia)

St Kitts (St. Kitts and Nevis)

St Lucia

St Vincent


Sierra Leone


South Africa


Swaziland / Ngwane

Tanganyika (Tanzania)


Transjordan (Jordan)

Trinidad (Trinidad and Tobago)

Trucial Oman (United Arab Emirates)


Western Samoa (Samoa)

Zanzibar (Tanzania)

(see related map and historical links for complete list)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-12-17 16:57:28
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What Countries Belonged To The British Empire?
Write your answer...
Sign up for more answers

Registered users can ask questions, leave comments, and earn points for submitting new answers.

Already have an account? Log in

Related questions

What Countries once Belonged To The British Empire?

Quite a few the sun never set on the Empire

Which countries belonged to the british empire at its greatest?

57 of them. not sure which ones but i read somewhere it was 57.

What countries belonged to the british empire during the Industrial Revolution?

A lot of countries but some include Anguilla, British Antarctic Territory and a lot more

How many countries were in the British Empire?

How did the British EmpireDid the British Empire have an armyWas the British Empire powerfulHow many countries were in the British Empire

Which countries belonged to the British empire in 1750?

In 1750, the British Empire held lands in what is now Canada, the US, several Caribbean island and Central American nations, several African nations, Bangladesh/India, and Ireland.

What countries were part of the British Empire in the battle of Britain?

Which countries were part of the british empire in 1914?

What countries in Asia are part of British empire?

The British Empire no longer exists.

What countries were not in the British Empire?

Argentina, Chile and Peru were never in the British Empire

Are most of the countries that are in the Commonwealth were part of the British Empire?

They were all part of the British Empire

What was not a part of the British empire?

All non British, countries, colonies, territories or protectorates were not part of the British Empire.

How many made up the british empire?

106 countries made up the british empire!

What countries didn't belong to the British Empire?

About 50 countries were part of the British Empire. The rest of today's modern countries either didn't exist at the time or were in a different Empire. Some were even independent.

What countries once belonged to the Spanish empire?

Mexico, Paraguay, Argentina, Cuba, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Uruguay, Guatamala, Peru, Chile, El Salvador, and Bolivia once belonged to the Spanish Empire.

What countries did Britain lost from the british empire?

Click the link below for theTerritorial evolution of the British Empire.

Which countries were the part of British empire?

Over 50 countries around the world were once part of the British Empire - too many to list here.

What was a loyalist party in the revolutionary war?

A 'Loyalist' , also known as 'Royalist' was somebody who remained true to the British Crown and Empire. The Loyalist Party was what they belonged to/

Which countries belonged to the british empire in Victorian times?

New Zealand, Canada, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Gibraltar, South Africa, Kenya, India, Zimbabwe, Australia and Guyana

What Opinions from people about the British Empire?

the British empire was good because they got so many countries involved but some of these countries were unsatisfied about the way they were treat

Did the British empire take over 53 countries?

The British Empire ruled more than a third of the world.

How did Africa become part of the British Empire?

'Africa' did not become part of the British Empire. Some African countries were British colonies or protectorates and all later gained freedom as independent countries.

Are only countries previously owned by England allowed to play in the commonwealth games?

The countries were never owned by England. They were part of the British empire. The Commonwealth only has countries in it that were part of the British empirel It is only the countries that are involved in the Commonwealth that can participate in the games. Some countries that were part of the British empire have chosen not to be part of the Commonwealth, so there are some countries that were in the British Empire but are not part of the Commonwealth and so they do not participate in the games.

Why did the british empire take control of so many countries?

Because the are British

How did the Romans destroy the British empire?

Lol? The Romans were WAY before the British Empire! They didn't destroy it, the British were forced to retreat from several countries, and as such simply started to allow the others to leave the Empire, as they couldn't fight all the countries.

How many countries did British own?

At its height, about 50 countries were part of the British Empire.

What countries got kicked out of the british empire?