What are the differences of the sedition and alien acts?

The Alien and Sedition Acts were a series of four laws enacted by the U.S. Congress in 1798.

The four acts are as follows -

1. The Naturalization Act

This law extended the amount of time that immigrants had to spend in the country before becoming full citizens to 14 years. However, the act was repealed in 1802.

2. The Alien Friends Act

This gave the president the power to deport any resident alien that was considered dangerous to the safety of the country. It stayed in practice for two years.

3. The Alien Enemies Act

This act made it possible for the president to deport any immigrant if the immigrant's home country is at war with the United States. The act is still in effect today.

4. The Sedition Act

The Sedition Act made the publishing of any material deemed to be spreading false or ill-intended material against the government illegal. The act stayed intact until 1801.