What political units are making up the UK?

The countries of the UK (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) have devolved governments - similar to individual states within the United States. The main political parties in the UK are Conservative and Labour. The Scottish Nationalist Party is strong in Scotland and the Democratic Unionists and Sinn Fein are strong in Northern Ireland.