What was the name of the colony established by the Mormons?

Members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (commonly called the "Mormon" church) established hundreds of cities across the Midwest and western United States. These cities include Nauvoo, Illinois; Salt Lake City, Utah; Las Vegas, Nevada; Cardston, Alberta; Colonia Juarez, Mexico; Mesa, Arizona; and San Bernardino, California. Nearly every city in Utah was established by Mormon pioneers.
Early members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (commonly called the "Mormon" church) established literally hundreds of colonies all over the west and mid-west United States, as well as a handful in Mexico and Canada. It would be nearly impossible to name them all. The majority of these settlements still exist today in the form of thriving cities (such as Salt Lake City and Las Vegas), sububan cities (such as Draper, Utah or Mesa, Arizona), or small farming/ranching towns (such as Ephraim, Utah or Cardston, Alberta). Nearly all of the current cities in Utah were founded by Mormon Pioneers.
  • Colonia Díaz
  • Colonia Juárez
  • Colonia Dublán
  • Colonia Nuevo Casas Grandes
  • Colonia Galeana
  • Colonia Pacheco
  • Colonia Chuichupa
  • Colonia García
  • Colonia Hope Valley
  • Colonia Oaxaca
  • Colonia Morelos
  • Colonia San José
  • Colonia Mormones
  • Colonia LeBaron

The Mormon colonies in Mexico are settlements located near the Sierra Madre mountains in northern Mexico which were established by members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints beginning in 1885. Many of the original colonists came to Mexico due to federal attempts to curb and prosecute polygamy in the United States. The towns making up the colonies were originally situated in the states of Chihuahua and Sonora, and were all within roughly 200 miles of the US border. By the early 20th century, many of these were relatively prosperous. However, in the summer of 1912, the colonies were evacuated due to anti-American sentiment during the Mexican Revolution and many of their citizens left for the United States and never returned. Some colonists did eventually return to their settlements, but today only Colonia Juárez and Colonia Dublan in the Casas Grandes river valley remain active. The Colonia Juárez Chihuahua México Temple, built in 1999, is located in Colonia Juárez, and is currently the smallest temple the LDS Church operates.

The Mormons did not establish a colony. They settled in the Great Salt Lake Valley. They called their settlement Deseret. The United States government annexed the region from Mexico and called it the Utah Territory and later the State of Utah.