Where is Taiwan?

Taiwan is off the east coast of Asia, east of mainland China.

Taiwan (also "Formosa" or "The Republic of China") consists of the islands of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, Matsu and some minor islands in the seas east of mainland China (in the Philippine Sea and the Taiwan Strait, extensions of the western North Pacific Ocean).

Because of the split between the Nationalists and Communists following the 1949 war, China still claims jurisdiction over Taiwan and vice versa. However, there is major conflict between the two places, on whether to call it a province, the legitimate China or an entirely independent country altogether.