Asked in

Who is the shortest serving Indian prime minister?


User Avatar
Wiki User
February 20, 2012 3:34PM

It is Charan Singh (1901 - 1987), the fifth Prime Minister of India. He took the office as the Prime Minister after the resignation of Morarji Desai (1896 - 1996) on 29 July 1979 and continued in office until 14 January 1980, when he was succeeded by Indira Gandhi, for just 5 months and 17 days. He is also the only Prime Minister who never faced Parliament after taking the office. But, the shortest serving Government was that of A.B. Vajpayee (1923 - 2012) in 1996, which took the office on 16 May 1996 and resigned two weeks later. Still Vajpayee took the office after the huge victory of B.J.P. in 1998 and 1999, and continued until 2004. He is also the fourth longest served Prime Minister, after Jawaharlal Nehru (1947 - 1964), Indira Gandhi (1966 - 1977 and 1980 - 1984) and Manmohan Singh (2004 - ). Gulzarilal Nanda served two terms as Prime Minister, and he served shorter than Charan Singh, but as he was just an acting Prime Minister after the deaths of Jawaharlal Nehru and Lal Bahadur Shastri and as acting Prime Ministers are not mainly included to the list of the Prime Ministers, he is not considered so.