History of the United States
Politics and Government
US Presidents
Abraham Lincoln

Who were President Lincoln's secretary of state and secretary of treasury?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2017-05-23 11:59:30
2017-05-23 11:59:30

Secretary of State- William H. Seward;

Secretary of Treasury- Salmon P. Chase; and

Secretary of Treasury Simon Cameron.


Related Questions

The first secretary of state was Thomas Jefferson, and he was also the fifth president. The first secretary of treasury was Alexander Hamilton.

President, Vice President, Secretary of State, Secretary of Defense, and Secretary of Treasury

Yes, Secretary of the Treasury is 5th in line, following the Vice President, Speaker of the House, President pro tempore of the Senate, and Secretary of State.

William Henry Seward was President Abraham Lincoln's powerful Secretary of State. Seward also served as Secretary of State under President Andrew Johnson.

Vice President - Speaker of the House - President Pro Tempore - Secretary of State - Secretary of The Treasury - Secretary of Defense. And so on.

The Secretary of the Treasury follows the Secretary of State in the chain of command. Behind the President and Vice President, the chain of command looks like this: # Speaker of the House of Representatives # President Pro Tempore of the Senate # Secretary of State # Secretary of the Treasury # Secretary of Defense # Attorney General # Secretary of the Interior # Secretary of Agriculture # Secretary of Commerce # Secretary of Labor # Secretary of Health and Human Services # Secretary of Housing and Urban Development # Secretary of Transportation # Secretary of Energy # Secretary of Education # Secretary of Veterans Affairs # Secretary of Homeland Security

Vice president is firstSpeaker of the House of RepresentativesPresident Pro Tempore of the SenateSecretary of the Treasury

1. vice president 2.speaker of the house 3.president pro tempre of the state 4.secretary of state 5.secretary of the treasury =)

Following the presidential line of succesion, the Secretary of State becomes President, and after that, the Secretary of the Treasury.

Washington's first Secretary of State was Thomas Jefferson and his first Secretary of Treasury was Alexander Hamilton

His Secretary of State was William H. Seward, and his first Treasury Secretary was Salmon P. Chase.

if the president is unable to serve the first few in the order are: vice president speaker of the house president pro tempore of the senate secretary of state secretary of the treasury

Vice President Speaker of House of Representatives President Pro Tempore of Senate Secretary of State Secretary of treasury Secretary of Defense

1. President 2. Vice President 3. Speaker of the House 4. President Pro Tempore 5. Secretary of State 6. Secretary of the Treasury 7. Secretary of Defence

Assuming president and vice president also died. It would be President pro tempore of the United States Senate after that secretary of state Then secretary of treasury then secretary of defense etc

The presidents cabinets help the president do very important things. There is secretary of treasury, secretary of state, and vice president. For George Washington his secretary of state was thomas jefferson, his vice president was John Adams. Trust point please

VIce president, Speaker of House, President Pro Tempore, Secretary of State, Secretary of Treasury, Secretary of Defense, Attorney General, Secretary of the Interior, Secretary of Agriculture, Secretary of Commerce, Secretary of Labor, ect.

In 2007, Dick Cheney was the Vice President. Condoleezza Rice was the Secretary of State, Henry Paulson was the Secretary of the Treasury, and Robert Gates was the Secretary of Defense.

President, Vice President, Speaker of the House, President pro tempore of Senate, Secretary of State, Secretary of Treasury, Secretary of Defense, Attorney General, Secretary of Interior, Sec of Agriculture, Sec of Commerce,

If both the President and Vice-President are removed from office, the job passes to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, followed by the President pro tempore, Secretary of State, Secretary of the Treasury, Secretary of Defense, and the Attorney General.

no. Jefferson was secretary of state. Hamilton was secretary of treasury.

Secretary of Treasury is next. Cabinet posts are ranked in the order of their creation, oldest posts first.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.