answersLogoWhite

0

'Regenerate' is an ability that allows a permanent to survive a destruction effect, or lethal damage.

Activating the Regenerate ability will give the permanent what is known as a 'regeneration shield' for the rest of the turn. If the permanent is affected by something that tries to Destroy it, or it is dealt lethal damage, then the shield is removed and the permanent remains in play. All damage is removed, and the permanent is tapped. It is also removed from combat, so will not deal combat damage although if it was used to block, the attacker still counts as being blocked.

The Regeneration ability does not have to be used directly in response to the destruction effect itself, though it is perfectly legal to use it at that time. Multiple regeneration shields can be active at any one time. So if you had a permanent that can regenerate other permanents, and the opponent targeted it with a card to remove it from play, you could activate its effect to distribute regeneration shields onto your other permanents in response, which will shield them throughout the turn even though the regenerator itself is gone.

Sacrificing a permanent does not 'destroy' it, so Regeneration does nothing against that. Regeneration does not resurrect a dead card (so can not bring things back from the graveyard) it merely prevents destruction. Some destroy and damage effects prevent regeneration. 'Bury' is an obsolete term, but means 'destroy without allowing regeneration'.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Is a creature considered a spell in Magic: The Gathering?

No, a creature is not considered a spell in Magic: The Gathering.


Is a planeswalker considered a spell in Magic: The Gathering?

No, a planeswalker is not considered a spell in Magic: The Gathering.


Is an enchantment considered a spell in Magic: The Gathering?

Yes, an enchantment is considered a type of spell in Magic: The Gathering.


Is copying a spell considered casting it in Magic: The Gathering?

No, copying a spell is not considered casting it in Magic: The Gathering.


Does copying a spell in Magic: The Gathering count as casting it?

No, copying a spell in Magic: The Gathering does not count as casting it.


When can you regenerate a creature in Magic: The Gathering?

You can regenerate a creature in Magic: The Gathering when it would be destroyed, by paying the regeneration cost specified on the card.


What are the rules for regeneration in Magic: The Gathering (MTG)?

In Magic: The Gathering, regeneration is a ability that allows a creature to avoid destruction once. To regenerate a creature, you pay its regeneration cost when it would be destroyed. This removes it from combat and taps it, but it remains on the battlefield with all damage removed.


Is "Valakut" a land or a spell in Magic: The Gathering?

"Valakut" is a land card in Magic: The Gathering.


What is the first spell that can counter a spell in Magic: The Gathering?

The first spell that can counter a spell in Magic: The Gathering is called "Counterspell." It allows a player to prevent an opponent's spell from taking effect.


Is "Island" a spell in Magic: The Gathering?

No, "Island" is not a spell in Magic: The Gathering. It is a basic land card that produces blue mana when tapped.


Can you target a planeswalker with a spell or ability in the game of Magic: The Gathering?

Yes, in the game of Magic: The Gathering, you can target a planeswalker with a spell or ability.


Can you regenerate a tapped creature in Magic: The Gathering?

Yes, you can regenerate a tapped creature in Magic: The Gathering by paying the regeneration cost, even if the creature is tapped. Regeneration prevents the creature from being destroyed the next time it would be destroyed that turn.