Are lentils kosher for Passover?
It depends - if you are of Sephardic descent - from Spain, Portugal or North Africa - then yes. If you're from an Ashkenazi background - the rest of Europe - then lentils fall into the category of kitniyot, small things, which have traditionally not been eating during Passover. This tradition stems from the fact that flour can be made from kitniyot, which increases your chances of accidentally consuming chametz or may cause others to believe you are consuming chametz. However, although this tradition has been upheld for many centuries and is supported by most rabbis, it is not based on the Torah and as such many Jews do eat kitniyot during Passover - not least of all because so many people are vegetarian or vegan, and kitniyot are an important source of protein.
7 people found this useful
Yes. Fresh cranberries are always kosher for Passover. If you want frozen or packaged, you must check for certification on the package.
If something has no grain in it, and did not come into contact with something that had grain in it, or even if pots are hot enough, and chametz touches the pot, and the non chametz touches the pot, it might be chametz. The laws are complicated, and this is not the right place for them. Also, many ha…ve a custom not to eat legumes on Passover because their flours' are simuler to grain flour, or possibly because kernals of grain would get mixed into them, and still do sometimes. (MORE)
First off, they are kitneos, legumes, and according to many customs may not be eaten on passover. Also, soy milk and soy sauce may contain chametz , leavened grain.
Real soy sauce is made from the soy bean which is considered kitniyot. If you were able to find a kosher l'Pesach brand, it's not allowed for Ashkenazim. There are several brands of imitation soy sauce for Pesach.
Yes. Rav Moshe Feinstein even held that they are NOT "kitneyot" (a category which Ashkenasi Jews specifically do not eat on Passover) which means that all Jews may, theoretically, eat them on Passover. . However, since some Jews have the custom NOT to eat peanuts, it is unusual to find peanuts and… peanut products with a kosher certification for Passover. Thus, although technically, eating them would be fine for most of us, practically speaking to actually do so while keeping kosher for Passover is difficult. . \nIf you are considering spreading peanut butter on your matzoh, please remember that most commercial brands of peanut butter, even those with kosher supervision, contain corn syrup sweetners or other ingredients that are kitneyot. . (MORE)
There is a debate about quinoa, which until recently was not knownoutside of the Americas. Initially it was considered fine forPassover because it's not one of the forbidden grains (wheat,barley, oats, rye, spelt). However, there are some who say it isn'tallowed for Ashkenazim because of how it may …be processed. It'soften grown with barley or processed in its proximity. Ashkenazim (Jews of European-descent) stay away from foods that canbecome confused with grains, such as rice or legumes, or thatbecome mixed with grains. This could include quinoa. Sephardi (Eastern) Jews usually eat the above foods, so if you'reSephardi, quinoa is okay. However, even for Ashkenazim, since quinoa is species-related tovegetables (such as spinach and beets), not to rice or any legume,and Rabbi Moshe Feinstein determined that there is no Torah-basisto extend the legume-stringency to new foods, some major Kashrutorganizations have now certified quinoa for Passover use by allJews. These include the OU, the Chicago Rabbinical Council and theStar-K. For Passover use, quinoa should be bought only with akosher-for-Passover certified label. Those who wish to be stringentmay consult their own Rabbi before relying on the recent ruling. For more information, see the attached Related Links. (MORE)
Adwe Laboratories toothpastes. Answer: A lot of toothpastes. Just check the label for the appropriate markof Passover kashrut.
They are foods without Chametz. Chametz is anything with flour that was let to rise. Kosher for Passover food must also be processed within 18 minutes so the dough doesn't have time to rise. It also has to be uncontaminated with dough that is not kosher for passover anymore and there needs to be a t…horough cleaning between each batch. (MORE)
It depends on the brand. However, even brands of real mustard that are certified kosher for Passover are still kitniyot.
All nuts except for peanuts are considered kosher for passover. However, their packaging does have to display kosher for Passover certification.
There are brands of kosher for Passover cranberry sauce. You would have to check the packaging for kashrut certification.
It means that all of the ingredients and production process meets the special kashrut requirements of Passover.
Tofu makers don't bother trying to get their products kosher certified for Passover as soy beans are kitniyot so the majority of Ashkenazi Jews wouldn't eat it during Passover.
Fresh string beans are kosher for Passover. However, canned string beans might need a kosher for Passover certification. Correction: Ashkenazi Jews do not eat legumes of any kind as they are kitniyot, this includes string beans.
Yes, only if they are specifically certified kosher for passover. You can find kosher for Passover olives at any Jewish supermarket
Though some brands of granola are kosher for non-Passover use, nogranola is kosher for Passover. For Passover, you can get fake'granola' that is made from matzo. Or, it may be fun to researchingredients and try to make some on your own.
Spaghetti and pasta is normally not Kosher for Passover as it is generally made with wheat flour and considered chometz . In recent years I have seen Kosher for Passover pasta on supermarket shelves in Israel. Perhaps this is made with potato flour like gnocci.
Most Vodka is made from wheat or rye, and therefore is not kosher for Passover. There are 3 or 4 still made from only potatoes, but you must check labels.If you want some potato Vodka for the next high Holy days, you can make some at home. We call it Polish White Lightening, but you can name you…rs whatever you like. (MORE)
These days there are kosher for Passover pastas, usually made from potato. I don't know of any brand of mac and cheese that are certified kosher for Passover though.
If you can find a bottle that's labeled kosher for Passover. However, sesame seeds are kiniyot so Ashkenazi Jews are not supposed to eat them or any derivative.
No, as puff pastry is a dough made from flour, it is chametz and therefore not allowed during Pesach (Passover).
Anything with wheat that has been left with water or yeast for over 18 minutes is considered CHAMETZ(not allowed on passover according to orthodox jews.)
It depends. If you are of Sephardic or Mizrahi extraction then yes, they are. If, however, you are Ashkenazi, then traditionally no, they're not. This is because they fall into the category of kitniyot, small things - peas and beans from which it is possible to make flour that could become confused …with flour made from the Five Grains. If a Jewish person eats any food in which any of these grains has come into contact with water for more than eighteen minutes during manufacture, the food becomes chametz and he or she risks karet - being spiritually cut off from G-d, one of the harshest punishments in the Jewish tradition and consciousness. However, the ban on kitniyot is a rabbinic tradition aimed at helping people avoid accidentally condemning themselves to karet - it does not have a religious reason and is not included in the Torah. For that reason, many Ashkenazi Jews - especially those who stick to a vegetarian or vegan diet, as I do, for whom legumes are an important source of protein and a major part of what they eat - do now eat kitniyot during Passover, though we take very great care to ensure we are not eating chametz. (MORE)
no, unless it's made with matzoh-meal. Regular pasta has wheatand/or leavening, which the Torah forbids on Passover (Exodusch.12). Answer: There are kosher for Passover pastas; they're mainly made frompotato starch. There are also corn flour pastas which are kitniyot(legumes; only eaten by Sephard…im on Passover). (MORE)
There are kosher brands of condensed milk, to be used during Passover, it would have to be certified kosher for Passover. In regard to sweetened condensed milk, most use corn syrup which is kitniyot. There are substitute recipes for this product though.
According to the OU, all regular, unflavoured coffee is kosher for Passover when bearing the OU symbol. Flavoured, decaf, and instant coffees must be certified kosher for Passover.
Oil has to be marked kosher for Passover. Oils that are fine for all groups: Olive Nut (macadamia, almond, walnut, etc) Cotton Seed Grape Seed Kitniyot Canola Sunflower Seed
It would have to be marked kosher for Passover on the bottle with a reliable hechsher.
Yes, potatoes (and fruits and vegetables in general) are kosher forPassover and in fact, are a major staple during the holiday. Bothwhole and as potato starch.
All salt is kosher unless something is added to it to make it not kosher. Like all other seasonings, the specific package must be certified kosher for Passover.
Flax seed is kosher for Passover, as long as it is in the form of a seed; if baked into bread then it would not be kosher for Passover (since all forms of leavened bread are not kosher for Passover). However, flax falls within the category of 'kitniyot' and therefore is not eaten by Ashkenazi Jews.
Yes, milk is kosher for Passover. If it is not hechshered, it must be purchased before Passover starts and not opened until after Passover starts.
You would have to find corn flour that has been certified kosher for Passover. Outside of Israel that is very unlikely as corn belongs to the category of kitniyot and is not eaten by Ashkenazi Jews during Passover.
Many Jewish communities don't eat peanuts on Passover. For those who do, it needs Passover kosher certification.
No, spelt is one of the forbidden grains during Passover. There are no brands of pasta available on the market that are made from any of the 5 forbidden grains that are certified kosher for Passover. This is because once liquid is added to any of the forbidden grains, or flour made from these grains…, the resulting dough must be thoroughly cooked within 18 minutes. Since pasta is made by making dough, cutting the dough into the required shape, then drying it without cooking, it is classified as chametz. The only pastas available for Passover are either non-Gebrokt - this means that they contain no matzah, matzah products, or grains of any kind. Non-Gebrokt pastas are made from potato starch. Or, pastas made from corn flour. However, as corn is classified as kitniyot, pastas made from corn are not eaten by Ashkenazi Jews. Another Answer Well yes, BUT: Actually spelt, like wheat, is one od the "forbidden" grains, BUT the one of the 5 forbidden grains is also REQUIRED for matza. If you are asking about spelt matza...it is kosher for passover from a variety of vendors. If you make kosher matza you may also usae spelt. Whenin question alsways consult you rabbi. (MORE)
Sephardi Jews use peanuts and peanut oil on Passover, provided that it isn't otherwise non-kosher. Ashkenazim (Jews of European descent) may theoretically do so, but since some of them have the custom not to, it is rare to find peanut oil with kosher for Passover certification.
Real teriyaki sauce, which contains soy sauce, would be kitniyot. There are imitation teriyaki sauces available for Passover.
Whether white sugar is kosher for Passover depends on what it is derived from. Most people require a valid Passover hechsher on the packaging.
You cannot get kosher for Passover popcorn as corn is kitniyot which is not eaten by Ashkenazi Jews who make up the majority of the North American Jewish population.
Spaghetti is not kosher for Passover because it is made by mixing wheat flour with liquids at which point it is dried without cooking. Wheat is one of the forbidden grains for Passover.
If you were able to find corn vinegar that is certified kosher for Passover, it would be kitniyot which means that the majority of Ashkenazi Jews would not use it.
It is possible to get sunflower seeds and products made from sunflower seeds, such as oil, that are hechshered kosher l'Pesach. However, all of these products are considered kitniyot and therefore, the majority of Ashkenazi Jews will not eat them.
Most authorities will permit its use as long as a reliable authority has approved it for regular (non Passover) use; some authorities require Passover certification. Some groups now classify quinoa as kitniyot and thereby not eaten by Ashkenazim.
Yes, sunflower seed oil can be kosher for Passover, however, it is classified as kitniyot, therefore Ashkenazim do not use it. You would have to check the labeling for a valid Pesach hechsher though.
If you can find corn starch with a Passover hechsher then yes, it is. However, as corn is kitniyot, Ashkenazi Jews will not use it.
Yes. Fresh vegetables are all kosher for Passover, though Ashkenazi Jews do not eat certain ones, such as corn and legumes (peas, beans, etc.)
For Ashkenazim: no, because they have a custom of abstaining fromlegumes, peas, seeds, rice (etc.) on Passover. For Sephardim: yes, if the label has a certification of beingkosher for Passover.
No. They are made from oats, which is one of the "five species" ofgrains that are traditionally banned for Jews during Passover(Exodus ch.12). There are "Kosher for Passover" dry cereals similar to Cheeriosthat are made from matzoh meal, but I've tried them so you don'thave to. Stick with scrambled… eggs; they're better for you. 60+ years ago, a very young chemist named Isaac Asimov wrote ascience fiction story about a powder that would dissolve 1.2seconds BEFORE you added water; he called it "thiotimoline". MatzohCheerios are very much like that. (MORE)
Yes. It should be labeled as having had rabbinic supervision forpassover use. Note that Kosher for Passover certification is distinct from theKosher certification that non-Passover wines may have.
Garbanzo beans and their products are considered kitnyot. Allkitnyot are prohibited by Ashkenazim on Passover, but permitted bySephardim and Mizrahim.