How many states were in the Union in 1862?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

There were 34 states in the Union when Abraham Lincoln was elected president in 1860. And twenty-three when the US Civil War started. In 1861, Kansas Joined the Union, therefore in 1862 there were 24 US states.
2 people found this useful

How many states are there in the Union?

50 States makes up the union. They are as follows: 1 Delaware Friday, December 7, 1787 2 Pennsylvania Wednesday,December 12, 1787 3 New Jersey Tuesday, December 18, 1787 4 Geo

How many states in 1862?

There were 11 Confederate states and 25 federal states.

Who were the Union generals in 1862?

There were over 600 generals in the Union Army in 1862. Thisincluded the soon to be retired General in Chief Winfield Scott.Later the two leading Union generals at the beginni

Was Ohio a union state in 1862?

Ohio has always been a northern state, at least since it became a state in 1803. Therefore, yes, Ohio was a union state in 1862.