answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, the minute you've signed the contract, the vehicle is yours. "Buyer's Remorse" is a myth pertaining to the buyer's supposed legal right to change their mind and return a vehicle after signing the contract. Not at all based in reality! This myth probably stemmed from a stipulation called the "Right of Recission" when refinancing a home loan, which allows the person refinancing a three-day "cooling off" period after signing the refinancing paperwork to change their mind and cancel the refi.

Texas:

I can't speak for other states, but, in Texas, the Lemon Law only takes effect if the car has been in three times for the same problem within a specified time frame (6 months or a year, I think). Also, it has to be something that renders the vehicle inoperable or dangerous. In other words, if your stereo keeps going out, or your power window is broken, then Lemon Laws do not apply.

Personal Experience:

If you live in California and you sign any contract, you will be unable to return the vehicle. In a rare case, I practically begged the manager of a used car lot to unwind the deal. I told him that my wife purchased a car for me prior to my purchase of their car, but I was completely unaware of it. They finally let me out, but withheld a $40.00 documentation fee and a 2.9% credit card surcharge. $178.00 is better than a $6000 used car that I decided that I didn't want. Also, when I purchased the car, I left it at the car lot and told them that I'll pick it up in a matter of days. I guess the unwinding of the deal helped for the simple fact that the car never left the lot and I came back the next morning. It only took me one night to think about the deal and realize that I wanted out. The most important thing is to not let the sales person pressure you into signing anything. Don't listen to 'this car may be gone tomorrow,' 'this is as low as I can go,' 'you will not find a deal better,' etc. It's all bull. It will get you in trouble if you sign the contracts, but you later want out. THERE IS NO WAY OUT AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT. Everything is monitored and recorded from the minute you step on the car lot until you go to the back office to sign the 'nail in the coffin' contracts. Before you sign anything, go home and think about it. It will save you a lot of headaches. DON'T SIGN ANY CONTRACTS UNTIL YOU ARE COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE CAR!

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2015-09-03 13:37:32
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Health

21 cards

Im with someone in the army and we want to get married asap but would he get into trouble he is 21 and im 16

What does teachorous mean

What is the first aid treatment for arterial bleeding

What is the difference between an intentional and unintentional injury

➑️
See all cards
3.3
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
40 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How long do you have after purchasing a new car to return if you decide you do not want it?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How long after purchasing a motorcycle in Michigan do you have to get a motorcycle license?

how ever long you want


How long will it take a video game to become a used copy?

It only takes one play. When you buy a game and you decide you want to return it, the store you return it to assumes that you have used it and they put it with the used games.


How long should pubes be?

There's no rules for that, you can decide how long you want them. ^^


Is it safe to by from a online tire store?

As long as they have a secure site you are able to. I would recommend that you NOT do it though. YOu want to see up close what you are purchasing. Not to mention if the issue of return comes up.


I want to know how long does it take for my state tax ?

How long for state tax return


Where can I find more information on fleet leasing ?

first you have to decide how long you want to participate in a program. there is long term or short term leasing. you also need to decide what kind of vehicles you want in your fleet.


Can a 16 year old in Missouri decide who they want to live with?

Not as long as they are a minor.


What is the age for a child to decide who they want to live with in Ky?

As long as they are minors they are not allowed to decide. Around the age of 12 the judge would listen to their opinion but they can not decide.


How old does a child have to be in Texas to decide which parent they want to live with when CPS was involved?

You are not allowed to decide that as long as you are a minor. If the parents can't or is not allowed to decide, the court will.


How long do you have after purchasing a used car to return if you decide you do not want it?

You better have decided by the time you sign the contract, because after that you can't usually return it. In most cases the contract will state this in bold letters so you can't later claim you were misled about it. Some states require used car dealers to offer buyers the option to purchase a recission period (a short one, usually 3 days) during which they're allowed to change their mind and return the car. Note that I said "option" and "purchase" there. If you didn't purchase the option, then you don't get to return it.


Theres a boy who says i love you but does he really?

That would be for you to decide whether you feel it, see it or even want it let alone return it.


Can a 15-year old decide which parent they want to live with in Georgia?

No, not as long as you are a minor.

People also asked