answersLogoWhite

0

Car Buying
Used Car Buying
iPod Touch

How many days do you have to return a used car?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2014-02-15 06:45:20

None. Car sales in all states are binding contracts the instant they're signed, with a couple of exceptions:

Some (but not all) states require dealers to offer buyers the opportunity to purchase a rescission option. This is generally only required for certain types of sales (for example, only for used cars, and only if they cost less than some particular amount). The dealer is generally allowed to charge for the right itself and a penalty fee if the customer chooses to exercise it.

If you bought the car at a tent sale or in a parking lot and not at the dealership, you MIGHT have the right to cancel the contract within a short period of time (usually 3 days). Usually, the dealer is allowed to charge you a penalty for cancelling in this case also, typically a percentage of the purchase price.

Otherwise ... you can always talk to the dealership. Just because they're not legally required to allow you to return the car doesn't mean they're legally forbidden to do so. Your bargaining position is weak, but if they can get the car back and make some money on the deal, they might just allow it.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

How many days to return used car in Texas?

You cannot return a new or used car period. The buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of any vehicle.


How many days do you have to return a car you purchased?

Three days.


How many days do you have to return a used car in Missouri?

You do not have any days to return a used car in Missouri. The buyer's remorse law only applies to health clubs and time shares. Once you buy a car, unless the buyer will take it back, you are stuck with it.


If you buy a used car in Georgia and want to return it how many days do you have?

If you purchase a used car in Georgia and want to return it, you may not be able to do so. Some dealers will let you return it but it is completely up to them and what their contract states.


How many days in Texas to return a defective used car?

You cannot return it. There is no new or used car return law in any state including Texas. The Buyers Remorse or Cooling Off Period laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.


How many days can you return a new car purchased in Florida?

Zero.. there is no return policy


In Florida can you return a used car in 72 hours?

In Florida, the allow allows consumers to return a used car within 72 hours. The contract must be cancelled within 3 days with the return of the car.


How many days after buying a used car in pa can you return it?

None, the buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.


How many days to return a car in Indiana?

None, the buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.


How long is a used car return policy in nova scotia?

30 days


How many days in California to return a defective car?

In California the car must of had two repair attempts that could cause death, four repair attempts that would not cause death, or 30 days where the car could not be used. The period in which you can return a new car is 18 months or 18,000 miles.


What will happen if you return a car after 30 days?

You cannot return a vehicle you purchased after 30 days. It will be considered used and a possible trade in for this vehicle will be considered.


What is the New York law on returning a used car with no warranty how many days do you have to return a used car with no warranty?

You cannot return a used or new car with or without a warranty. The cooling off period or buyer's remorse law does not apply to the purchase of an automobile. It only applies to unsolicited purchases.


How many days do you have to return a car to the dealership?

None, the buyers remorse laws do not apply to the purchase of any vehicle new or used in any state. You bought the car and you own the car.


If the car dealer misleads you car you return a used car?

No, you can not return the car.


How many days after purchasing a vehicle can you return it?

There is no return policy unless the dealer agrees to this. You bought the car so it is yours. A car dealer is not like Walmart where you can return an item you bought.


Can you return a defective car after 5 days to the owner?

You can (and should) always return a car to its owner.


Can you return a used car you bought two days ago?

No. Buyers remorse does not apply to automobiles.


Can you return a used car in Ohio in 3 days or less if they did not deposit your check for the vehicle?

no they cant


How long do you have to return a used car in Ga?

How long do you have to return a used car in Ga.?


Used car return policy in Maryland?

Used car return policy in maryland?


Do you have 30 days to return a car?

There are different laws based on if a car is new or used. In used cars, you need to get any return policy in writing. In new car sales, it also has to be spelled out although some states of lemon laws which allow of the return of defective new cars.


How many days legally do you have to return a car and get your money back?

Depends on you state laws. In most states you have no legal right to return a car unless there is fraud involved.


What is the Florida law on returning a used car with a warranty how many days do you have to return a used car with a warranty?

You do not have any days. You cannot return a used or new car. You buy it, you own it. The cooling off period or buyers remorse laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle. They only apply to un-solicited sales. Now if you are asking about warranty repairs, then you have until the warranty period runs out, be it mileage or time.


Do you have 30 days to return a used car in Florida?

No, the buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.