answersLogoWhite

0

  • Car Buying
  • Auto Loans and Financing
  • Used Car Buying

What are the consumer laws pertaining to the return of a new car?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2006-08-12 01:02:25

Best Answer
Copy

Such issues would be determined by the lending contract and the consumer laws of the state of residency. If the vehicle is defective then state lemon laws might apply. The federal law referred to as the "72 hour cooling off" period does not apply to vehicles.

2006-08-12 01:02:25
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

If you buy a used car from a dealer can you return the car and get your full downpayment back on the next business day?

Depends on the laws in your state. Go to your state attorney general on the web and look for a 'consumer' or 'consumer protection' link.


Why was Eugene Talmadge popular with the rural voters?

He created the state of Georgia's first consumer protection laws pertaining to the contents of fertilizer as agriculture commissioner. In addition, he lowered the cost of car tags to 3 dollars.


Is there a law that gives you 3 days to return a car you just bought in Florida?

No, those laws are called, cooling off period laws, or buyers remorse laws. Those type laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle of any kind. It is only a myth that they do. Once you buy a car it is yours and you cannot return it. There are lemon laws in most states that protect the consumer against manufacture defects that cannot be repaired. In that case you can get a replacement vehicle if you follow the rules.


What are car return laws in Massachusetts?

You are protected under the lemon laws in Massachusetts. You can return a car for repairs or money back if repairs have not been met within 7 days of purchase.


What are the car insurance laws for Pennsylvania residents?

The Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles lists all laws pertaining to car insurance on its website. You will be able to find all the information you need at www.dmv.state.pa.us.


Does Oklahoma law allow you to return a new car?

Oklahoma does not allow a consumer to return a newly purchased vehicle. Once the contract is signed the car belongs to the buyer.


Can you return your used car?

It depends on the laws in your jurisdiction, the terms of your purchase contract, and how long you've had the car. Generally, you cannot return your car without a valid reason.


Do you have 30 days to return a car?

There are different laws based on if a car is new or used. In used cars, you need to get any return policy in writing. In new car sales, it also has to be spelled out although some states of lemon laws which allow of the return of defective new cars.


Where can you find information on motor vehicle laws in Delaware pertaining to safety items you should or shouldn't have on you car?

http://www.dmv.de.gov/


How old should a child be to ride in a convertible car?

As far as I know, there are no certain laws pertaining to convertibles. Follow the same seatbelt and car seat guidelines as you would a regular car.


How many days legally do you have to return a car and get your money back?

Depends on you state laws. In most states you have no legal right to return a car unless there is fraud involved.


Can you return a used car if it has problems?

You can return it and ask them to repair it if you bought it with a warranty. If you bought it "AS IS" then you will have to pay for the repairs. You cannot simply return the car for a refund. The buyers remorse laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.


How long to return a used car in FL?

If you bought it then you own it and you cannot return it period. The Buyers Remorse laws in every state do not cover the purchase of a new or used car.


What is the law for returning a purchased car in Illinois?

If the car is on a loan, you can return the car to the creditor that has granted you a loan on it. If you have paid off the car or bought the car paid off then you can't return the car to the dealership or owner unless it states you are allowed to do so. I tried returning a car that I paid off and was allowed to return it because it did not follow the lemon laws. If it had no problems, then no I couldn't return it and get my money back on it.


Lemon Car law Pennsylvania's what is it?

The PA Lemon Laws cover new car purchases but not used car purchases, although there are national lemon laws and consumer protection laws that do cover used car purchases in Pennsylvania. The full Pennsylvania Lemon Laws are too long to list here, but info can be found in the related links below.


Can you return a new car purchase in Nevada?

this depens upon the car company If you are asking if the Cooling Off Period or Buyer's Remorse Law can be used to return a car, the answer is no. Those laws only apply to unsolicited purchases and not to the purchase of a car.


Can you return a car you bought 3 days ago to the dealer the financing has not gone through yet it is in the state of wv?

No the dealership is under no obligation to allow a consumer to return the car. Once the contract is signed the car has a new owner and belongs to the buyer.


How long do you have to return a car to dealer in new york?

Once you buy a car it is yours and you cannot return it. It is a myth that the cooling off period or buyers remorse laws apply to the purchase of a vehicle. They do not.


Can you return a used car in Iowa?

NO. You cannot return a car you bought in any state, unless the dealer agrees to take it back. The cooling off period laws do not apply to the purchase of autos.


How long do you have to return a new car to the dealer in Canada?

Once you buy a car it is yours and you cannot return it. It is a myth that the cooling off period or buyers remorse laws apply to the purchase of a vehicle. They do not.


Are there laws requiring car dealerships to disclose to the consumer if a vehicle was purchased from a rental car agency or used as a Program Vehicle?

No, but if you asked at the time of purchase then they can not lie.


How many days in Texas to return a defective used car?

You cannot return it. There is no new or used car return law in any state including Texas. The Buyers Remorse or Cooling Off Period laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.


What is two sources of law that apply when you buy a car?

consumer protection laws and 7 hour uniform commercial code


What is the return policy for a used car in the State of Va?

There is NO return policy. Once you buy it you own it and cannot return it for any reason. The Buyers Remorse laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.


What is the new car return law in Georgia?

There is no new or used car return law in any state including Georgia. The Buyers Remorse or Cooling Off Period laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.