Politics and Government
US Constitution

What do the three branches of the US government have in common with the concept of separation of powers?


User Avatar
Wiki User

Briefly 3 basic branches of US government are: Legislative, Executive and Judicial. Each branch serves a specific function in the government ie: Legislative - makes laws, Executive - enforces the laws, Judicial - intepret the laws. Each is separated and performed its function according to the US Constitution. There is a Check and Balance function built-in so each branch does not act over-power over the other branch. Thus they are shared equal power and help keeps the US from being an anarchy state.