What were the 13 original states of the U.S. called?

The first 13 colonies became states with the end of the Revolutionary War and the Articles of Confederation. They did NOT consider themselves to be "United States" since they saw themselves as individual locations. It wasn't until 1789 with the Constitution that they were "united" as states. So, they called themselves "Colonies" and then "United States".