A driver's license permits a person to drive a vehicle. Most US States allow 16-year-olds to test for, and obtain, a driver's license. Licenses must be renewed periodically. Licenses also serve as identification.
Can you get auto insurance without a drivers license?
nice post big efictive
drivers ed Milwaukee
handsonthewheeldrivingschool.comTeen drivers school Ed Milwaukee
Our program provides 42 hours total of instruction. 30 hours of online class instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and 6 hours of driver observation
Why is your name capitalized on your Drivers license?
I'd say to clearly recognize the letters.
How many points to lose drivers license in ca?
Four points in a year.
Six points in two years.
Eight points in three years.
Do you need a drivers license to buy a car in Ohio?
Yes you do
Kentucky driver's license requirements?
Go to this website for the requested information. http://www.kytc.ky.gov/drlic/
What is the biggest vehicle you can drive without a commercial drivers license?
Up to 80,000 lbs, and even over that in some cases, but not in all instances. Explanation..
Vehicles and combinations over 26,000 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight Rating typically require a CDL. However, some classes of vehicle are exempt under federal law from requiring the operator to possess a CDL. These include:
- Recreational vehicles and motor homes. Yes, those Class 8 trucks transformed into motor homes - someone who has never driven anything bigger than a passenger car in their entire life can just jump in and drive one in many states.
- Firefighting and first response apparatus. Federal law doesn't require firefighters to possess a CDL. However, counties or individual departments might.
- Registered farm vehicles, operated in accordance with the restrictions placed upon such vehicles. Even a semi can be registered as a farm vehicle, and, so long as it's driven by the owner, family members of the owner, or direct employees of the owner, will not require a CDL.
- Military vehicles operated by military personnel. The military issues its own licences for tactical vehicles.
Some states, however, may require upgraded non-CDL licences for the operation of these vehicles.
If drivers license is suspended can you get a hunting license?
Yes, but you will need some form of valid identification, such as a passport or state ID.
Can a parent revoke a child's drivers license?
no parent is allwo to revoke a child licence
No, parental permission is not required for a child to obtain and keep their license. However, a minor cannot drive (or go anywhere) without parental permission.
Added: The second answer is only partially correct. Your parent(s) cannot have the DMV revoke your driving privilege, HOWEVER - if you are still not legally an adult, or are not emancipated, they can take your drivers license from you and hold onto it to control your use of it. That is their right as your parent.
Can a convicted felon obtain a driver's license?
Yes. Unless, of course, the offense for which he was convicted was driving related and his license was revoked AND no driving is a condition of his release.
If international driver's licenses are not issued by a government agency are they actually required?
An international driving permit (IDP), issued by the American Automobile Association (AAA) in North America, is a hold-over from the days in which international travel was less common. Because driver's licenses in North America are issued by states and provinces, they are not universally recognized in other countries when officials or authorities in those countries (1) cannot read English; or (2) cannot discern if the presented document is indeed a valid government issued driver's license. Similarly, when travelers from non-English speaking countries travel to North America and present a document issued in a foreign language - sometimes in an unknown alphabet - local officials and authorities can not always confirm that the presented document is in fact a valid driver's license.
An IDP is a translation of your license, together with your photograph and your basic information. It is recognized by all signatories to the Vienna Convention on Road Traffic of 1968. It is important to note that the IDP is iit is not a license unto itself - it is merely an official translation of your original driver's license. Therefore, you must possess both the IDP and your originally issued driver's license while driving in foreign countries.
Today, most people find they do not require an IDP, however it is still wise to obtain and carry one, especially if you are planning to drive in a country that does not widely use the Roman alphabet.
The signatories to the Vienna Convention on Road Traffic include:
Bailwick of Guernsey
Cameroons under French mandate
Central African Republic
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland
France including French overseas territories
Iran, Islamic Republic of
Isle of Man
Lao, People's Democratic Republic
Netherlands New Guinea
Papua New Guinea
Principality of Andorra
Republic of Korea
South West Africa
States of Jersey
Syrian Arab Republic
Trinidad and Tobago
United Arab Emirates
United States of America
Is there such a thing as an international driving license?
No, there is no such thing as an international driving license. Each country sets up their own laws for acquiring a driving license, although many countries will acknowledge your driving license as an ID in a foreign place, but won't allow you to drive with it.
When you go to the DMV to get your learner's permit what do you need to bring to take the test?
You need to bring proper documentation to prove that you are who you say you are, such as a birth certificate. Check the sources below for more detailed information.
A pencil will be provided for the written test. There is a 20-question test and you must get at least 14 correct to pass.
Study the book and you'll do fine, and if you think you need more practice look for a free online practice test. I've found one here at www.DrivingTests101.comSourceshttp://www.dmv.org/ma-massachusetts/drivers-permits.php
How can a Mexican who is in the US illegally obtain a driver's license?
My girlfriend did that in Texas, all she did was show them her student ID and tourist visa. She did apply for the driver's license when she was illegal. You need two forms of idenfication and that is it
If she had a valid visa, then that makes her legal. How is she illegal ?
Just FYI if she had a student ID, she has a Student Visa, and that's stamped on her passport.
I first got mine while I was here (the US) illegally. That was in 1991 in California. Back then it was pretty easy, you only needed a birth certificate of your home country and I think that was it, other than pass the written and driving test. I am legally here now because I married a "gringa."
Well my boyfriend (soon to be husband) got his drivers License in Michigan he only had to take the writen test and then in a month he took the driver's test. They even let him take someone to translate for him he showed them his passport from Mexico .
In the state of Tennessee all you need is a birth certificate, a translated copy, and 2 bills in the persons name to verify residency (ex. utility, phone, rent, etc.). They have to pass a vision, written and driving test. Its fairly simple if they study the driving handbook.
answer fyi just because she had a student id, does not mean she had a student visa she would only have a student visa if she was studyiong in usa
answer you can have a valid visa, but if you overstay the length of time allowed for a visitor , that makes you illegal whether u have a visa or not. the only difference being that you did enter the country legally to start with
: Ditto to the above answer. Years ago, it was fairly easy to get a driver's license but currently as of 2009, multiple DMV are NOT issueing driver's licenses, or state ids of any kind to an immigrant who enter illegally or overstayed an expired visa. It doesn't even matter if you have Social sercurity card in hand, you MUST have that proof of an valid visa, or green card.
Do employers get information from your Drivers License or social security number?
From your social, your birth date, and your address. Depends on the position if its for security clearance for example they use all information. Same thing with drivers they'll use your drivers license #. All depends on the position.
Can you ride a mini bike without a drivers license?
yes, you can ride a mini bike with out a drivers licence. according to the ATA (american transport assciation) a minibike isn't even considered a vehicle! But it is nieve to ride it on a busy street. I hope this answers your question :-)
Yes, but I guess it depends on what state you are in. You can in NJ, PA, MA, RI and VT. You don't need a license if the bike is 50cc or smaller. You can ride them through residential roads but not two lanes or more. Only with 50cc and below. In many counties in the state of Colorado would require you to have a license. You can ride without a license if your on private property.
Added; You had best check the license laws of your state or country, the above answer may not apply in your area.
How do you move up from a learner's permit to a full driver's license for the first time at age 37?
Go to the DMV. and take the test.
In Florida and many other states, the permit is no longer relevant and isn't required after you are 18. Go to the local DMV and take their license test which will have driving, road rules, and road signs and if you pass, you can get a license.
Do you need a drivers license in Mexico?
Yes. If you are a foreign citizen renting a car, all you need is your passport (and a credit card or cash, of course).
If you lied about your age many years ago to get your driver's license early how can you correct this now?
It should not be a difficult matter. And you should not be worried about any recriminations. Take a copy of your birth or baptismal certificate or whatever is acceptable proof of age in Indiana. Tell them a mistake was made on your Illinois license and you want to correct it. Not a big deal.
I agree, but why make a special trip and pay extra money? The next time your license needs to be renewed just take your birth certificate, etc., and tell the issuer in your state that your age is wrong. It should not be illegal to simply HAVE a drivers license with the wrong date as long as you are not using the date for fraudulent purposes. Afterall, the DMV makes mistakes all the time.
Can you lose your driver's license for speeding in California on Hwy101 at 95mph in a 70mph zone?
YES!!!!!!!!!! anything 25 miles an hour over the speed limit or more is considered reckless driving and you can lose your license for a year
What happens when a police officer checks your drivers license?
They call the license number into a computer system. This will check the driving record. It will also insure that it is a valid drivers license. the system will also check the license against any outstanding warrants to see if the driver is wanted for anything.
How old must you be in Louisiana to get your driver's license?
You must be 17 years old, but you must have had a learner's permit for a certain length of time first.
Does Massachusetts have a driver's license points system?
What year did Illinois start putting photos on drivers license?
I was curious about this too, and contacted the Sec. Of State office.
They told me that it was June 1977 for driver's licenses, and July 1977 for I.D.s.
Can a person temporarily operate a farm tractor on the highway without a drivers license?
It depends on the particular laws of your state. Your local law enforcement agency or DMV opffice can tell you. The laws for your state may also be found on the state Department of Motor Vehicles or Department of Public Safety website.
Is it true that if you are not 17 by April 2005 then you have to wait until you are 18 to be able to learn to drive?
NO not really. What state are you in? In most states it is a process of obtaining your drivers permit, then taking some drivers courses, having someone over 21 drive with you, that is teach you, and in many states there are graduated licensing procedures, which AFTER you pass the written test you get a permit (that requires an adult - usually 21 or older, to drive with you. Then you take, after a set period, a driving test yourself. If you pass, and most people do not the first time, you have to continue your learning / practice and try again. Once you pass you will get a provisional license that limits you to hours of operation and with whom you can drive. After some period of time you will get a regular license. Good luck. I think the person who asked the original question was asking from the UK. Here the minimum age to drive a car on the road (with "L"-plates and a qualified driver supervising) is 17. There was, and still is, some talk about putting that up to 18, to match most of the EU, but there is no date yet set. Not in California. You can get a Provisional Permit at 15 1/2 in this state, as long as you complete Driver Education and enroll in Driver Training before you apply for the permit.
In Montana you can get a learner's licence at 14 1/2, a provisional licence at 15 1/2, and a driver's licence at 16 1/2. If you did not get the learner's and provisional then you can get a driver's licence at 18. When I got my learner's I was also able to drive in several other states when the family went on vacation as long as an adult was in the car (we did have to change drivers before entering a state that would not recognize my licence). I drove to High School all 4 years by myself using whatever licence I had then.