Ohio is located in the Midwestern part of the US with an estimated population of 11.5 million as of 2010 census. It is the 34th largest US state by area at 116,096 sq km.

12,675 Questions
Rules of the Road

What was the first city to have traffic lights?

Cleveland, Ohio, is widely credited as having the first stoplight. James Hoge, an engineer, hooked up the first traffic light to the trolley line's electricity in 1914, using the red and green lights that were already familiar from their use by railroads. The light was controlled by a policeman in a booth nearby, who would flip the switch between red and green. The yellow light didn't come until later; it was an invention of William Potts, a Detroit police officer.

Technically, there were several experiments with traffic lights before Hoge's success in Cleveland, but none of them took off like his did.

Flight Times

How many flight hours from USA Ohio to Egypt?

Departure point: Ohio, United States

Destination point: Egypt

Estimated flight duration: 12 hours, 12 minutes

Postage and Shipping

How long does it take standard mail to get from Wisconsin to Ohio?

depends on where in each state, but it can take anywhere from 2 days to 3 weeks depending on what the people at the post office feel like. (my experience demonstrates this... have seen mail from the northern part of Wisconsin get to Florida (space coast) faster then a letter across town mailed on the same day)

Salary and Pay Rates

How much retirement does an Ohio senator get?

Rock Music

How did Hanging Rock Ohio get its name?

It got it's name from a large rock that was in the river. Flat boats would get stuck on it. This would be before the dam's were put into place to raise the water level. Hanging Rock Iron Region was once the worlds largest supplier of pig iron.


When do people in Ohio start school?

Depends on the School district. Some start as early as the Middle of August. Some don't start until as late as the second week of September.

French and Indian War

Who captured eight British forts in Ohio river valley?


Tax Forms
Business Taxes

What's the address in California to mail IRS Form 1099-MISC?

Form 1099-MISC is Miscellaneous Income. Employers are required to mail Copy A (for Internal Revenue Service Center) to the IRS by March 1 (March 31 if filing electronically). Where you send Copy A depends on where you are. If you're in California, you mail Copy A to the Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service Center, Kansas City MO 64999.

For more information, go to www.irs.gov/formspubs for General Instructions for Forms 1099, 1098, 3921, 3922, 5498, and W-2G.

Local Laws
State Laws

What are the knife laws for the state of Ohio Cuyahoga county?

Blade must be 2.5 inches or shorter-the length of a Police Officers badge


How long does it take mail to get from Maryland to Ohio?

like 2 days


What is the capital of Ohio?

Columbus is the capital city in the U.S. state of Ohio.


How cold does Ohio get?

The coldest ever recorded air temperature in Ohio is -39°F (-39°C) on February 10, 1899 in Milligan, OH

The average low temperatures in January are about 18°F (-7°C) to 25°F (-4°C) depending on what part of Ohio

State Laws
Online Gambling

Is online gambling legal in Ohio?

Online gambling is Legal and no individual has been charged with any crimes. Back in 2007 this was discussed in Congress with many people including Republicans stating that online gambling was not illegal.

Medication and Drugs
Illegal Drugs
State Laws

Where can you get a medical marijanna card in Ohio?

You Can't, Ohio does not have medical marijuana

State Laws

What is criminialcharge 2907.02 2 in Ohio penal mean?

Ohio Revised code 2907.02 (2) is forceable rape. Specifically it reads: "No person shall engage in sexual conduct with another when the offender purposely compels the other person to submit by force or threat of force."

Basically some one charged under ORC 2907.2(2) is being accused to forcing some one or threatening some one with bodily harm to the victim or anyone else to compel that victim to have sex with the accused. This is a first degree felony that, if convicted, carries a minimum mandatory sentence of 5 years for offenders 16 or older. If circumstances are met a judge could impose a term of life without parole.

Divorce and Marriage Law

How does an inmate in Ohio start with divorce procedures?

== == You must make an appointment with the Warden and then it will be taken before a Board. Usually you will be granted a lawyer from the State to start divorce proceedings. Your request is very common. Sorry to hear about your problems and hope it all works out for you in the future. While all states have established divorce procedures, the standard of evidence and the types of divorces allowed can vary from state to state, so its best to consult with an attorney to discuss the laws and requirements of your state before filing your petition for divorce.

Postage and Shipping

How long does mail take to get from Allentown PA to New Philadelphia Ohio?

1.28 Gigawats

College Football
The Ohio State University

How many National Titles have the Ohio State Buckeyes won?

They won national titles in 1942, 1954, 1957, 1961, 1968, 1970 and 2002.

Look in the Related Links for an article that discusses the Buckeyes and it mentions their title history. Keep in mind this was pre-2002 championship.

Ohio State has definitely won 7 National Titles, 3 of those were under the reign of Coach "Woody" Hayes.

The Ohio State Buckeyes have won 16 Big Ten titles and have been co-champions of 15.

Countries, States, and Cities

How many square miles is Akron?

Akron, Ohio, USA - 62.4 square miles.


Is the toy marble manufacturers jabo vitro in Reno Ohio still open?

yes...they mainly produce industrial marbles ,but occasionally run some collectible marbles ...i was just there today!!

General Educational Development (GED)

How old do you have to be to take a GED test in Ohio?

GED Age Requirements To take the Ohio GED test, you must be officially withdrawn from school and be 19 years of age or older. Exceptions to the age requirement may be granted if:

You are 18 years of age -

Have the Superintendent (or designee) of the school district where you last attended (or the district where you live) complete and sign the GED Age Waiver Form. Attach it to your paper application or to the confirmation page from your online application.

You are 18 years of age AND your class has graduated -

Attach an Official School Transcript to your application to show that your class has graduated. If you have been sworn into active military service in one of the armed forces, attach a sworn statement to your application giving the date of the swearing-in ceremony. (Delayed entry candidates do not qualify.)

You are at least 16 years of age, but less than 18 years of age -

The Superintendent (or designee) of the school district where you last attended (or the district where you live) must complete and sign the GED Age Waiver Form. A parent, guardian or court official must sign the GED Parental Consent Form. Attach both forms to your paper application or to the confirmation page from your online application.

For more information, see the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC), section 3301-41-01, Standard for issuing an "Ohio High School Equivalence Diploma" located at http://codes.ohio.gov/. Superintendents may click here for a printable PDF fact sheet about using GED's Web-based system that also contains the OAC section.

Contact Information State GED Office (614) 466-1577 ged@ode.state.oh.us

(Retrieved from http://www.ode.state.oh.us/GD/Templates/Pages/ODE/ODEPrimary.aspx?page=2&TopicID=684&TopicRelationID=684)

16; you have to register prior to taking the GED and obtain parent/guardian signatures on a registration form. I'm not sure where this form is made available, but you could probably look online with Ohio's State Dept. of Education.

I took it when i was 15, so it's mainly grade-based. Usually Sophmores take it in the spring...

Road Distance

What is the driving distance between Hudson Ohio and Independence Ohio?

The shortest driving distance is 16.9 miles.

Body Piercing

What is the body piercing age in Ohio?

Here in the state of Ohio it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to get a body piercing or tattoo without proper parental consent i.e.; BOTH parents present at the time of paperwork and piercing, and a copy of your birth certificate. Most shops won't perform any piercing or tattoo until the age of 17, but a lot of shops still don't tattoo minors. It's just too much of a potential disaster and it doesn't generate good cred for your shop.

ZIP Code

What is the zip code for Findlay Ohio?


You can also get additional zipcode and postal delivery info at USPS.COM or by calling 1-800-ASK-USPS

Natural Resources

What are Ohio's natural resources?

Besides water in streams and major rivers, Ohio also boasts a border with Lake Erie. Ohio also has forests for wood and plantlife. In addition, Ohio is part of the geological Pittsburgh Coal Seam for bituminous coal, so it also has minerals. Some areas are more rocky, too. Ohio also has rich soil and farmlands over most of the state.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.