answersLogoWhite

0

Not usually, no. It depends on a few things.

If the creature's ability says that when it hits the graveyard, you can pay a cost to return it to hand, then that's fine. It doesn't matter if the sacrifice is a cost or effect, the creature can trigger as long as it doesn't specifically say it had to be destroyed (sacrificing is not a destruction effect).

If the creature says something like "U: Return this creature to its owners hand", then these can never be both sacrificed and returned.

If the sacrifice is a cost, then the creature is gone, it has left the field before you can activate the ability. It should be noted that a creature's abilities can only be activated in any other zone than the battlefield, if they specifically say they can. So this creature cannot activate its ability in the graveyard.

If the sacrifice is an effect, then it can activate its ability in response. It will return to hand first, then if the sacrifice effect was untargeted, it will make you sacrifice something else when it resolves (it never 'selected' the first monster originally) or fail to resolve, depending on the exact wording.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Can you explain the process of using MTG's 'exile target creature, then return' ability during a game"?

When using Magic: The Gathering's "exile target creature, then return" ability, you first choose a creature to exile from the game. This means the creature is removed from play temporarily. Then, at a later point, usually during the same turn, you return the exiled creature back to the battlefield under your control. This ability can be a powerful strategic move in the game.


How does Ninjutsu work in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, Ninjutsu is a mechanic that allows players to return a Ninja creature card from their hand to the battlefield by paying a specific cost and tapping an attacking creature. This ability can be used strategically to surprise opponents and gain an advantage in combat.


How can I return a target creature to its owner's hand in the game?

To return a target creature to its owner's hand in the game, you can use cards or abilities that have the "return target creature to its owner's hand" effect. Look for cards with this ability in your deck or in the game's card pool to achieve this action.


What are the rules for using the Gustcloak Savior ability in the game?

The Gustcloak Savior ability in the game allows you to return a creature you control to your hand to protect it from being destroyed. You can use this ability at any time, but you must pay the cost of returning the creature to your hand.


When a creature dies, do you have the ability to return it to the battlefield under your control"?

Yes, some games or scenarios may allow you to bring a deceased creature back to the battlefield under your command.


What does the ability "first strike" do in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, the ability "first strike" allows a creature to deal combat damage before creatures without first strike during combat. This can give the creature with first strike an advantage in battles by potentially defeating its opponent before taking any damage in return.


Does return target creature from the graveyard to the battlefield count as a cast?

If you are talking about a card like Zombify, then this is 'cast' when you pay its mana cost and put it on the stack. On resolution, the target creature will be placed on the battlefield. Only Zombify is being cast, the creature itself is not being cast, so a card that only counters creature spells could not be used here. If you are talking about an ability of a card, then this is never counted as a spell, it is not 'cast', nor is the target creature counted as being cast either. Only ability negation cards can be used (such as Stifle).


How can I return a target creature from the graveyard to the battlefield?

You can return a target creature from the graveyard to the battlefield by using cards or abilities that have the "reanimate" or "return from graveyard" effect. Look for cards with these abilities in your deck or in the game you are playing.


Can you return a target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield in MTG"?

Yes, in Magic: The Gathering, you can return a target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield using certain cards or abilities.


What is the ability ninjutsu in magic the gathering?

Ninjutsu [cost] (cost) reveal this card from your hand return an unblocked creature you control to its owners hand put this card into play from your hand tapped and attacking


How can I return a creature from the graveyard to the battlefield in a game of Magic: The Gathering?

You can return a creature from the graveyard to the battlefield in Magic: The Gathering by using cards with abilities like "reanimate," "resurrect," or "return target creature from the graveyard to the battlefield." These cards allow you to bring back creatures that have been put into the graveyard earlier in the game.


What are the release dates for Creature Features - 1970 Return of the Fly 1-16?

Creature Features - 1970 Return of the Fly 1-16 was released on: USA: 2 January 1971