Yes. There is nothing that prohibits someone suing on behalf of their minor child without the consent of the other parent.
keep in mind that "total loss" only means that it costs more to repair your car than it is worth on the market. that 89 beretta that you had since highschool is probably a total loss from a monatary standpoint. but can it be fixed? of course it can. my wife had an 85 Buick skylark (x-car) that she t…
Call your dealer or Junck Yard and ask them if your cluster is interchange with another year. For example Jeep Cherokee is interchange 2000 to 2002 for the cluster but for ac/blower resister is interchangable for, 96-2001. O hope this help youSuleiman
do it at normal operating temp...make your marks on the timing tab and the damper....on the drivers side of the firewall is a wireing harness...there should be a single wire sticking out ot it that is tan with a black stripe, unplug that wire connector to time engine....the check engine light will c…
If the violation was derived by the use of a breathalizer test, you could contest the results when (like always) an enforcement officer administers the test. By the Federal Drug Administration Laws: the only person that can legally operate a blood alcohol monitor (breathalizer) is a licensed physici…
To rent a vehicle in Norway you will be required to show a valid driver's license. Depending on your country of origin you may also have to show other forms of identification such as Passport, International Drivers License, Visa....etc. An International Driver's License may work, but it is al…
you did't say wether used or new,I have bought used cars and trucks without a lic.but they were paid for in cash from private owners,if you buy a used or new car from a dealership or car lot than you need a lic. to do the transation! . TUMBLEWEED.
No. Unfortunately I do not believe there are dea…
You need to inform the dealer that you will be buying the car and need it titled in the state you want to register it in. I don't believe that you have to pay another tax, unless you buy it there then take it home and re-register it as if you move.
Simple. I too was in the military stationed in Mississippi. Simply take your title or registration to the tax assessor's office, pay the $5.00 transfer fee, then tag your car in the state of Mississippi. Be sure to go to your local CBPO office and obtain a tax exclusion paper since Mississippi car t…
Rates will be different from different insurers. Some of the factors that go into the calculation include:1. Liability limits2. Amount of collision and comprehensive deductibles3. Uninsured motorist limits (generally the same as liability limits unless the insured selects lower limits)4. Deductible …
Teenagers routinely drive their parents vehicles either with or without permission. Insurance Companies are well aware of this and the vehicle owner is liable for any damages resulting from the permissive driving of your vehicle. Although a 19 year old is no longer a minor. The owner of the vehicle…
It can vary greatly. It depends on the teenager, the car they drive, the state they are in. It can even vary depending on the city and possibly the area of the city. It also depends on if they are going on their own policy or being added to their parents. Calling around and getting quotes for insur…
Legally...no. But, for insurance purposes, yes.
I was told (when it came time to pay property tax), that you may have a car with no or expired tags, inspection sticker, insurance, and/or city sticker, BUT that you may still be charged property tax on the vehicle. There may also be local ordinances restricting where the car may be legally parked. …
No, if you never drive, you don't need insurance. You need insurance if you own a vehicle. And, if you drive someone else's car and get in an accident and don't have insurance it could be a big mess. Call a few insurance agencies and see what they recommend if you plan to drive at all. And, if you d…
Yours. There is no way for the other car to anticipate you exciting your vehicle, but you could have checked if a car was pulling in before opening your door.
correct. the party needs to yield Right of Way. They entered into your lane of travel,
Actually, hitting a deer is generally covered by your comprehensive coverage, not collision. Comprehensive covers "acts of God," which include hitting animals because it was an act of God that the animal was there at that time. Reading your insurance policy will clarify exact…
You are. If the insured person chooses to make a claim and the claim is paid. The driver is still responsible to reimburse the insured for any losses. If the claim is denied the driver is responsible for the entire amount of damages.
I would say health insurance. And before if not, then maybe home owners or renters insurance. Car insurance would be the least likely.
Most policies say that the injury has to arise from the "use, maintenance or operation" of the vehicle. If the way you were injured falls under any of those…
Non Owners Auto Insurance CoverageNon-Owners Insurance allows you to drive non owned vehicles with some exceptions. Non owners Insurance will Not cover you in any vehicle that belongs to a member of your household nor any vehicle to which you have regular access. It will also not cover you in a rent…
Think about this your are backing up, and your neighbors little boy is playing in your yard, and he isn't supposed to be in your yard and you hit him, (a) did you see him? can you hit him because he is not supposed to be there?We are responsible to know what is behind us and be aware of where our ca…
You will need non-owners insurance. Most companies offer this. This is for people without regular access to a vehicle.
You do not have to pay the deductible if the other person's insurance is paying the claim. If you put the claim through your insurance, and do not have uninsured, underinsured motorist protection then you will have to pay the deductible regardless of who's at fault.
The applicant for insurance is responsible for providing accurate
answers to material questions on the application. Materiality
relates to facts based upon which the insurer decides whether to
issue the policy, on what terms (such as if there any exclusions or
limitations), and at what premium.
Insurance Definition of Sports CarThey usually go by horsepower, stock and aftermarket modifications (i.e. turbo or superchargers), etc. They will usually know if you have a sports car or not. You can also have a car classified as rare or collectable that might be a sports car. If a car has two door…
Insurance Coverage. The answer below is incomplete. It is true that you should check with your carrier, but keep in mind, their answer will normally will result in getting more premium. With State Farm and Allstate you as a policyholder will always be covered, unless an excluded driver uses your veh…
Insurance transfer Yes, It's normal. You just call your Insurance Agent and notify them that you are obtaining another vehicle. Your agent will ask the make and model as well as the vehicle identification number to schedule the vehicle on your existing policy.
Most companies automatically c…
Yes, It can be in your parents name if you are still a minor, a dependent or are still a household resident So long as "YOU" are also a scheduled driver on the parents policy. Failure to schedule your self as a driver is a common form of Insurance Fraud. So whether the policy is in your name or you…
Lien Holders Insurance Indemnity Clause
Yes, Your finance contract (Loan) almost always requires that the
borrower provide a Full Coverage Auto Insurance Policy on the
vehicle being financed to protect the lien holders interest in the
property until the loan has been satisfied. It's a matter of your…
It depends on which state you are in. If you are in a no-fault state, the medical provider will typically bill the no-fault (PIP) insurance provider directly. Even in states without no-fault laws, if your injuries arose from a motor vehicle accident and you have personal injury protection or medical…
Cheapest Auto Insurance
The least expensive insurance is liability, but the cost depends on
your credit score, claims history, driving record, where you live,
the company you insure with, etc. Keep in mind, price is not
everything. The cheapest may be the most expensive if you really
If you have a new address in a new state, just contact your agent and give them the new address. You can probably get cheaper insurance in your new state, however, as insurance rates vary from state to state. I moved from Texas, where I was paying $86/month with State Farm to Florida, where I'm now…
This is a very odd request from the leasor. Unless you and your friends are incorporated or considered a business, no insurance carrier would sell you this type of policy. Also, any such coverage would probably duplicate the liability coverage you already carry on your vehic…
That depends a lot on if you are military or not. USAA and Progressive are two companies that have good outside the US policies.
If you are non military / civilian, I would contact the larger carriers and find out if they also service Canada.
You get an Auto Insurance Quote from an Insurance Company that
offers Auto Insurance. All you have to do is contact any insurance
company. They will be happy to give you a quote.
There are many different ways you can get quotes, there are
different kinds and varying levels of insurance available a…
No Fault Auto Insurance No Fault Insurance, in true No Fault form, is insurance that covers a stated risk regardless of who was at fault in the event of a covered loss. There is no "True No Fault Auto Insurance" policy however in the United States. In the U.S.A. Many states have implemented a hybri…
If you are a listed insured on your siblings policy then yes, you can certainly drive it. If you are not listed then your sibling needs to contact their insurance agent and ask if you are covered or not. none is allowed to drive a car illegaly without licence or a permit of a parent/guardian, if y…
Temporary Car Insurance Yes, In the United States Auto Insurance Coverage is commonly purchased with the following available terms. 1 month Policy 3 month Policy 6 Month Policy 12 months policy Most insurance companies sell policies that cover a six-month or one-year period. But, you might wa…
Child's Learners permit and Parental Responsibility: A Drivers Permit comes with all the responsibilities of anyone who operates a motor vehicle on public roads, including financial responsibility. When you purchased your auto policy, part of the language of the insuring contract requires that you n…
It is based on your location. It's difficult to rate a vehicle being driven by a person in another state. Of course, insurance companies do it all the time for parents of college students, but even if they live in another state during the school year, would still consider their parents' homes as pri…
Changing Auto Insurance CompaniesYes, Of Course you can. Just call the insurance company of your choice and ask for a quote. It is extremely common for people to shop new rates upon expiration of the old insurance policy. Many people overpay for their insurance simply due to not shopping around at r…
Borrowed Vehicles for the UK In the UK - the general rule is that the driver's own vehicle insurance will pay for any accidents other than when the driver is driving a car with permission and is named on the car owner's policy. If the driver has no insurance the driver has a personal liability to pa…
I always add my relatives to my car insurance when they visit me
and drive mar car, even it is for a 2 week visit. I did not want to
get in a legal dispute for that little cost it could be avoided.
Some companies cover household visitors automatically, It just
depends on the type of…
More input from FAQ Farmers:
Yes they can, technically the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA) requires them to do so as part of the
agreement of being a legitimate licensed insurance carrier.
Remember, anyone withheld from the policy who drives and causes a
claim they will laugh…
It all has to do with what insurance is. Insurance is the transference of risk. You pay a premium to the insurance company, it turn they agree to indemnify you, or put you back to the financial status you were previously at prior to a claim within the limits you have selected. In simple terms you hi…
Should this be any more complicated than to simply keep paying the premiums on the NJ car to the NJ insurance company? I don't think they would really care where you are as long as they are told where the car is garaged and who is the primary operator.
My daughter is presently going to college i…
More input from Wiki s contributors:In all 50 states, vehicle owners are required to carry some form of financial responsibility, generally, this requirement is filled by an automobile insurance policy, although in some states it may be satisfied by a bond or other form of security. When you or a me…
Talk to any insurance agent, but I would think any business
liability insurance would cover you. Actually, the owner's
insurance would probably cover any liability to someone you hit
with his car, and if he has full coverage, his damage too. However,
that company will probably tr…
Insurance Records of previous vehicle owner Insurance Records are protected under State and Federal Privacy laws. There is no legitimate legal reason for a person to want to obtain the "insurance records" of a previous owner. The attempt to do so could constitute an invasion of that persons privacy …
Reason why you name should be listed in insurance policies of your
it's pretty standard rules for every insurance policies to say if a
vehicle is provided for your regular use and you are not listed on
the policy then the insurance company can deny coverage of your
Insurance Coverage on a Parents policy? Yes, So long as you are
also listed by name as a covered driver on your parents Policy and
your parents have an insurable interest in your vehicle.
If you are a minor or a dependent still living at home then you
might be able to get insurance cheaper through…
Auto Insurance Required for Learners Permit? Yes, you can. A Drivers or Learners "Permit" is permission to drive and therefore a temporary license with certain restrictions. You can obtain your own auto insurance or you can be covered under someone else's policy such as your parents or the vehicle …
Exchange Students and Auto Insurance in the USA The same way as any other person. You contact an Insurance Agent or company who will give you a quote and offer a policy. You have to contact an Insurer and ask. There are literally hundreds of Auto Insurers in the United States that will accept a for…
Yes, I do think that insurance companies will raise the cost of insurance, because you are a teenager(well that's what I'm guessing). But, it may go up even higher when you get your driver's license because you would be able to drive by yourself most of the time without a parent. …
If they live in the household, yes.
One may generally insure the property of another if you have an
insurable interest in it. This means that you have a financial
interest in the property that may be harmed if the property is
damaged or destroyed.
Sure, you can drive the car. It doesn't matter if you're registered or not. And because you are an insured driver, that makes it even better, even if you're not insured to drive that car.Having the same insurance isn't the issue. The issue is whether or not your state follows a "family doctrine purp…
Insurance Policy fees Yes, most insurance contracts have a state approved associated policy fee and in the USA several other government mandated fees and taxes imposed by law that the insuring company must collect for your state. State mandated fees include state run vehicle anti theft programs, va…
Well, dealerships and insurance companies are very strict now, and it would depend on what dealership or insurance agency you're planning on working with. On the insurance, it may be a problem because some agencies just deal with people who have a license in that state. And because you have an inter…
Legally? "No", that would constitute Material Misrepresentation of
the Risk (fraud). The company may not press criminal charges, but
they won't pay any claims if they find out.
More information about insurance fraud:
Insurance fraud doesn't always result in criminal liability,
but under some juri…
Cancelled insurance "They cancell you" What part of "Cancelled " don't you understand? Once your cancelled, you have no coverage. any grace period would have been before the cancel date, not after it. The insurance company is a BUSINESS, if you don't pay them on time, they CANCEL you. BE an adult a…
The ssan information is for credit check (credit report checking) purposes - insurance companies equate good credit to good driving.
Why not call an insurance agent? Or two or three? Most will be more than happy to discuss your situation with you before you actually buy a policy. And there is no need to reveal that you already have an agent if you are just getting a second opinion. Also, your local license branch may be able to …
Insurance and Learners permits
Yes, All 50 U.S. states require that a driver carry the appropriate
Financial Responsibility. There is No exception of law in any U.S.
state for a learners permit.
A Drivers or Learners "Permit" is permission to drive and therefore
a temporary license with certain r…
List your wife and daughter as primary drivers of the cars they regularly drive and occasional drivers of others. If the company finds that you have been lying to them when you have a claim, you may discover that YOU HAVE NO COVERAGE and all the premiums you have paid were just a gift to the company…
Title Transfer Just call your states Vehicle titles and registrations office. If the car is paid off and ownership has transferred to another person who has failed to transfer the title, all you have to do is fill out a registration transfer form with that office. After you report the transfer, the…
The cheapest way to do this is just to have personal use added onto your current business auto policy. It's much more cost effective than buying a separate personal policy when not on company business.
Saving money after an accident is not likely, especially if you are with a preferred company. Because you have had an accident you are statistically a higher risk to have another accident. Generally the surcharge ranges from 15%-35% over a 3 year period. If you try to switch companies you WILL NOT…
Uninsured Drivers Yes, If your name is on the title. Get insurance. If the driver or co-owner has an accident you can both be held jointly and separately liable for all damages. Both the vehicle Owners and Drivers can be sued equally and have assets attached by a court order for damages arising out…
I believe your concern is how to keep yourself from getting caught up in a lawsuit if your spouse, you are currently separated from, has an accident. Your best bet is to ask an attorney. Laws may differ from state to state as far as liability. It really has nothing to do with insurance per say becau…
As long as you are not driving illegally they will. It's debatable whether they could deny liability if you are driving in violation of your restrictions and you might need an attorney. Otherwise, if you are operating it and as long as you haven't been declared an unacceptable risk.
Either parent could provide insurance for a child under their auto insurance policy. Alternatively, the child could obtain their own auto insurance policy if either parent is willing to countersign sign the insurance application with the child. As far as liability causation the parent who facilita…
You probably won't get caught until you have an accident. Then you will discover that all the premiums you paid have just been a gift to the insurance company and you HAVE NO COVERAGE. In addition you could be charged with fraud.
That would be comprehensive coverage.
Anonymous is wrong! It would be collision. It doesn't matter if the vehicle was occupied or parked. If something on the ground collides with your auto it is a collision claim.
If your car is hit, then, yes, collision insurance cove…
Non-Standard Auto Insurance
All of them. Typically you can get most of the standard coverages on a non-standard or assigned risk type policy.
Assigned Risk Pools
Assigned Risk auto insurance is usually the Insurer of last Resort
for the highest risk drivers who have been declined by at least
three Insurance Companies. The Application for insurance is
assigned by the state to an admitted carrier in that state. The
agent submits the auto a…
This sort of thing usually occurs because you are licensed at the home address of another insured driver. If you are licensed at the same address with another driver then his insurance company requires that he addresses you and all other drivers licensed at that address as either a covered person o…
If the dealer doesn't require it, probably not, but you have to decide if you want to take the chance of continuing to make payments on a car that you can't use after an accident.
No. Liability insurance covers damage you do to someone else's property. Theft would be covered by comprehensive insurance. In most jurisdictions, liability insurance is required but comprehensive is not.
A car must be insured by a company authorized to write policies in the state where the owner or primary operator resides.
The terms of your auto insurance contract or policy between you and your insurer specifically require that you disclose and schedule all household drivers and all regular drivers of your vehicle on your policy. You are also required to notify your Insurer of any change in household drivers during th…
You don't need auto insurance if you don't have a vehicle. Even if you were driving your parents' or other family member's car, their insurance should cover you. Every lisenced driver in the household should be listed on their policy, even if they will never drive the vehicle.
You still nee…
Insurance without a Drivers License
Yes, You can buy and insure a car without a Drivers License. You
just can't drive it off the lot.
Most states now require Auto Dealers to verify your drivers license
and liability coverage before a customer drives off the lot with a
purchase. This is to protect…
If the insurance company knows where the car is garaged, and if it's insured there they must, there should be no problem. There may be some issues with the state DMV if she has moved permanently to Pennsylvania and still has Florida tags, but if it is owned by a Florida resident and only loaned to a…
Past experience financing a auto purchases in the state of California makes me pretty certain that a vehicle must be paid in full & pink slip transferred to independent owner prior to a driver legally reducing to PLPD insurance coverage. A lending bank shares legal joint ownership of a driver's …
The seller might require it, but even if you had it, you could argue that the seller's coverage would apply since you hadn't taken possession of the vehicle. Almost always, the insurance follows the car, so if one of the seller's employees had an accident in the car, your carrier might b…
AIG International Services offers short term auto insurance for tourists in the U.S. The car would have to be licensed and registered in their name in the U.S. You can call them at 877-708-6995 or visit their website at www.aig-is.com.Yes. Most large insurance firms won't do this, however, especiall…
Yes, but in order to avoid coverage issues, you need to consider a few things:1. If you and your mother live together, it would be best if your mom listed your vehicle on her policy. Otherwise, her carrier will most likely deny coverage because the vehicle is a owned by a resident relative (you). Th…
All drivers of a motor vehicle on public roads must carry proof of Financial Responsibility at all times. All your parents need to do to find out if you will be covered is ASK THEIR AGENT. Their premium will go up if there is a teenage driver in the household, even if you never drive their cars.
They can. Your rates are based on several factors besides a "spotless" record, things like change of address, new members of your household, availability of your vehicle to other drivers (such as a teenager)...even if you smoke.Why? Let's look at a common question like how many miles you drive the v…
If you're asking if your friend can simply borrow your car occasionally, and you carry full coverage and liability on the car, then yes, you should be okay.Car insurance follows the vehicle, so even if your friend has his own coverage and had an accident while driving your car, your insurance would …
If your lender requires you to have insurance during the loan period, then yes. Also. If you are driving , then yes. If the vehicle is not on the road being driven, then no. But, know that if you just drive the vehicle to your next door neighbor's house and you have an accident (collision), then you…
Depends upon the state in which you reside, as well as the company. Check with your state's Department of Insurance.
If you mean, "Will the parents' insurance go up once a teenage driver gets his/her learner's permit and begins driving," the answer is "yes." The parents insurance rates wou…
Yes. Some carriers sell this type of coverage more on a seasonal basis (for instance, you park your car at a summer residence, don't use it for nine months out of the year, but still need coverage).Contact your agent and/or carrier directly to find out more information. The premium for this type of …
Yes, of course! Insurance companies love two-car policies and often offer discounts. Compare rates to see if it's cheaper to combine or have separate insurance. Each driver will be rated separately, and each vehicle will be rated separately. If you own a house together, and use the same carrier for …
A good rule of thumb about car insurance is that the insurance follows the car. So, if you own a car, have full coverage, and loan the vehicle to someone, and that person has an accident, your car insurance will step in to cover both your car's damages and any property damage. This might not be tru…
Absolutely, positively, most definitely...yes.In fact, if you're financing the car, it's unlikely the dealer will let you drive off without proof of insurance.Most people who already have insurance have a 15- or 30-day grace period on their policies, so if they have full coverage and buy a new car, …
This would definitely be a good question for your carrier and/or agent. Since it's such a short time, and you basically know when she'll be moving out, you probably don't need to. On the other hand, your carrier may be fairly "strict" about that sort of thing.It might also depend on how often you pl…
Just go to your agent and tell him that the other person will be driving your car, either regularly or occassionally. If it is a member of your household (including live-in boy/girlfriend), they should be listed if they are a lisenced driver, regardless of whether or not they ever drive the car. And…