Unanswered | Answered

Gelatin

~800 answered questions
Parent Category: Food & Cooking
Gelatin is clear and flavorless and is obtained from animal by-produces. It is used in cooking to help food retain a certain shape and hold together, such as in jelly making.

Subcategories

Answer There is no gelatin in doritos, I checked the back of the package. But they are bat dropping in them
Popularity: 27
Gelatin: a nearly transparent, faintly yellow, odorless, and almost tasteless glutinous substance obtained by boiling in water the ligaments, bones, skin, etc., of animals, and forming the basis of jellies, glues, and the like; an edible jelly made of this substance
Popularity: 7
Yes---- The box doesn't have gelatin listed as an ingredient, but I'm suspicious.
Popularity: 20
Gelatin is a clear, water-soluble substance obtained from animal bones, hooves and connective tissue; boiled until they reach a jelly-like consistency.
Popularity: 26
It's a thickening/hardening agent created by boiling animal (bovine) bones.
Popularity: 1
Gelatin is made from the collagen in cow or pig bones, hooves, and connective tissues. all animals are made up of about a third collagen. Manufacturers grind up these parts, chemically treat them to break down the cellular structure. this releases collagen. then the whole mixture is boiled. as a res…
Popularity: 4
Gelatin (more commonly known by it's common consumer name, Jell-o) is a water based jelly-like substance that is easily flavoured and formed into different shapes. It can be bought cheaply at most supermarkets or corner stores.
Popularity: 9
Carbonation can make gelatin taste 'fizzy.' When carbonated beverages are heated, they lose some fizz. When they are mixed and refrigerated with gelatin, they add bubbles, some 'sparkle' and a 'fizzy' taste to it.
Popularity: 1
most sweets are made out of gelatin because otherwise they would be made out of whale meat^^ [edit]Actually it's probably because gelatin is extremely cheap and easy to get hold of so the alternatives (which are plently) such as Agar-Agar, Biobin, Guar, Xanthan and Carob fruit which have the same ef…
Popularity: 3
Hydrolyzed gelatin is an incomplete protein. However, it is one of the best sources of the amino acids (protein building blocks) that comprise collagen.in Hydrolyzed gelatin there are These glycine, proline, hydroxyproline, lysine and hydroxylysine.
Popularity: 10
organic
Popularity: 0
happy rainbows! This Monkey that amswered above is not a help to anyone
Popularity: 4
Pineapples contain an enzyme called bromelain. THis enzyme stops the Jello from jelling because it breaks dowm the strands of protein that form Jello. Cooking the pineapple denatures this enzyme therefore preventing it from stopping the Jello.
Popularity: 23
i don't know yet yes, gelatin contains 0.5% Tyrosine. (amino acid) ( www.gmap-gelatin.com/about_gelatin_comp.html )
Popularity: 21
Answer There is a company, Glatech that produces a gelatin powder that is kosher. Is this helpful . Consider Gift-Malaysia.com to buy halal gelatin online. They have different packing and from Muslim source.
Popularity: 26
yes
Popularity: 0
C102H151039N31
Popularity: 3
Because it dehydrates.
Popularity: 0
Centrum products are not Kosher or Halal. The gelatin in the Centrum vitamin products may be from a porcine source and no religious procedure (Kosher or Halal) has been performed.
Popularity: 1
Normally Gelatin is not considered Kosher but certain Kosher companies produce specially made Kosher Gelatin.According to Rabbi Dr. David Sheinkopf, Gelatin IS kosher. Author of "Gelatin in Jewish Law" (Bloch 1982) and "Issues in "Jewish Dietary Laws" (Ktav 1998) Rabbi Sheinkopf provides an in depth…
Popularity: 4
Assuming there are not pieces of fruit or anything inside of it, I would say so.
Popularity: 5
Gelatin is a thickening/hardening agent created by boiling animal (bovine) bones. Glycerine is from animal fats
Popularity: 2
Gelatin is a colloid.
Popularity: 14
ANSWER 1 US teaspoon of powdered gelatin = 4.1 g
Popularity: 1
They use human based gelatin as far as i am concerened.
Popularity: 40
Gelatin is a hydrocolloid which is formed of collagen. It is entirely protein and a natural product extracted from the bones or skin of animals (usually pig or cow but it is also possible to extract from chicken and fish). When you use leaf gelatin, it is necessary to soak it in cold water first. T…
Popularity: 2
No- it's a homogeneous mixture.
Popularity: 0
Gelatin is a combination of several animal products, however its organic subsitute, Hypromellose has a distinct chemical formula.
Popularity: 1
Everything in excess is bad for health. Common gelatin made of boiled bones is not that healthy. Sugar-free jello contain aspartame (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aspartame) so one may or may not find it very healthy either. Some plant-based gelatin is vegan though so this type is unquestionably h…
Popularity: 21
7.2 grams, or 1 tbs One package (envelope) of gelatin will gel 2 cups of water (America) or 500 ml (Europe). Almost the same, and is approximately 6 sheets of gelatin (Europe).
Popularity: 9
Gelatin is made from pigs and/or cows. It's made from boiling the skin, tendons, and bones with water.
Popularity: 0
the other answer didnt answer the queston...the answer is yes flaming hot cheetos do have gelatin...
Popularity: 1
I weighed some and found it to be exactly 20Gram
Popularity: 4
The gelatin in Advil Liqui-Gels is made from the collagen of animals. The animals connective tissue, skin, and bones are used to make gelatin.
Popularity: 0
Not necessarily. Gelatin is a natural protein that comes from the skin and bones of animals. Usually gelatin is taken from pigs or cows, but may also be made using chicken or fish.
Popularity: 6
The gelatin in Jello comes from animal products. Most gelatin comes from the skin, tendons, and ligaments of a pig, but sometimes cows are used.
Popularity: 0
Yes. Gelatin is listed fourth on the ingredient list of Starbursts.
Popularity: 7
No. Gelatin is a colloid. Colloids are a reduction of larger particles to colloidal sizes. Also the condensation of smaller particles into colloidal particles.
Popularity: 1
Before it jells, you can combine with cool whip and place it in a pie pan. Chill it in the fridge for a while and you have a pie. Gelatin can be used in many ways in cooking. In its purified form, it has no color or flavor, and so Gelatin can be flavored with any number of different additives and c…
Popularity: 137
You use Gelatin as a gelling agent. This is used with foods, for example to make an aspic with fish, or vegetables. To use the Gelatin you mix it with meat stock, or a consomme. The Gelatin is added to the liquid and the solid meats, or vegetables are then suspended in the liquid.
Popularity: 0
yes Gelatin will have a positive biuret test. this is because it has an amide group which bends over the copper ion giving the colour pink or violet off to the visual eye.
Popularity: 6
yup it sure is...
Popularity: 0
No unless a special gelato has been made with gelatine in (unlikely- gelatine makes things turn into jelly). Gelato is just the Italian word for ice cream.
Popularity: 0
meat often pigs or cows or something like that
Popularity: 1
Jello made from Splenda does not set up as well as when made with real sugar.
Popularity: 3
Yes, it does. Pork Gelatin is used in marshmallows, skittles, jello, etc...
Popularity: 3
The kosher gelatin in yoplait is beef derived so you should call the company of the product before you eat the food products and ask if its vegetarian.
Popularity: 9
Sugar is not pork. Sugar comes from sugar cane. Gelatin is made from collagen made from animal by-products, which could be from a pig.
Popularity: 1
its gelatin yo
Popularity: 3
Yes, ants can eat gelatin and it will not harm them. An ant likes the taste of sweet gelatin powder and will willingly consume it.
Popularity: 1
Gelatin from pigs is haram: uncalled for.
Popularity: 5
gelitin is used in marshmellows,jello,they label it as pectin but really its the same thing and is used in jams marmalade and jelly.pectin again is used in ice cream sometimes too.
Popularity: 1
Gelatin is largely a healthy food due to its low calories, ease of digestion, and a lack of cholesterol. It is commonly eaten as a light snack or dessert.
Popularity: 0
Kosher gelatin is made from fish bones, or from the bones and hides of animals that were slaughtered properly. Gelatin is kosher when it is produced in a factory that has the proper certification from a respected kashrut organisation.
Popularity: 3
DEZHOU HUALUDE is a China gelatin manufacturer who are a 12 years alibaba golden member and can supply industrial gelatinin low price. my email is vance@hualude.com, you can send email to me and then I will advise our alibaba page to you.
Popularity: 7
In general any gelatin in a food or supplement label that isn't listed as "kosher gelatin" is most likely not kosher. Kosher gelatin is much more expensive that non-kosher gelatin so most manufacturers will not use it unless they want to create a kosher product. If you want to make sure then it is b…
Popularity: 3
Yes. Do it.
Popularity: 0
These do not contain gelatin: Sour Patch Kids Swedish fish (one of the few 'gummy' candies that doesn't contain gelatin) Hershey's Milk Chocolate (most chocolate candy doesn't contain gelatin) Life Savers (not the gummy ones), Jolly Rancher, and most hard candies Different manufacturers may use…
Popularity: 4
Charles B. Knox invented gelatin(e).Check out this site! www.bigsiteofamazingfacts.com/history-of-gelatinNo, he didn't. He just invented powdered gelatin.
Popularity: 6
One small pack of jello makes 4 1/2 cup servings, or 2 cups of jello. The large pack makes twice as much.*19 jello shots in the paper cups from a small box of jello
Popularity: 1
The Gelatin used in Skittles is not suitable for vegitarians or Kosher. ;] Gelatin is made by boiling crushed animal bones (usually bovine) in water and drying the jelly that is created from the dissolving bones. I'd also consider that if your skittles contain E120 (cochineal) or shellac, that the…
Popularity: 3
No; it is made from the connective tissues inside animals. "No" is too simplistic an answer. If you are you are a vegetarian for health reasons, then you must weigh the risk of the gelatin verses the benefits of the medication. If you are a vegetarian for moral reasons, then you must take into ac…
Popularity: 5
Yes, gelatin can be made from plants and if it's made from kosher animals it's also kosher. The reason it has a stigma of no Jew will go near it is because it's usually made from pig or a kosher animal that did not get properly slaughtered rendering not-Kosher. It should also be noted that some Rabb…
Popularity: 4
I don't believe it has much nutritional value; some say that it helps the hair and nails. It is not vegetarian (I noticed this question is in the vegetarianism category). I tried it myself on my hair by adding it to Avocado mask and the result was like magic. Thicker stronger less frizzy and more sh…
Popularity: 8
No... Pectin is a thickening agent made from fruit sugars. Gelatin is a thickening/hardening agent created by boiling animal (bovine) bones.
Popularity: 1
none really. non-vegan vitamins use gelatin so do marshmallows and other foods as a sort of thickener, not a suppliment.
Popularity: 3
No... Gelatin is thickening/hardening agent created by boiling animal (bovine) bones and isn't needed in soft drinks.
Popularity: 4
Different types and grades of gelatin are used in a wide range of food and non-food products: Common examples of foods that contain gelatin are gelatin desserts, trifles, aspic, marshmallows, and confectioneries such as Peeps and gummy bears. Gelatin may be used as a stabilizer, thickener, or textu…
Popularity: 6
gelintine goes into loads of foods, mostly chewey sweets !
Popularity: 2
No , it is a protein .
Popularity: 104
Both "Yes" and "No" Those who take religion too far can make anything haram. The ingredients that are used to make the gelatin are from either beef or pork, however the molecules undergo many changes from the "pork" state, to the gelatin that you get. The enzymes are there to accelerate the change …
Popularity: 4
Gelatin is a thickening/hardening agent created by boiling animal (bovine) bones in water.
Popularity: 1
No. However it can help you pass a drug test. Your supposed to take it an hour before and it will coat your urine and you'll pass, but your urine will be clear causing suspicion, so u need to take vitamin B after ingesting to put color in your urine.
Popularity: 2
They are all colloids.
Popularity: 0
yes but u have to cook at 350in the sun for three hours then put chocolate
Popularity: 5
Yes
Popularity: 1
organic
Popularity: 0
good
Popularity: 3
In some, there is, though sometimes it can be other kinds of Gelatin such as Beef Gelatin.
Popularity: 2
No - its derived from the collagen inside animal skin and bones. Gelatin is not vegetarian but agar and pectin are.
Popularity: 6
A thickening/hardening agent created by boiling animal (bovine) bones.
Popularity: 6
by irridation sterilization.
Popularity: 1
They are all colloids. they are all colloids
Popularity: 0
No, Gelatin is not a source of high quality protein. Sources of high quality protein are eggs, turkey breast, tuna, ground turkey and chicken breast.
Popularity: 0
Gelatin is protein and agar is a carbohydrate. However, they both have a gelatinous texture.
Popularity: 8
Gelatins are a form of collagen which is completely natural and entirely protein - 100% fat free. It provides all 8 of the essential amino acids required by your body to repair itself and grow. It belongs to the family of hydrocolloids, such as guar gum and xanthan gum which are plant or sugar-deri…
Popularity: 2
the enzymes break down the protein chains usually formed by gelatin as it chills into a solid shape. therefore, the gelatin cannot solidify
Popularity: 6
I actually don't know I ve been looking for the answer for a long time
Popularity: 3
3/4 tsp equals 1 sheet gelatine
Popularity: 2
Gelatin is a thickening/hardening agent created by boiling animal (bovine) bones. Is is commonly found in Jelly, Sweets, Tablet/Pill coatings and most jellied foods :)
Popularity: 3
Well - Gelatin is found in marshmellows & gelatin comes from the bones of pigs or cows so marshmellows are non-vegetarian foods & if you've ever seen the smores poptarts- they have gelatin as well because of the marshmellow in it.
Popularity: 2
Yes, the dessert gelatin is a type of colloid. It is a colloid because it can be easily made by adding powder to water so that it congeals.
Popularity: 0
No.
Popularity: 3
Yes it does pig/ pork gelatin....
Popularity: 0
Gelatins are a form of collagen which is completely natural and entirely protein - 100% fat free. It provides all 8 of the essential amino acids required by your body to repair itself and grow. It also contains the other 14 non-essential amino acids. It belongs to the family of hydrocolloids, such …
Popularity: 1