answersLogoWhite
Cars & Vehicles
Nissan Frontier
Car Buying

What states allow you to return a car?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2007-02-15 15:42:15

New cars have a return policy, that is something that you would find out from dealer. Normally its a week or two. There is a lemon law in most states, that you could find out from the governors office in your state. Used cars also a a return policy, that usually is a week. Depending what is wrong with car you can take them to court. I would find out the lemon law and be able to prove the problems. Good luck. Dont think you can return a used car to a personal individual, just sue for damages.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Do you have 30 days to return a car?

There are different laws based on if a car is new or used. In used cars, you need to get any return policy in writing. In new car sales, it also has to be spelled out although some states of lemon laws which allow of the return of defective new cars.


Does Oklahoma law allow you to return a new car?

Oklahoma does not allow a consumer to return a newly purchased vehicle. Once the contract is signed the car belongs to the buyer.


Does Budget Car Rental allow one rentals between Upstate New York and Ontario,Canada?

Budget Car rental has locations in both the United States and in Canada. That includes Ontario where they'll allow you to return a car you rent in New York.


Can you return a used car after purchase in Michigan?

In no state is there a law automatically allowing you to return a car just because you want to (not even if you change your mind the next day). That said, you could talk to the dealer. He doesn't have to allow you to return the car, but he's not forbidden to allow you to return the car either, if you can make it "worth his while" to let you do so.


Can you rent a car in US and return it in Canada?

You can rent a car in the United States and return it in Canada. You just need to make sure that you return it to the same car rental company.


In Florida can you return a used car in 72 hours?

In Florida, the allow allows consumers to return a used car within 72 hours. The contract must be cancelled within 3 days with the return of the car.


Can you return a new car the next day?

You may not be able to return a car the next day if it is not in your contract that you can. A contract is a legally binding agreement and the car dealer is not required to allow you to break it.


Can you return a new car in Virginia?

There is no buyer's remorse law in Virginia. You cannot return a new car unless the dealer will allow you to. They will usually require a fee of some sort to restock the car.


Can you return a new car for another same model new car but just want to upgrade one feature with in 7 days of purchase?

Some car dealers will let a person return a car for the same model with upgrades for a fee within a time limit after purchase. Some states do not allow the car dealerships to offer this feature. It depends on the state where purchased and the dealer.


If I just bought a car and am not satisfied, How long do I have to change my mind.?

it's quite possible. in some states there are laws which allow you to do so. another possibility is that the dealer is having an offer in which you can return the car within a stipulated timeframe.


What is the Federal law for returning a car?

There is no federal law it is done from state to state. Only a couple of states allow you to return a car however there is a catch that allows the dealers to have you sign away your return rights. Very few people even know what they are signing and what rights they are agreeing to give up.


How long do you have after purchasing a new car to return if the car got technical problems?

You have no time to return a car purchase. You have a warranty on a new car to cover problems. If the problem can not be resolved then some states have a "lemon law".


If you buy a new car in North Carolina and find within the first day after your purchase that there are major problems with the car can you return the car to the dealership?

Some states have "Lemon Laws" that allow the return of a defective vehicle within a certain specified time limit. Since the car is brand new, any defects would surely be covered by the new car warranty ... they dealer has to fix the problems anyway, and for free.


Is there a 48 hour grace period to return car?

There is a 48 hour grace period to return a new car in most states in the United States. Used cars are often sold as-is without any type of warranty.


How many days legally do you have to return a car and get your money back?

Depends on you state laws. In most states you have no legal right to return a car unless there is fraud involved.


What is the law for returning a purchased car in Illinois?

If the car is on a loan, you can return the car to the creditor that has granted you a loan on it. If you have paid off the car or bought the car paid off then you can't return the car to the dealership or owner unless it states you are allowed to do so. I tried returning a car that I paid off and was allowed to return it because it did not follow the lemon laws. If it had no problems, then no I couldn't return it and get my money back on it.


Can you have two owners on a car title?

Most, if not all, states in the US will allow joint ownership on a car title.


Can somebody who has a one way car rental use the car for a return journey?

It depends on who is providing the rental car. Some companies allow return trips whereas others do not. Ask the company you are planning to rent from for the most reliable information.


In Washington state how long do you have to return a car?

You need to be more specific in your question. Return a car to a dealer, return a leased car, return a borrowed car to a friend, return a rental car?


If you buy a used car in Georgia and want to return it how many days do you have?

If you purchase a used car in Georgia and want to return it, you may not be able to do so. Some dealers will let you return it but it is completely up to them and what their contract states.


Can you return a car you bought 3 days ago to the dealer the financing has not gone through yet it is in the state of wv?

No the dealership is under no obligation to allow a consumer to return the car. Once the contract is signed the car has a new owner and belongs to the buyer.


Can you file married filing separately on your state return and file married filing jointly on your federal return?

It depends on the state. Some states allow it, others don't. In some states, there might be exceptions if the spouses are residents of different states.


If the car dealer misleads you car you return a used car?

No, you can not return the car.


All states except one allow you to cross into them by car without stopping Which one stops you and asks what is in your car?

California


Can you renegotiate a car lease payment?

in most US states - not unless the creditor will allow it.


Still have questions?