Houston

The largest city in Texas which was founded in 1836 and incorporated in 1837

6,566 Questions
Car Selling
Used Car Buying
Houston

How do you get a car dealer's license in Texas?

From anywhere in Texas, contact the Texas Department of Transportation or go to their Web site. If you plan on doing any financing or arranging financing you also need a license from the Office of the Consumer Credit Commissioner. For a retail used car dealer, you must pay a $500 fee plus $45.30 per metal dealer plate desired (most small dealers only need a couple of these), obtain a $25,000 surety bond or have an irrevocable bank letter of credit for $25,000, and you must own or lease property with an office (seperate from and with no access to any residential living quarters on the property), at least 5 paved parking spaces, and a sign with six-inch letters. You must also have a working land line phone installed in the office, have a desk and at least two chairs, and there are other provisions to get your license application approved. For a wholesale license, you must have an office, but need not have specific parking spaces for the sale of vehicles on-site. But with that license you can only sell to other wholesalers or dealers. I think it may also be permissible to sell to out-of-state retail buyers, other states do this, but you may wish to check with DPS before trying that.

406407408
Banking
Criminal Law
Houston

What is the purpose of a forgery?

To make buyers believe they are getting an original work of art

---------------------

Also, forgery is a crime and all countries have laws that prohibit citizens from indulging in such activity. People involved in forged activities can be jailed and fined heavily by the law. To be simple: Forgery is an illegal activity and should not be done.

328329330
Texas
Road Distance
Houston
San Antonio

How far away is San Antonio from Houston?

3 hours 6 minutes by car

307308309
Car Selling
Used Car Buying
Houston

How do you get a used car dealer's license?

Used Car Dealer's Licenses

This will depend on your state.

For example, to become a licensed car dealer the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles requires a dealer applicant to take a six hour preparation class to become a licensed car dealer. There are 2 main types of dealers, retail or wholesale. Retail Dealers have more restrictions as liability which required more dealer insurance as well as a larger dealer bond, but retail dealer are the only dealers allowed to sell to the public. Wholesale dealers may only sell to other dealers.

The applicant must take the class and pass a 40 question test, then submit an application and a bond, then submit photos and pass an on-site inspection. Upon review the DMV inspector will review the dealer's application and then approve the tempory license. Often the largest struggle for those attempting to start a retail dealership is the zoning for the city or county to allow a dealership at the chosen location. Make sure that the location you choose is zoned properly and/or will be an acceptable location for a retail dealership. Rarely do wholesale dealerships struggle getting proper zoning permission from the government.

Once a would be dealer passes the test they must prepare for DMV approval from the inspector. To prepare the following tasks must be done. The applicant must produce 11 photos 1)building 2)outside sign 3)display area 4)office 5)business license 6)resale permit 7)telephone 8)inside signs 9)locked cabinet 10)checkbook 11)dmv dealer book

Then the applicant must submit: zoning approval letter, OL902 certificate of class completion, TSM888 business license resale permit ficticious name statement telephone listing livescan fingerprint card personal history questionaire completed dmv dealer application bond in the name of the owner / dealership.

Temporary license can be granted within 30 days permanent license can be granted within 120 days.

Here is more input and advice:

  • You may need to call your state tax office.
  • In Tennessee a person wishing to obtain a "Motor Vehicle Dealer's License" must apply for one through the State Department of Commerce and Insurance, Motor Vehicle Division. They have a list of requirements that can be printed from their website. Requirements include: having a building with office furniture and a business phone, a display area large enough for 15 vehicles, a sign, liability insurance, a garage facility or Service Agreement with a local repair garage, and a surety bond or letter of credit for $25,000. The Dealer License Fee for used cars is $200.
  • I am in the process of opening a used car dealership in California. You go to the DMV and get all the required forms. Go to the county office to apply for a business license and a fictious name permit. Then contact the Franchised Tax Board to get your resale #. Secure a $50,000 used car bond (each state is different). Secure your location because you have to show proof of lease to the DMV.
  • In California, you can't have two different dealerships with the same address if your thinking about sharing a place with another dealer. You can't share,a business address with any other type of business period. The front door of your office must be facing outside.
  • As far as I know, most states require a sales office and have a required size. Must be inspected by the DMV before a license is issued.. NC is now requiring a DMV training class that must be done before they will even accept an application.

Indiana wholesale dealers can get licensed by first renting an office in a complex already approved for this purpose by the Indiana Secretary of State. You do not have to be an Indiana resident to qualify for this license. In addition to the office rental you will be required to have a liability insurance policy for the business and a $25,000 Bond. There is no class but you will attend a one hour meeting with a state inspector. Occasionally the inspectors require an audit of your documents and will meet at your rented office. To find one of these facilities simply search for Indiana wholesale dealers and a number of brick and mortar properties come up. Careful though, there are scammers. Once licensed as Indiana wholesale dealers the licensees can register to buy and sell cars at auction in all 50 states and in other countries worldwide. The four license plates issued to Indiana wholesale dealers with this license are legal in all 50 states as well.

These Indiana licenses will only allow you to sell to other dealers and wholesalers ONLY. You cannot sell retail to the consumer from your home or on the Internet. Investigate any "licensing for a fee" with the dealer licensing board in YOUR state.

These Indiana companies don't really make that very clear. You could get in a lot of legal hot water by not knowing the laws in YOUR state for buying and selling cars in YOUR state where you are making transactions. The State of Indiana could also get involved if you violate the guidelines of your Indiana license. ALL state statutes (laws) level hefty fines and in some cases jail time for violations.

As an example; Wal-Mart may be have its corporation licensed in Delaware (most companies do) but it MUST follow the laws in all the states where it ACTUALLY does its business transactions. If it doesn't, any state where it does business will take action.

As a dealer doing transactions in a state other than the one you're licensed, you MUST do the same; i.e. follow the laws and licensing statutes of the state where the transaction actually takes place... the location of the product (car) being sold. Selling on the Internet does not absolve you from licensing in the state your doing transactions.

One of the Indiana companies has a "retail" package. You cannot use a retail license in Indiana to make retail transactions in your state if the vehicle is not located in Indiana. The Internet is not a place, its a form of advertising just as classified ads. Verify this with your state licensing board. Protect yourself.

304305306
Texas
Houston

How far is Montgomery Texas to Houston Texas?

Depending on the route you take, 55.4 miles (about 1 hr and 5 min).

285286287
Texas Rangers
Clothing
Texas
Houston

What is a Texas tux?

Texas Tux is tuxedo worn with jeans, cowboy boots, and cowboy hat. Often the cummerbund is replaced with a large belt buckle as well. Hence, only the tux shirt, jacket, and bow-tie remain from the original tuxedo.

211212213
Fuel Economy and Mileage
Houston
New Orleans

How much gas from Houston TX to New Orleans LA?

The average American road automobile in average condition and using average pre trip maintenance will consume 20 miles per gallon or about 17.4 gallons of fuel to cover that 348 mile drive one way. Exceptions to the average must be made for vehicles towing trailers, 18 wheelers, Winnebagos, natural gas, hybrid electric and electric powered vehicles.

205206207
Houston

How many Iranians live in Houston?

iN 2006 it was 6287

203204205
Houston

How many hours is Lake Charles LA to Houston TX?

MapQuest estimates the driving time as 2 hours and 23 miinutes.

177178179
Texas
Driving Times
Houston

How many hours drive from Houston to Amarillo Texas?

MapQuest estimates the driving time as 9 hours and 41 minutes.

193194195
Houston
Mindless Behavior (band)

Where to get mindless behavior VIP passes for Houston?

scream tour website!

191192193
Texas
Driving Times
Houston

How many drive time hours from Oakland California to Houston Texas?

Google Maps estimates the drivin time as 30 hours.

187188189
Houston

How far is Houston TX from Victoria TX?

It is 186.60 miles according to MapQuest.

169170171
Tubal Ligation
Mexico
Houston

What is the best route from Nogales to Nuevo Laredo Mexico?

Probably the fastest way would be to cross the border into Nogales, Arizona, take I-19 North up to Tuscon, I-10 East to San Antonio, bypass San Antonio by taking I-410 WEST, then I-35 South to Laredo, Texas and cross the boarder back into Nuevo Laredo. It's around 1100 miles and should take you about 15 hours if you average 72 mph. Bon Voyage.

167168169
Texas
Road Distance
Houston

What is the driving distance between Cypress TX and Houston TX?

It is 269.80 miles according to MapQuest.

155156157
Travel & Places
Distances and Travel Times
Houston
Mobile AL

How many miles is it between Mobile Alabama and Houston Texas?

The driving distance is 468.08 miles (753.29 kilometers).

The flying distance is 442.52 miles (712.17 kilometers).

153154155
Driving Times
Houston
Memphis

How long to get from Memphis TN to Houston TX?

MapQuest estimates the driving time as 9 hours and 25 minutes.

143144145
Houston
Road Distance
St. Louis

How far is St. Louis MO from Houston TX?

IIt is 839.89 miles according to MapQuesty.

133134135
Houston
New Orleans

How long does it take to get from new Orleans to Houston Texas?

To my calculations it takes 1 second in light speed to get to Texas if they ever make a good enough rocket fast enough ok bra? tick yes if you found this information helpful.

137138139
Snow and Ice
Houston

Will it snow in Houston in the winter of 2011-2012?

Yes lots of snow!!!

135136137
Bermuda
Flight Times
Houston

How long does it take to fly from Houston to Bermuda?

Really to fly from Houston to Bermuda it will takes 4 hours

115116117
Driving Times
Distances and Travel Times
Houston
Mobile AL

How many long does it take to get from Mobile Alabama to Houston Texas?

Roughly seven.

133134135
Road Distance
Houston
Baltimore

How many miles is it between Houston Texas and Baltimore Maryland?

It is 1,446 miles according to Google Maps.

131132133
Texas
Driving Times
Houston

How much time does it take to get from Houston to Katy Texas?

MapQuest estimates the driving time as 34 minutes.

129130131

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.