answersLogoWhite

0

📱

Microsoft Excel

Excel is a spreadsheet application developed and distributed by Microsoft Corporation for computers using the Microsoft Windows and Mac OS X operating systems. It features graphing tools, chart wizards, calculations, formatting options, and pivot tables.

9,788 Questions

What are some of the advantages of using various Formatting techniques in your spreadsheets?

Some of the advantages of using various formatting techniques in a spread sheet are that one can present information better, and in a more attractive format. This includes the use of charts, graphs, and arrows.

In Excel how do you add a percentage sign to a list of numbers If you format the numbers it multiplies them all by 100. If you just want to add the percentage sign without changing the values?

Change the formatting of the percent. Right click> Format cells >Custom> 0.00"%">OK. By changing the % to "%" it is changing the percent to a text character instead of an action/formula.

It is not that they are multiplied by 100. Remember that 1 = 100%, so if you format 1 to percentage it becomes 100%, not 1%. .01 is 1%. There is a trick that you can do. What you really want is to have all the numbers you have to be divided by 100, and then format them to percentage. This is what you do:

Type 100 into a blank cell. Select the cell and do a copy, whether you use the menu, Ctrl - C, the toolbar or one of the other methods. Then select the cells that you want to divide by 100. Then go to the Edit menu and choose Paste Special. A large dialog box will appear. In the Operation section click the Divide option. Then click OK. The numbers you have selected will all be divided by 100. Then format them to percentage. So if you want the number 20 to show as 20%, after dividing it, it will be .2 and then 20% after formatting.

What is the breakpoint in Excel?

In excel it is the lowest value for a specific category or series in a lookup table.

Who was Jimmy Bishop who wrote the Christmas column made famous by Andy Williams Why is it called a column Was it published somewhere If so when and where?

Jimmy Bishop, born 1907 New Jersey was a journalist with his own column and a prolific author.

He wrote his christmas columns for a newspaper and this has been made more famous by Crosby, Andy Williams and Elvis Presley

What happens when you press the spacebar to clear a cell does it enters a blank character?

Yes it does. The result of this is that the cell is not actually blank, which can have significance for some functions, such as COUNTA for example.

What is the default active cell upon launching ms exel?

Cell A1 in Sheet1. A1 will also be the active cell in all other sheets.

How do you alphabetize words on Microsoft Excel?

You will be sorting. So an up or down arrow is the symbol used, depending on which way you want to sort, such like A to Z or Z to A order.

How to open Excel file in dos editor?

A DOS editor is not capable of reading a standard Excel file. An Excel file must be opened with Excel or some application that can read Excel files. Text editors are not capable of doing that. They are designed for working on things like text files.

If you have a standard Excel file and save it as a text file, then text editors can open them. All that will be in that is pure text, and not things like formulas and calculations and formatting etc. When you are saving as a text file, save it with a txt extension and most text editors will be able to open it. How you specifically do it will depend on the particular text editor you are using.

An electronic spreadsheet uses a computer to perform what?

Spreadsheets perform numerical analysis and manipulation, which covers things like calculations and statistics. Spreadsheets can also do things like create charts.

What does Excel freeze panes options do?

In Microsoft Excel, the Freeze Panes option keeps specific rows or columns visible while scrolling. It creates a separate worksheet area of visible from non-visible areas when scrolled.

What does a selection chart based on?

it based on the type of data one is charting from

What kinds of expenses would you enter in the rows of the worksheet?

Whatever you like, including utilities, repairs, phone bills, etc.

How do you clear all kind of formating in excel to a cell?

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

Use the Edit menu and the Clear command to clear all formatting. You could also use the Paint Format tool and paste from a plain cell onto the cell you want to remove formatting from.

How do you list Microsoft excell in numerical order?

First you select the numbers you want to sort. Then you use the Sort option. It is in the Data menu. You could also click on either of the two sort buttons, one for ascending sorts and one for descending sorts, depending on what way you want to sort them.

What Excel commands is accomplished by double-clicking a column's border to set its width?

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

Best fit.

What does a green arrow in the corner of an Excel cell mean?

A green arrow in the corner of an excel cell means that excel suspects soemthing may be wrong with the formula in a particular cell.

What is a paste link?

A copy of something can be taken from one document to another, in such a way that if it changes in the first document, then the changes will also happen in the documents that the original data was copied to. This is known as a paste link, as the data pasted is still linked to its original source. This can keep data up to date in several documents. This can be between any application, such as figures in an Excel spreadsheet appearing in a Word table, and being update in the table any time they change in the spreadsheet.

How do you make a keyboard shortcut to enter the current date into cell B4 of the Pasadena worksheet in Excel?

There already is a shortcut to do that. Press and hold the Ctrl key and press the semi-colon key. That date won't change if you save it and open the worksheet on another day. If you need the date to be the current date on whatever day you open it, then use the TODAY() function, or else press Ctrl and the colon key every day.

Can you use tally in excel?

the main problem with 'tally' (also known as the 'Gate' system because of it's likeness to a 5-bar gate) is that you tick or enter the values in one spot (or cell) the 5th being the diagonal 'cross' to signify that this set is complete and to start a new 'tally' or set, the total of tallys (counted in 5's) then shows the number of items present. The method is ideal for counting (say) sheep wandering past, or boxes being loaded. It is also useful for tally of more than one type, black sheep and white sheep, red boxes and green boxes etc, thus more than one 'tally' or set may be in progress at a time.

To tally in Excel using a single cell as the 'tally' one must remember that the nature of an Excel cell is that when you enter the second '1' the first is overwritten (that is, assuming you are not retaining the input until 5 '1's are pressed and then pressing ) When the third '1' is pressed then the previous contents are lost etc.

As the main purpose of 'tally' is to make totalling easier it would seem a waste to expend the effort to install and maintain a tally system, this would involve VB code to capture entry into a cell (the current tally), count up to 5 '1's and represent that as a 1111 with a diagonal (bottom left to top right) border, then bar any further entry to that cell until the tally were completed and cleared.

A Spin button, to increment a cell, or a Button which counted +1 to a cell would keep a count, and would require only one cell for it's task (the tally would require one cell for each 5 counted to emulate the manual system)

Alternately the Spin button or Button could set the tally, but that again might require a column (or row) of cells to maintain the tally (symbol) count. If anyone planning to do tally course or excel course i can suggest you one institute which is located both in delhi and noida. It is one of the best institute. Their trainers are well experienced and explain the topic in depth with good anmount of examples. I have also done my solidworks training from here and i really had a great experience over here. so, I highly recommend this institute to everyone.