answersLogoWhite

0

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease or gluten-sensitive enteropathy is an inherited condition triggered by the consumption of cereal grains containing gluten.

500 Questions

Can pets have Celiac Disease?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

We can consider all cats as having Celiac Disease. As obligate carnivores, they do not have the enzymes to digest grains and extract any nutrition. So, the cat simply becomes fat, stresses their pancreas, and will become prone to diabetes.

Cats do best on grain-free foods. Most canned foods do not have grains, but check the labels. Even rice is not doing the cat any good; it is an empty starch.

Dry foods are notoriously full of corn, which many cats are allergic to, and wheat gluten, which is a form of protein a cat cannot digest. Look for "grain free" varieties.

While dogs are omnivores, grains can cause them problems, too. This is not what they eat in nature. After all, no pioneer father came back to the cabin, saying "Those wolves have gotten into the wheat field again!"

It can be upsetting to see how much these more nutritious foods cost. But since they satisfy a pet's hunger, our pets will eat less of these foods. They will not have to go to the vet for bowel and bladder problems caused by their foods, and they will be far less likely to develop a chronic illness from lack of proper nutrition.

Do beers ales lagers contain wheat?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Yes. While most beers and ales use barley as the basis of fermentation. Barley is a member of the wheat family. Hefenwiesen beer is specifically made with wheat and barley, and other beers and ales may also use wheat in varying quantities to bring out different qualities of the brew. Generally all beers and ales contain gluten from either wheat, barley or oats.

Can you eat lentils on a gluten free diet?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

No, legumes do not contain gluten.

Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye.

Can people with celiac disease eat chocolate?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Yes, but use gluten free bread products with them.

What proof does alcohol have to be to light on fire?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

You can not get vodka in the UK that has a high enough percentage to be remotely flammable. Try it for yourself

You hare better off using something like Absinthe that is 70% that is more likely to light.

What does it feel like to have a reaction to wheat?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Symptoms of a wheat allergy or wheat intolerance (not exhaustive by any means): * Arthritis * Bloated stomach * Chest pains * Depression or mood swings * Diarrhoea * Eczema * Feeling dizzy or faint * Joint and muscle aches and pains * Nausea or vomiting * Palpitations * Psoriasis * Skin rashes * Sneezing * Suspected irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)/similar effects * Swollen throat or tongue * Tiredness and lethargy * Unexplained cough * Unexplained runny nose * Watery or itchy eyes See http://www.wheat-free.org/wheat-allergy.html

What oil do you use to fry shrimp?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Cannola oil, or virgon olive oil seafood is best cooked at high temperatures so it's best to use oils that can take the heat. peanut oil is an eg of one as well as olive oil.

What is diagnostic tests?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Certain self administered tests can be done and interpreted by any layman. The classic thermometer is a device used to take the body temperature. Another is the drug store blood pressure cuff. One can take one's blood pressure to keep check on certain conditions such as high blood pressure.

These simple measures will help doctors because the baseline of these tests can be very closely monitored by the patient who can call if the result is abnormal.

What are the reactions of celiac disease?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Some symptoms of celiac disease is throwing up, diarrhea, weight loss, rashes. Some people who have celiac disease may not have any symptoms but to find out for sure if you have celiac disease you would need to take a blood test.

What does celiacs do to your digestive system?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Gluten causes inflammation in the small intestines of people with celiac disease. Eating a gluten-free diet helps people with celiac disease control their signs and symptoms and prevent complications.

Can celiac carriers be detected?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Short answer: no.

A parent may correctly identify an intolerance to gluten (and this is often the case as the disease is notoriously under-diagnosed by doctors and there are many misconceptions about it), but to correctly identify Celiac disease requires medical testing, either blood, biopsy or genetic assay tests.

On the other hand, since gluten intolerance and Celiac disease have the same treatment, a diet excluding certain grains and grain products, and there is no medicine or cure for the disease, the diagnosis is of limited value.

Going off gluten can make the disease harder to diagnose, but if you don't have access to testing or your doctors are uncooperative, and taking your child off gluten improves their health, then it's the right thing to do whether or not it's Celiac disease.

Which alcohol does not contain barley?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Generally, wine is just grapes, yeast, and some sulfites. It's always a good idea to check with the manufacturer though when dealing with food allergies. Also, tequila is usually safe.

Is natural flavor gluten free?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

This is one of the trickiest ingredients to figure out. Natural flavoring isn't just one ingredient, it usually includes multiple ingredients and chemicals. So it is not for sure in what products it may be gluten free and in what products they aren't. But the only way I can know for sure is if Natural Flavor is listed on a certified gluten free product then it is for sure gluten free. Otherwise be careful when you see this ingredient in products you eat.

What is the occurrence rate of celiac?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

About 1.3% of the population are born with the condition, the chances of inheriting the disease from a Celiac parent are unknown because the genetic triggers for the disease are not fully understood, though at least two have been identified.

How do you become a coeliac?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

It's Genetic, comes from your parents gene's

How did celiac disease start?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

I have celiac's disease. I was diagnosed july 16, 2010. I am not sure how i got it, all i know is that my mother carried the genes for celiac's disease. My father also gave blood and he found out he has celiac's disease too.

How is celiac disease spread?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

The cause of celiac disease, which is an inability to digest gluten, a protein contained in wheat and other grains, is unknown. It is not infectious, but it may be genetic. It is more prevalent in Europeans and families of European descent.

Why is a shy girl quiet around her crush then gets loud or talkative?

User Avatar

Asked by 45khnnok

Dear Whoever,

Lot's of girls do that because their scared of making a fool of themselves in front of their crush. Sometimes they get nervous too. I remember I acted like a fool in front of my crush last year and then i would get really scared and wouldn't speak to him. If you want her to talk more, make her feel comfortable and show her you'll like her a lot.

How does gluten cause inflammation?

User Avatar

Asked by EMksA

Gluten is the protein. You get the same partially digested in your stomach. The polypeptides formed in this process go to your intestine. Three polypeptide sequences out of these are notorious. They probably form the antigen antibody complex with the proteins that are present in the brush border of your intestinal villi. This triggers the cellular response in which the lymphocytes migrate to the site. Not to eat the gluten protein is the only remedy for this problem at present. That is not the end of the world, if you can not eat few grains like wheat.

Are cornflakes suitable for coeliacs?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

You would think that rice krispies and cornflakes would be suitable for a celiac (coelliac) who cannot tolerate gluten but unfortunately not. I bought a cheap little handbook from the Celiac Association and if you read packets of ingreadients you will find it has things like 'Malt flavouring' in them which is not allowed because it is a derivative of Barley! You can buy gluten free cornflakes but they don't taste as nice, but better than nothing. Have a look at the Canadian Celia Assoiation , 5170 Dixie Rd, Suite 204, Mississauga, Canada L4W 1E3 www.celiac.ca tel 1-800-363-7296 and I personally find their pocket dictionary fantastic. You would think that rice krispies and cornflakes would be suitable for a celiac (coelliac) who cannot tolerate gluten but unfortunately not. I bought a cheap little handbook from the Celiac Association and if you read packets of ingreadients you will find it has things like 'Malt flavouring' in them which is not allowed because it is a derivative of Barley! You can buy gluten free cornflakes but they don't taste as nice, but better than nothing. Have a look at the Canadian Celia Assoiation , 5170 Dixie Rd, Suite 204, Mississauga, Canada L4W 1E3 www.celiac.ca tel 1-800-363-7296 and I personally find their pocket dictionary fantastic.

Suffering from celiac disease can I eat mars bars?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

If it states " contains Barley malt vinegar" it should be OK.

Does cole slaw contain gluten?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Sometimes. You have to check the label or ingredients list (on a company's website). For example, KFC's cole slaw is NOT gluten free, but last I checked, Chik-fil-A has gluten free cole slaw. Usually the gluten is going to hide in the dressing. So if you are going to make your own cole slaw, check the bottle of dressing for wheat, barley, or rye. If the company doesn't list allergens, then look for ingredients like "natural flavors" or "soy sauce."

Where can you get a list of foods you can eat if you have celiac disease?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

What should I avoid eating and drinking while on a gluten-free diet?

  • Breads and starches:
    • Bread crumbs.
    • Cereals, including muesli, oatmeal, farina, and other hot cereals.
    • Couscous.
    • Crackers, and trail mixes with small crackers.
    • Packaged rice and noodle mixes.
    • Pretzels.
    • Some rice cakes, rice crackers, and popcorn cakes.
    • Wheat or flour tortillas.
    • Avoid all breads, cereals, pastas, baked items, and mixes that contain these grains or ingredients:
      • Barley, bulgar.
      • Cereals with added malt extract and malt flavoring, such as Cheerios.
      • Wheat flours, including white flour, gluten flour, graham flour, high protein flour, and pastry flour.
      • Gluten, vital gluten.
      • Kamut.
      • Oats, oat bran.
      • Rye.
      • Semolina.
      • Spelt.
      • Triticale.
      • Wheat bran or flour, wheat germ, or unnamed starch.
      • Wheat flours, including white flour, durum flour, gluten flour, graham flour, high protein flour, and pastry flour.
  • Dairy Foods:
    • Chocolate drinks, hot cocoa mixes, and chocolate milk.
    • Malted milk drinks.
    • Processed cheeses.
    • Some puddings, ice creams, frozen and flavored yogurts.
  • Fruits and vegetables:
    • Baby food fruits with starch added.
    • Breaded vegetables.
    • Cream soups or vegetables with flour.
    • Fruit jams, jellies, sauces, spreads, or syrups with thickeners.
    • Fruit pies, pastries, and cobblers made with any of the grains listed in the breads and starches section.
    • Some French fried potatoes (especially those in restaurants), and flavored potato chips.
  • Meat and other protein sources:
    • Breaded meat, fish, or poultry.
    • Canned baked beans.
    • Casseroles made with flour or pasta.
    • Chicken, turkey, or other deli meats and roasts made with processed vegetable protein.
    • Meat dishes that include flours listed in the breads and starches section, such as meatloaf, Swiss steak, or meatballs.
    • Meats or meat dishes containing soup base or bouillon made with certain ingredients (in the Checklist for the Patient section).
    • Packaged meats made with flour (such as cold cuts, lunch meats, hot dogs, sandwich spreads, pates, sausages, canned or imitation meats).
  • Fats, soups, sauces, and seasonings:
    • Any soup made with noodles.
    • Certain salad dressings, such as malt vinegar. Read the label before buying the product.
    • Chip dips.
    • Gravies and sauces made with flour.
    • Most canned and dry soup mixes, as well as soup bases or bouillon mixes with yeast or vegetable protein.
    • Rice syrup.
    • Seasoning mixes.
    • Some brands of chili sauce and steak sauce.
    • Soy sauce made with meat.
  • Desserts:
    • All cookies, pies, pastries, and cakes made with any type of flour listed in the breads and starches section.
    • Fruit pies thickened with flour.
    • Ice cream and ice cream cones.
    • Licorice and jelly beans.
  • Other
    • Additives, preservatives, and stabilizers found in processed foods, medicines and mouthwash.
    • Beer, ale, and malt liquor.
    • Cereal beverages
    • Certain imported foods. Imported foods labeled "gluten-free" may still contain wheat starch.
    • Flavored coffees.
    • Medicines that contain gluten. Ask your caregiver if any medicine that you are taking contains gluten before taking it. Vitamins may also contain gluten.
    • Non-dairy creamers.
    • Pickled foods.
    • Some instant natural beverages.
    • Some spice blends such as curry powder, ground pepper mixes, and herb seasonings.
    • Sweets and candies made with certain ingredients

Can celiacs eat sugar?

User Avatar

Asked by Wiki User

Yes if it has not been contaminated with things that have gluten like bread crumbs.