Unanswered | Answered

Kosher Food

~2400 answered questions
Parent Category: International Cuisine
Kosher food is food that meets Jewish dietary laws. Any food can be called kosher food if it adheres to Jewish law. Foods that are considered Jewish aren't necessarily kosher. Kosher food laws are rather extensive, some are derived from the bible and others through rabbinic interpretations over the years.
Kosher Definition of kosher: fit When a food product is considered Kosher, it must be either: 1. An animal deemed kosher in the Bible 2. A food product that comes from an animal by-product deemed kosher in the Bible. Additionally, it must be prepared as outlined by the Rabbis in the Talmud. This …
Popularity: 200
Pareve Foods that are neither meat nor dairy are called pareve (also "parevine") in Judaism. This means that they contain absolutely no meat or dairy derivatives, and have not been cooked or mixed with any meat or dairy foods. The reason behind needing to know if foods are pareve or not is that…
Popularity: 182
Kosher hot dogs are prepared following all the rules of kashrut. Muslims have a similar food process called Halal foods. Answer: Kosher rules that would apply to hot dogs specifically include: The method of killing and bleeding the animal The absence of blood in the mix The absence of meat from…
Popularity: 71
Answer Disney.com provides the following answer: "Kosher dietary needs can be accommodated at most table-service restaurants. Request this service 24 hours in advance at (407) WDW-DINE. In addition, kosher food products are available at select merchandise locations throughout Walt Disney World R…
Popularity: 77
The earliest written text concerning kosher food and food preparation appears in the Bible, specifically the book of Leviticus (ch.11), which lays out all the religious laws. It started when the mandate of the Torah was given to Israel. According to tradition, the Torah was given in 1312 BCE. Ans…
Popularity: 60
"Kosher" refers to the dietary laws prescribed by the Torah (the first five books of the Jewish Bible, which contain the 613 commandments which the Jewish people are required to observe). Kosher foods are those foods which comply with those commandments. Kosher-certified foods are those foods which …
Popularity: 7
Yes; animals such as cows, lamb or chicken are all killed in a humane way -- the throat is slit quickly with a very, very sharp knife that is checked literally before each time it's used. The person doing the slaughtering says a blessing to "consecrate" the act, and to avoid belittling the act. Once…
Popularity: 50
Kosher for passover means no leavening. Kosher for passover food is food that contains NO bread, pasta, crackers, cookies or cake... Also forbidden are beer and whiskey. A more technical answer is that it can't contain chametz - any of the five grains (wheat, barley, oats, rye and spelt) that has co…
Popularity: 26
The ingredients would stay the same, but the kosher mayonnaise would have been produced in a kosher factory under rabbinical supervision. As in, the rabbi visits every so often to make sure that no treif or "unkosher" ingredients are being used in the factory or that no milk or meat products wer…
Popularity: 18
They must eat kosher foods as listed in the Torah (see Deuteronomy ch.14). These are explained in detail in the Talmud-volume of Chullin. Additionally, food must be prepared and handled following kashrut-laws and with kosher ingredients only. Processed foods should be labeled as having had kosher su…
Popularity: 0
Katz's at 205 East Houston Street.
Popularity: 15
Challah is Jewish bread.
Popularity: 3
Iodine is necessary for the thyroid gland to make thyroxine hormone. In case iodine is deficient in our diet, e.g. not eating enough fish and other seafood that contains natural iodine, there is a possibility that we might suffer from goitre. Iodine deficiency can also produce mental retardation and…
Popularity: 14
Answer Iodized salt contains sodium and chloride, which makes the salt; and it contains iodine. This mineral, has been added to salt to help the population get iodine. Iodine helps prevent certain types of brain disorders, mental retardation, miscarriages and goiter. These iodine-related disorde…
Popularity: 25
Answer 1: Jewish Perspective No one changed the rule, because nobody can change what is already written. What people can and do change is how they interpret what is written for use in their lives today. Judaism contains rules about what is "fit" (kosher) to eat and what is the proper (kosher) way to…
Popularity: 22
No. Krill is not kosher. The criteria for kashrut in aquatic species is that they must have fins and scales. Krill are related to shrimp, and have segmented outer shells known as exoskeletons. Most fish with scales are kosher.
Popularity: 20
"Kosher" applies to the Jewish laws regarding what one is allowed to eat, and what not. The specific laws are very detailed, and are unique to different kinds of foods. Jews must eat kosher foods as listed in the Torah (see Deuteronomy ch.14). These are explained in detail in the Talmud-volume of C…
Popularity: 4
Kashrut certification is when a company that produces food gets certified by a recognized Rabbinic organization that monitors the preparation to confirm that all ingredients and processes follow the rules of kashrut.
Popularity: 6
It can be defined as followed. The system of rules for a kingdom.
Popularity: 1
Many Jews eat what is called Kosher food; it is much the same as what other people eat, however, they can only eat fish that have fins and scales and land animals that have split hooves and chew the cud (Deuteronomy ch.14). Fowl have other restrictions. Land animals have to be slaughtered in a certa…
Popularity: 6
No. The bird we know as turkey is a bird native to the Americas. Since the Hebrew people were in the Mediteranean area, they could not have had the bird. It is, however, accepted as a kosher species throughout the contemporary Jewish world.
Popularity: 21
Dairy products and meat products are cooked separately. Fish, with fins and scales are "neutral" or "parve". This tradition dates back to biblical times when the Lord said not to blend or cook a calf or kid in its mother's milk. Separating fish and meat is by Rabbinical teaching, not Torah-verse.
Popularity: 12
Answer All foods except liquids, its very hard to chew.
Popularity: 4
Kosher preparation. The main consideration in kosher food is that all the ingredients must be kosher, and the machinery that the food is processed on should not have been used to make non-kosher foods. Wine is different than food because of a sensitive historical situation. Because idolators used …
Popularity: 14
Religiously observant Jews won't eat any food that is not kosher. The core rules of kashrut (dietary laws) are: * Land animals must have split hooves and chew their cud. * Fish have to have scales and fins. * Birds cannot be amongst those listed as forbidden in the Torah and cannot be hunters/sca…
Popularity: 6
Yes! Jewish apple cake is so delicious! You should buy a lot of it, trust me. I love it so much!
Popularity: 3
There are a lot of no-nos, but here are a few examples: - You may not eat any animal that does not have a cloven hoof and does not chew its cud. Some non-kosher animals are pigs and rabbits. Some kosher ones are cows and sheep. - If you eat anything containing (or cooked with) meat, you may not ea…
Popularity: 19
The diet of religiously observant Jews is made up of Kosher food. However, kosher food is not a style of cooking, it simply refers to food that is prepared and consumed according to 'kashrut'. "Kashrut", which is what Jewish dietary law is called, comes from the Hebrew root Kaf-Shin-Reish, meaning f…
Popularity: 10
Abraham lived many generations before Moses, and thus at the time that Abraham entertained his guests, the Torah, with all its dietary requirements, was not in effect yet. Answer: Where does it say that he served non-kosher food?
Popularity: 34
An average value for the concentration of sodium chloride in sea water is 35 g/L.
Popularity: 0
Velcorin is dimethyl dicarbonate, it is certified Parve Kosher.
Popularity: 24
If a grocery store wanted to carry kosher meat products and sell them as kosher, it would require far more than just a separate slicer. The store would have to have a completely separate section for the kosher meats which includes separate refrigeration, display, equipment including knives and slice…
Popularity: 3
It is following Kashrut, a set of dietary laws (see Deuteronomy ch.14). Meat must be from those land animals which have split hooves and chew their cud (such as beef and mutton) Fish have to have scales and fins. The kosher diet excludes shellfish. Birds cannot be amongst those listed as forbidd…
Popularity: 5
Every ingredient of a kosher food has to be kosher, and the product processed in a plant that has kosher supervision. For a thorough explanation of what makes something kosher, take a look at the question in the related link below. Its also more expensive on the grounds that somebody had to look at…
Popularity: 23
In Beverly Hills, either start at the intersection of Pico and South Beverly Drive, and walk east, OR start at the intersection of Pico and Robertson, and walk west. Check both sides of the street. You'll see more kosher establishments than you can sample, of all styles: Pizza, deli, fish, sausage, …
Popularity: 5
11am to midnight. (KD is down to one store now; only the Ave J location remains.)
Popularity: 1
There could be a possibility that either paint from the ceiling dropped down into your soup, your spoon or fork got wet from paint, or possibly your hands, your taste bud is not working properly, your taste bud isn't used to the soup, or you're just imagining it.
Popularity: 42
The core commands for kashrut are found in the Torah. Their application are a part of the Oral Torah which is documented in the Talmud, and rabbincal clarifications were then added.
Popularity: 56
Contact your local Orthodox rabbi or try the CRC - Chicago Rabbinical Council website at www.crcweb.org That is the main Beis Din and Kosher Agency of Chicago
Popularity: 16
Kosher cookies are cookies that have been made with kosher ingredients. For example, no gelatin from animal sources (so marshmallows must be kosher, which are made with fish or seaweed-based gelatin.)
Popularity: 14
The majority of Jews are Secular or Reform and therefore do eat pork. It's the Conservative and Orthodox Jews that don't eat it. The book of Leviticus that is in the Torah says not to eat it. The same book says to stone anyone to death that works on the Sabbath. Rules made for a people 3 thousand ye…
Popularity: 19
It is considered by Rav Moshe Feinstein zt"l to be kosher
Popularity: 24
Goldberg's Bagel Company & Deli Roswell-Wieuca Shopping Center 4383 Roswell Rd. NE (Wieuca Rd.) Map Atlanta, GA 30342 404-256-3751 Rating (Key) 12/20 Numerous kinds of bagels and onion bialys. Open Breakfast & Lunch daily Attire Casual Payment Credit Cards. Kosher hot dogs. http://www.st…
Popularity: 12
cookies can be kosher, and can be not kosher - depending on whether the ingredients are kosher, and if they were prepared in accordance with Jewish laws.
Popularity: 10
They call this "Torah" or "The Torah," a Hebrew term meaning; teaching, instruction or law. Some call this loosely the law of God. See also the attached Related Link. Answer 2 All the hundreds of mitzvoth (commands), principles and beliefs of the Torah. Though it may have an associated culture an…
Popularity: 8
Nice question ... a lot like "Are you still beating your wife ?" in a way. The thesis of the question is debatable. Obviously, hundreds of thousands of people world wide who observe the kosher laws don't think it's so strict. In my mind right now, there are about 15 different ways I could go in re…
Popularity: 2
Answer There are kosher cookies. To be kosher, cookies (or any processed food) need a stamp from a rabbi stating that no non-kosher ingredients were used (like pig fat) and that the kitchen and utensils were kosher (for example if you used utensils for meat products, they would not be permitted f…
Popularity: 25
Ordinary table salt has a density of 2.165 g/cubic centimeters or about 6 grams per teaspoon. Different grades of salt including Kosher salt, sea salt and pickling salt will very from this depending on factors such as particle size. For precise measurement you should weigh the salt.
Popularity: 2
Yom Kippur is not really "celebrated" but it is perhaps the most important day of the Jewish calendar. On this day, Jews fast from sundown the evening before until nightfall (about 25 hours) and spend much of that time in congregational prayer. This fast includes abstinence from food, drink, bathing…
Popularity: 0
The meat from pigs is not to be eaten by Jews, under the requirements of the Torah. It is listed as one of the unkosher animals. The reason for this is that the Torah specifies that animals to be eaten by Israelites must chew their cud and have split hooves. Pigs don't chew their cud, so therefore t…
Popularity: 53
Jews cannot eat shellfish because the Torah forbids it for Jews (Deuteronomy ch.14).
Popularity: 24
You can get it from local fish. The local fish can spread it killing all the fish which makes all of the local fish sick
Popularity: 1
Judaism's food restrictions were dictated by G-d and are recorded in the Bible, primarily in Leviticus 11 and Deuteronomy 14. The reason for the dietary laws is explicitly stated in the Bible, alongside the details. The reason is: In order to be holy. The reader who rolls his eyes when he sees th…
Popularity: 11
Kosher is a topic that deserves a bit more than one paragraph but basically it means that the food is something Jews have received permission by G-d to eat. If we are to eat fish they must have fins and scales... which would, for instance cut out eel or shark. We cannot eat birds of prey, fish-eatin…
Popularity: 1
Angostura bitters is certified by "NK" which is "National Kashruth". I made a phone call to the Star-K and they have told me that they find this product to be acceptably kosher.Cheers.
Popularity: 23
Kosher food. No mixing of meat and dairy, and no pork or seafood (except fish).
Popularity: 2
Salt Crystals can come in many forms, one such is a cubical formation.
Popularity: 4
Many people incorrectly believe that "kosher" is a style of cooking but this couldn't be further from the truth. Kosher simply refers to foods that are prepared following the laws of kashrut (Jewish dietary laws) which does not dictate the style of foods eaten by Jews outside of prohibiting certain …
Popularity: 43
Some examples of kosher foods are: Jerusalem Extra Virgin Olive oil Nazarene Wildflower Honey from the hills of Nazareth Galilee Starthistle Honey from the plains of Galilee Honey and Hazelnut spread Honey and Carob spread Fresh dates from the Jordan Valley Macaroni and cheese Standing rib r…
Popularity: 0
There are hundreds if not thousands of laws surrounding kashrut (Jewish dietary laws). The key rules are: 1. Animals must have both split hooves and chew their cud. 2. Fish must have scales and fins. 3. Birds must not be hunters/scavengers and must not be one of the forbidden species specified in…
Popularity: 4
There are many rules, but these are the highlights: Meat and milk are not allowed to be prepared or eaten together. Fish and meat is not cooked together or eaten on the same plate. For meat: Only animals that have split hooves and chew their cud are kosher. Only milk from a kosher animal may be e…
Popularity: 4
The chemical formula for salt is NaCl (Sodium Chloride). Na has a +1 charge (Na+1). Cl has a -1 charge (Cl-1). *Since they both have a charge of 1, the formula is balanced.
Popularity: 3
It is considered parve (neutral) and can be eaten with dairy (such as cream cheese and lox). However, some groups do not customarily combine fish with dairy, despite there being no prohibition in the letter of the law. There is, however, a law against combining fish with meat. The two can be had co…
Popularity: 47
Though any dill pickle can be Kosher, in the world of pickles, "Kosher Dill" means garlic has been added to the brine. They're more robust than regular dill pickles, and are often the kind of pickle served with a deli sandwich.
Popularity: 1
Kosher foods are those that conform to the regulations of Jewish religion. These are the rules of kashrut. Reasons for food being considered non-kosher include: the presence of ingredients derived from non-kosher species, or from kosher animals that were not properly slaughtered a mixture of meat…
Popularity: 17
Answer:Peanuts, although peanuts should be only given in moderation due to their high fat content, carrots are actually perfectly fine to give to your parrots as long as they are slightly cooked.Parrots cannot eat chocolate or avocado -- both are toxic. Foods high in fat and sodium, and most dairy p…
Popularity: 35
Kosher foods.
Popularity: 0
The main restrictions are on what you can eat. Below are the restrictions on when you can eat: The prohibition to eat "Chametz" (bread, pasta, etc.) begins in the mid-morning before Passover, but according to Jewish custom we also don't eat Matza that day until the Seder. Therefore between breakfa…
Popularity: 13
Answer 1 In concentration camps food was very hard to get. During breakfast they were given 10 ounces of stale bread with a small piece of Salami, or 1 ounce of Margarine and brown tasteless coffee with NO sugar. At noon soup was given with old Carrots and Rutabagas. Dinner was Stale bread with Mar…
Popularity: 5
Answer From an article in American Jewish Archives Journal: The first course was littleneck clams and a sherry followed by a consommé and Sauterne, a Bordeaux wine. The third course was large and included beef tenderloins with mushrooms, soft-shell crabs, a shrimp salad, potatoes in lobster …
Popularity: 13
No.
Popularity: 5
This is a valid question. Just because Israel is a land "flowing in milk and honey" doesn't make all honey (or milk) kosher. I'm not sure of the answer, but it could be complicated.  ________________________________________  Original AnswerI am not entirely sure, but I would think so s…
Popularity: 27
Israelis eat a lot of felafel and hummus, pita, baba ghanoush, taboule, etc. Israeli salads are also quite popular. Since Israel has a huge emigrant population from Eastern Europe, there are a number of Eastern European dishes, like chicken shnitzel that are also relatively common. For additional …
Popularity: 0
Skittles are not kosher. They are not kosher because they use unkosher gelatin. But the company that created Skittles are now discussing if they want to make a kosher line of Skittles.
Popularity: 1
Foods that Jews eat are known as Kosher food. Kosher food (meat) includes: Lamb beef chiken... ect But not: shellfish & pork mainly. for more Jewish food info go to: http://www.answerbag.com/q_view/993934See the attached Related Link.Religiously observant Jews will only eat food that is certi…
Popularity: 5
Answer You can give Parve or dairy chocolates,perserves in short anything you'd give any one else just look for the - P,U or Kosher label make sure that the item is free of pork residue of any kind Trader Joe's has a selection worth checking out many items are labeled with a K
Popularity: 28
Because God commanded us to (Deuteronomy ch.14) as part of our covenant with Him. The Torah states that keeping kosher sanctifies us (Leviticus ch.11).
Popularity: 4
No, kosher means that food is suitable for religiously observant Jews. Within the laws of kashrut is a category called 'pareve' though. Pareve refers to food that does not contain any dairy or meat products or byproducts (eggs are not considered meat). Dairy desserts can be made dairy-free with non-…
Popularity: 2
The amount of salt in a kosher pickle varies from manufacturer to manufacturer. However, there are roughly 1700 milligrams of salt in an average sized (5") dill.
Popularity: 8
It is a type of wine
Popularity: 1
How did the salt get into the sea you ask? my theory is that the water in the ocean was once just regular water but when fish came and evaporation was first discovered the water gets evaporated into small pieces and turns into small crystals and with all the fish algae and other living organisms liv…
Popularity: 5
In order for food to be kosher it must be prepared with kosher ingredients and following the rules of kashrut. There is no rabbinical blessing involved.
Popularity: 3
Unless you wish to purchase "organic" antibiotic free kosher meat, it's pretty much as sure thing that the kosher meat and poultry you purchase comes from an animal that had been dosed with antibiotics at some point in its life.
Popularity: 4
Ivrit, or you may know it as Hebrew. Kosher really means 'fit'.
Popularity: 13
Latkes are potato pancakes prepared for Hanukkah, a Jewish holiday that in addition to other things, celebrates the 'miracle of light'. This refers to the fact that after the Maccabee Jews defeated the Greek Syrians and came back to light the Menora of the Temple in Jerusalem, there was no more pure…
Popularity: 16
Yes. There are no dietary restrictions during Hanukkah other than keeping kosher, which is observed year-round.
Popularity: 21
Religiously observant Jews will not eat any food that is not kosher. The core rules of kashrut (dietary laws) are: * Land animals must have split hooves and chew their cud. * Fish have to have scales and fins. * Birds cannot be amongst those listed as forbidden in the Torah and cannot be hunters/…
Popularity: 16
There are many kosher cookies. Look at the package to find out whether your favourite ones are kosher.
Popularity: 6
Most days of the year Jews can press elevator buttons. However, on Shabbat/Shabbos (the Jewish Sabbath), Friday from sundown until Saturday after twilight; and Jewish Holidays (a list of which you can find at http://www.answers.com/topic/jewish-holiday), Jews are forbidden from closing electric cir…
Popularity: 4
People of the Jewish religion eat 'kosher" (meaning fit) food because that is the way they were commanded by God in the Tanach.
Popularity: 9
Because God is reported to have said, through strict Jewish interpretation, that only fish with fins and scales can be eaten. Shellfish do not have these properties, so they can't be eaten. Le 11:9 'These you may eat of all that are in the water: whatever in the water has fins and scales, whether in…
Popularity: 12
Pork, just like countless other meats, aren't kosher because pigs don't meet the requirements of a kosher animal as specified in the book of Deuteronomy chapter 14 verse 8. Pigs have split hooves, but don't chew their cud.
Popularity: 21
It is very complicated to explain. Every food has its own rules. Milk cant be mixed with meat, and fish cant be eaten with meat. Most people wait 30 mins after eating dairy before eating meat, and 3 hours after meat before dairy. Even if food is kosher it must be prepared with uncontaminated supplie…
Popularity: 0
Actually, most of the yeast bread that you buy in the store (unless it is Challah) most likely does NOT have eggs. Good Italian and French rustic breads normally do not either. Bread that does have egg in it, such as Challah, may have it to help bind the flour and other parts together, but is likely…
Popularity: 17
"Keeping kosher" means to adhere to the dietary laws of Judaism (see Deuteronomy ch.14). Meat must be from those land animals which have split hooves and chew their cud (such as beef and mutton) Fish have to have scales and fins. The kosher diet excludes shellfish. Birds cannot be amongst thos…
Popularity: 8
Commercial food products that are kosher usually have preservatives.
Popularity: 4
In the Torah (the Jewish Bible) there are many laws which do not make sense to us, such as rules about keeping kosher. These laws are known as chokim. Observant keep these laws not because they seem sensible to us, but because G-d has commanded that we observe them. However, observant Jews also beli…
Popularity: 2
For any food to be considered kosher, it must be made from kosher ingredients.
Popularity: 11
Kosher foods are those that are prepared following the laws of kashrut (Jewish religious dietary law). (Foods that are not kosher are traife.) The only kosher flesh foods are from animals that chew the cud and have cloven hoofs, such as cattle, sheep, goats, and deer; the hindquarters are rarely us…
Popularity: 8