Shiite Islam

The Shiites (Arabic: شيعة‎, Shīʿah) represent the second largest denomination of Islam and represent roughly 15% of all Muslims. Shiites are called Shia, Shi'i, and Ahle Tashi in different parts of the world. The name is a short-form of the phrase Shīʻatu ʻAlī (شيعة علي), meaning "followers", "faction", or "party" of Prophet Muhammad's son-in-law and cousin Ali, whom the Shiites believe to be Prophet Muhammad's proper successor in the Caliphate. Shiite Islam has several major groups including Fivers (Zaydis), Seveners (Ismailis), and Twelvers, with the Twelvers being the dominant sect in modern times.

3,961 Questions