Every vegan is a vegetarian. But not every vegetarian is a vegan. A category dedicated to those who neither consume, nor use, any products of animal origin at all.

1,764 Questions
The Difference Between

What are the differences between vegans and vegetarians?

Vegetarians do not consume any animals and meat byproducts that involve killing the animal, including beef, chicken, turkey, pork, lamb, fish, shellfish, cheese made with animal rennet, and gelatin. They may also avoid products that involve killing an animal, such as fur, leather, silk, and pearls. Some vegetarians do consume animal secretions that do not primarily involve killing the animal, such as milk, eggs, cheese, cream, butter, and honey. And they may use animal products that don't immediately involve the death of the animal, such as wool and feathers.

But, although milk products usually (really almost always) mean that calves are sent to a veal farm in order to provide you with their milk, dairy products are consumed by vegetarians (unless they have rennet, which is part of a calf stomach). Likewise, egg production almost always involves the culling (via suffocation or maceration) of male chicks shortly after birth. A vegan would not eat any of these foods.

There are different kinds of vegetarianism:Lacto-ovo-Vegetarians These types of vegetarians don't eat meat, but do eat dairy products and eggs.

Lacto Vegetarians Lacto vegetarians do not eat meats, but do consume milk and dairy products.

Ovo Vegetarians Ovo Vegetarians do not eat meats, or dairy products, but do eat eggs.

But there is only one kind of vegan.

Vegans refrain from consuming or using any animal products. They also don't use beauty products that contain animal ingredients or were tested on animals. They also don't wear clothes that were made from animals, including leather, fur, wool, silk, and feathers. Vegans are against the exploitation of animals for any reason.

There has and always will be a debate over the extent to which a person must go to be truly vegan - for example, not eating refined sugar that might have used bone char. Or, palm oil because most of it is exported from Indonesia, where orangutans are being killed off to make room for more palm oil farms.

It might be accurate to say that vegans are "strict vegetarians," although motivation and attitude are almost as important as behavior. Veganism is a way of life based on non-violence and respect for sentient life, in addition to environmental and human health concerns. A person might be vegetarian for similar concerns, though not necessarily.


Are Blossom Hill wines vegan?



Where can you buy vegan jazz shoes?

Most large dance footwear supplier or stores will carry vegan (non-leather) jazz shoes, if you ask. There are many brands that make their shoes out of synthetic fabrics or cotton-nylon-spandex blends.

Chocolate Chips

Where can you buy vegan chocolate chips?

Trader Joe's has vegan chocolate chips! As does Whole Foods and several online retailers. Check the packaging on chips at your local grocery store, often times a semi-sweet chocolate chip or baking chips are accidentally vegan.

Selena Gomez

Is Selena Gomez a vegan?

No, Selena Gomez is not a vegan.

Soy Sauce

Is soy sauce vegan?

Yes, it is. Soy sauce is just fermented soybeans.


What is a recipe for vegan Banoffee pie?

This is a lengthy recipe. But it really is easy to prepare. It is always enjoyed.

For the oven roasted bananas:

4 very ripe bananas

To make the crust: freeze about a cup and a half of pecans. After frozen puree the pecans in a food processor. Once that is done mix all of these ingredients together and press into a 9 inch pie pan.

Here are the ingredients for the pie crust.

Add the pecan flour to -

½ cup spelt four

1 Tablespoon firmly packed brown sugar

4 tablespoons earth balance (vegan butter) partially melted

1/8 teaspoon ground cardamom

½ teaspoon ground ginger

Note: if you cannot find cardamom just use a little extra ground ginger.

After you press this into the pie pan, freeze it while you do the rest.

For the filling:

16 oz of non-dairy cream cheese, such a s Tofutti

¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar

About a teaspoon of ground cinnamon

¼ cup dark rum

2 tablespoons corn starch or flour

¼ teaspoon sea salt

For the maple rum sauce:

1 cup maple syrup

4 tablespoons Earth Balance

A touch of sea salt

1 tablespoon dark rum .

Here is the preparation now:

To make the oven roasted bananas preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Once preheated, place the bananas in the oven on a roasting pan and roast for about 15 to 20 minutes. The bananas will look very black. Once done, take them out of the oven to cool. RAISE THE OVEN TEMPERATURE AT THIS POINT TO 400 degrees F.

While the bananas are cooling, you can make the maple rum sauce. In a small sauce pan, combine the maple syrup, the Earth Balance and salt to taste. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Once a boil is reached, reduce the heat to a simmer and stir frequently for about 7-10 minutes. Once this is accomplished remove from heat and add the rum. Let cool to room temperature.

To make the filling: Peel the roasted bananas and remove any strings. Process in a food processor until very smooth. Add the remaining ingredients that are listed above and pulse until well incorporated. You will probably have to scrape the side of your food processor a few times. Pulsing until well-incorporated is important because if you over process, the cream cheese will over process and curdle.

Once this is done, take the crust out of the freezer and pour this mixture into it. Bake in the center of the oven for 10 minutes at 400 degrees F. After 10 minutes have passed, reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees and continue to cook for about 40 minutes. To make sure that the cheesecake is done, a toothpick should come out dry.

Let the cheesecake cool for at least an hour on a rack. Once cooled place in the refrigerator for at least 3-4 hours.

To serve:

Place a piece of "cheesecake" on a plate and add some pecans for decoration. Pour some of the sauce over it. I usually gently re-heat the sauce if it is cool. Another thing that I do is I add a soy whip cream topping.

I realize that this is long. I assure you that the results are amazing.

Thanks to Melissa for this recipe.


What kind of milk do vegans drink?

If you're new to dairy-free living, selecting a vegan milk can be overwhelming, considering that grocery stores and cafes have more tasty plant-based selections than ever before.

Reports from around the world show that consumption of animal milk is on the decrease. Usage of cow's milk in the U.S. has actually dropped a monstrous 40 percent given that 1970, while U.S. sales of dairy-free milk alternatives have actually soared by 30 percent given that 2011. And also Americans aren't the only ones making the button. According to a press release by Innova Market Insights, the worldwide market for plant-based milk is expected to reach $16.3 billion in 2018. This is up from $7.4 billion in 2010.


Are Oreos vegan?

In Europe Oreos are not vegan as they contain whey.

In the US they are generally held to be vegan, but some sugar suppliers may refine their sugar with bone char.


Is almond milk vegan?

Almond milk is vegan so long as it does not have honey added.


Is pasta vegan?

Most pasta is vegan, those which are made with flour and water.

Non vegan pasta is made with flour and egg and is labelled as such. (Egg Spaghetti).

Most pasta sauces are vegan. Check the ingredients to make sure they don't contain chicken stock, cheese or other dairy products.


Are Jains vegans?

Not necessarily, though many are. It is not required, but it would be indubitably hypocritical for a Jain not to be vegan.

The answer is complicated, and is equatable to this question, "Can I be Catholic and also be prochoice and believe in divorce?" That would violate some of Catholicism's central principles, but if that hypothetical person says they are Catholic there is not much anyone could (or should) do about it. Religion is personal and can only be followed as that individual sees as best fit.

The central tenet of Jainism is ahimsa, or nonviolence. To support the slaughter and exploitation of animals, which one is invariably doing if not vegan, would be violating everything Jainism stands for. Some Jains are even fruitarians. Many will brush paths clear before walking, to prevent killing insects. Some refuse to drive because of the insects that will be killed on impact with the windshield.


Is granola vegan?

Some granola is vegan. It is always best to check the ingredients as they will vary depending on the brand and the type of granola. For instance, sometimes a granola will include honey, which is not vegan.


Is Traditional Chex Mix vegan?

Packaged "Traditional" flavor Chex Mix may be vegan. It contains Natural Flavorings of unknown origin. You would have to contact the company to find out if they come from animal sources. The Original Chex Mix recipe as listed on the Chex website is not vegan as it contains Worcestershire sauce, although this could be replaced with vegan Worcestershire sauce or omitted from the recipe.

Dunkin' Donuts

Which donuts at Dunkin' Donuts are vegan?

Depending on the donut, the donuts at Dunkin Donuts may contain milk or eggs. A list of ingredients in each donut can be found at the related link below -


My answer: I checked the allergen chart from their website 2 years ago and found that every single donut from Dunkin contain at least one of these three ingredients: milk, eggs and lard. Therefore, none of their donuts are vegan.


What is a vegan that eats fish?

There is no such thing as a vegan that eats fish. It's like saying what is a teetotoller who drinks alcohol. And in case if you were wondering, a vegetarian that eats fish is called a pescetarian. But a vegan does NOT eat any animals, land or sea, nor do they eat any animal byproducts.


Are Bertucci's rolls vegan?


Sourdough Bread

Is sourdough bread vegan?

Different companies make sourdough bread with different ingredients. Some recipes have butter in them. You have to check the ingredient list to be sure.

Jack Daniels

Is Jack Daniels vegan?



What is an ovo vegan?

There are no ovo vegans.


Is acrylic vegan?

Yes .


Are Fritos vegan?

The original ones are but some of the flavored ones are not.


Is pizza dough vegan?

Generally, no. But it's very easy to make your own vegan pizza dough from a recipe. Use a search engine!

Mental Health
Vitamins and Supplements

How much vitamin B12 is needed daily for vegans?

One micro gram. (1 / 1000,000th of a gram).


Are croutons vegan?

Depends what they are fried in.

Generally croutons are vegan.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.