What are the most recent box sets of magic the gathering cards?
If you mean the standard Block Sets, that would be the Zendikar Block.
Zendikar, WorldWake and Rise of the Eldrazi.
M11 is due to be released July 16 2010.
What is sacrificing in magic the gathering?
The act of sacrificing in magic the gathering has to do with either a creature, land, enchantment or artifact. these are known as "permanents" as, once cast, they remain in play until destroyed, removed or returned to their owner's hand. some cards, (Yawgmoth Demon and Grave Pact for example) require a player or players to sacrifice a permanent at the beginning or end of a turn, either to their benefit or detriment, depending on the details outlined by the card demanding a sacrifice. A player or player then puts the required permanent into his or her graveyard at the specified time.
Sacrificing, as a rule, only refers to cards in play (permanents). when a card demands that a player give up life, the terminology is "pay (variable) life." when a card demands that a player give up cards from his or her hand, the terminology is "discard (variable) card(s) from your hand."
Can you kill 'Progenitus' using 'Damnation' or 'Wrath of God' in Magic the Gathering?
Yes you can.
'Protection from' means the permanant can't be;
Damaged by what it is protected from,
Enchanted/Equipped by what it is protected from,
Blocked by whatever it is protected from, or
Targeted by whatever it is protected from.
Now Progenitus therefore can't be damaged, enchanted/equipped, blocked or targeted by anything - but non-targeting cards can still affect it. The first part of protection will still save it from non-targeted damage, but non-targeted destruction, or bounce, will be able to affect it. Wrath of God, and Damnation, are non-targeted destruction spells, and will work against it.
How do you use a Magic The Gathering split card?
A split card has two possible spells on it (5 if you include a certain Unhinged card), you have to choose which one you will cast, you can't cast both.
So with Fire/Ice, you'll either play the Fire half, or the Ice half, casting them like regular spells.
Can you Sacrifice creatures from your hand for Sacrifice needed cards such as Fling?
In game terms, a 'creature' or 'creature permanent' is something on the battlefield. While in your hand, it is only a 'Creature Card', and while on the stack, a 'Creature Spell'. It only becomes a creature when it resolves to the field. Because of that, when a card requires you to sacrifice a 'creature', it can only ever be referring to something you have on the battlefield.
How much value does a signed Magic The Gathering card gain?
Signed cards can be worth more or less than an unsigned card. Some collectors see signed cards as marked.
Cards signed by an individual other than the artist are usually worth less than an unsigned cards, unless that are signed by a person of note from Wizards of the Coast, like Richard Garfield.
Signed cards are legal in tournaments per the official DCI Universal Tournament Rules (linked), which state under Rule 28- Taking Notes: Cards used in a tournament may not have writing on their faces other than signatures or artistic modifications.
Yes. Shielding Plax only protects the creature from being targeted by the opponent's spells or abilities. Deathtouch does not target.
Mtg do exiled cards return to play tapped?
1st of all it depends on how the card was exiled as to whether it comes back into play at all. If a specific cards requirements are met that causes a card to return to play from the exile zone then the card "comes into play". When this happens if the card returning to play has any "comes into play" effects then they trigger. All permanents that return to the battlefield after being exiled return to play untapped unless the card says otherwise. (example: Polar Kraken)
Hope that helps :)
Does lighthouse chronologist work with two people?
Yes. Imagine Player A is playing Player B, Player A has the Chronologist, who has been levelled up to Lv7 or more.
Player A's turn reaches the end phase. Since it is his own turn, his Chronologist doesn't trigger.
Player B has his turn. When it reaches the end phase, since it is not Player A's turn, the Chronologist triggers, giving him an extra turn after this one.
Player A has his extra turn now. Chronologist doesn't trigger.
Player A has his regular turn. Chronologist doesn't trigger.
So even in a two player game, the turn sequence will go A-B-A-A-B-A-A-B, player A getting a free turn after Player's B's but before his own regular turn.
What creature can destroy a sHambler?
Can you be more specific
but generally a doom blade or divine verdict can do the trick
If it has shroud sunblast angel or day of judgement
or kill it in the persons hand using discard cards
Is there a Magic The Gathering card that will copy target instant?
Yes:
Dual Casting 1Red (2)
Enchant creature
Enchanted creature has "Red, Tap: Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. You may choose new targets for the copy."
Avacyn Restored (Rare)
Echo Mage 1BlueBlue (3)
Creature - Human Wizard (2/3)
Level up 1Blue (1Blue: Put a level counter on this. Level up only as a sorcery.)
LEVEL 2-3
2/4
BlueBlue, Tap: Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
LEVEL 4+
2/5
BlueBlue, Tap: Copy target instant or sorcery spell twice. You may choose new targets for the copies.
Rise of the Eldrazi (Rare)
Fork
Fork RedRed (2)
Instant
Copy target instant or sorcery spell, except that the copy is red. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Revised Edition
Increasing Vengeance RedRed (2)
Instant
Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. If Increasing Vengeance was cast from a graveyard, copy that spell twice instead. You may choose new targets for the copies.
Flashback 3RedRed (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)
Dark Ascension (Rare)
Izzet Guildmage Blue or RedBlue or Red (2)
Creature - Human Wizard (2/2)
(Blue or Red can be paid with either Blue or Red.)
2Blue: Copy target instant spell you control with converted mana cost 2 or less. You may choose new targets for the copy.
2Red: Copy target sorcery spell you control with converted mana cost 2 or less. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Guildpact (Uncommon)
Mirror Sheen 1Blue or RedBlue or Red (3)
Enchantment
1Blue or RedBlue or Red: Copy target instant or sorcery spell that targets you. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Eventide (Rare)
Mischievous Quanar 4Blue (5)
Creature - Beast (3/3)
3BlueBlue: Turn Mischievous Quanar face down.
Morph 1BlueBlue (You may cast this face down as a 2/2 creature for 3. Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)
When Mischievous Quanar is turned face up, copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for that copy.
Scourge (Rare)
Reiterate 1RedRed (3)
Instant
Buyback 3 (You may pay an additional 3 as you cast this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand as it resolves.)
Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Time Spiral (Rare)
Reverberate RedRed (2)
Instant
Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Magic 2013 (Rare)
Sigil Tracer
Sigil Tracer 1BlueBlue (3)
Creature - Merfolk Wizard (2/2)
1Blue, Tap two untapped Wizards you control: Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Morningtide (Rare)
Twincast
Twincast BlueBlue (2)
Instant
Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Magic 2010 (Rare)
Uyo, Silent Prophet 4BlueBlue (6)
Legendary Creature - Moonfolk Wizard (4/4)
Flying
2, Return two lands you control to their owner's hand: Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
What happens if you copy a face down creature with Morph?
The creature will become a nameless, creature-typeless, colourless 2/2 creature, with a converted mana cost of 0. It will not be able to use the morph's flip-up ability, because it is already face-up.
Can monstrosity be used more then once in magic the gathering?
Yes...BUT, Monstrosity's text specifically says 'If this creature isn't monstrous', so if you tried to use it for a second time, it would have no effect.
Take Arbor Colossus, which has 3GGG: Monstrosity 3. If you play that ability once, it will become monstrous and gain three +1/+1 counters. If you tried to play it again, it will see it is already monstrous and will not give any more counters. Even if you activated it twice on the same stack, the first will resolve and make the creature monstrous, meaning the second will fail even though the creature was not monstrous when both abilities were played.
However, with the wording of the question in mind, yes, you are allowed to 'use' the ability multiple times, nothing stops you playing the monstrous ability even if it will have no effect when it resolves.
How do you build a field board for magic the gathering?
A board is not required to play magic the gathering so there are no instructions for making one
If you want to make one for fun or just for looks, the limits are purely your imagination as there are no requirements to use one
Can you use spells or abilities on your own shroud creatures?
Not if the spell or ability calls for you to target that permanent, shroud will prevent you targeting it, even if it's you own creature.
However, effects that don't call for a target can get around this such as 'Choose a creature', 'Whenever a creature', 'Target player sacrifices a creature' or any effect which works én massé with the word 'all' such as Wrath of God.
Examples: Graft, Wrath of God, Conspiracy, Overrun, Diabolic Edict
These examples would all still affect a creature with shroud.
Can instants affect tapped creatures in magic the gathering?
Of course. There is nothing about being tapped that stops a creature being targeted or otherwise affected by a spell or ability, unless specifically stated that they work only on untapped creatures.
Who were the two people who rediscovered Mendel's work in 1902?
Hugo de Vries and Carl Correns were the two scientists who independently rediscovered Gregor Mendel's work on genetics in 1902. They recognized the significance of Mendel's laws of inheritance and helped to establish the field of genetics.
Perhaps you are refering to "Slivers"?
these are moderately powerful creatures, for a moderate price.
however, each one has an effect something like "All slivers gain flying" or "all slivers get +1/+1."
all slivers buff all other slivers. quite a powerful deck, if played correctly.
In Magic The Gathering what instants are good to use with the artifact equipment spellbinder?
Savage Beating + Spellbinder + Escape Artist
play escape artist and spellbinder with savage beating imprinted, equip escape artist with spellbinder, and attack with the unblockable Escape Artist
When enchantments are being used does this count as a spell or an ability?
If the enchantment is being cast and is currently on the stack, it is currently an enchantment spell, so can be affected or countered by anything that works against enchantment spells or spells in general.
If an enchantment has been cast and has resolved to the field as a permanent, then any reusable effect it has that use the stack, are abilities of that enchantment.
Does torpor orb effect leveler?
"Torpor Orb stops a creature's own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that would trigger when a creature enters the battlefield."
Torpor Orb would stop Leveler's ETB triggered ability to occur.
If a creature in Magic the Gathering is regenerated does its kickers stay on it?
When a creature regenerates, it ignores a destruction effect, or destruction from lethal damage, it removes all damage from itself, and it becomes tapped.
There is no other change. Auras and Equips will remain attached, any counters or conditions on that creature will remain, etc. If the creature gained any bonuses from being kicked, then those will remain too.
Think of regeneration as the "Gandalf Bubble". It protects you from damage (the damage never technically reaches through the bubble). Other than tapping you and stopping the damage, it will have absolutely no affect.
^I see where you're going with it, but not an accurate analogy. The damage is still 'dealt', ie, goes through the 'bubble', the damage is not prevented, just removed, as well as the 'lethal damage destruction' state-based effect being ignored. So if anything triggers from or is applied due to the damage being dealt (like Lifelink) then that all still happens.
If a card says add one mana of any color to your mana pool could I add the new colorless mana?
There is no 'new' mana - all they have done is give Colourless mana a symbol to distinguish it from a 'generic mana cost' which previously used the same (1), (2) etc notation.
It is still colourless, nothing has changed. Something that can generate any colour of mana, can still only generate WUBRG.