answersLogoWhite

0

💰

Repossession

Seizure of property bought on credit for which loan payments are not being received. Please note that when asking a car repossession question, it is often useful to include the state that you live in. This will enable people to give you better answers.

11,694 Questions

Can a lien be put on home in Maryland for an unsecured debt?

Yes. That is what judgment liens are all about. A creditor can sue you in court and if successful obtain a lien against your real estate.

Do you still have to get a business license in Nevada?

Every business needs one or more federal, state or local licenses or permits to operate. Licenses can range from a basic operating license to very specific permits (e.g. a permit to sell alcohol). Regulations vary by industry, state and locality, so it's very important to understand the licensing rules where your business is located. Not complying with licensing and permitting regulations can lead to expensive fines and put your business at serious risk.

I live in AZ and I can't afford my car payment any longer what will happen if I surrender the car back?

Depends on how much the car has sunk in value between when you took possession of it and when you returned it. Probably the company will want some money more on top of having the car back. It's far better to talk to the bank or the dealer though rather than waiting until it gets repossessed.

If you filed a chapter 13 then lost your job and the payments got behind can you refile if the court dismisses your chapter 13?


In NC you cannot file again for another 7-10 years. I don't know if that goes for all states or not.  
If you fall behind on 13 payments, you should be able to refile 6 months (180 days) after the dismissal.  
In Indiana, and maybe everywhere, a debtor doesn't even have to wait the 180 days to re-file unless their case was dismissed "with prejudice." If a case was dismissed without prejudice, the debtor can re-file a new case immediately after the preceding case is dismissed. Generally, Courts in Indiana do not tend to consider dismissal due to non-payment a prejudicial dismissal (unless it has happened multiple times, or if the debtor was acting in bad faith in some other aspect of their case). Other states may consider every dismissal for non-payment to be prejudicial, I don't know. Ask an attorney who practices locally. Okay now the legal stuff: Please be advised that nothing in this posting or in any other posting by me or my agent(s) constitutes legal advice. The information provided herein may be or become incorrect, and I do not warrant its accuracy. I am suggesting no course of action or inaction to any person but I am rather merely stating facts as I understasnd them. I warrant no information herein and recommend to all persons to seek face-to-face legal counsel on any questions they may have. *whew*

Judgment a lien against a person don't know what to do with it?

The first step is to record the lien in the local land records to attach any real estate owned by the debtor. You should inquire at the court where the lien was issued to determine how the lien should be recorded. In most jurisdictions the sheriff must record the lien.

What are the repossession laws in Illinois?

There are several web resources about repossession in Illinois. In addition to this information, the Illinois General Assembly's website contains the full text of all Illinois Laws. Please see the links below.

If your car is about to be repossessed is it too late to make your account current with the creditors?

No, it is probably not too late. It certainly will help your credit either way. Call them immediately. Do not allow it to be repossessed if at all possible.

How do you know if there is a judgment against you?

There is no central location to find all judgments against you. You can find most creditor and major liability judgments on your credit report. You are entitled to one free credit report every year from the 3 largest national credit bureaus, TransUnion, Equifax and Esperian.

In most cases, the plaintiff or the court will send you a document indicating the judgment has been entered against you. If you move without leaving a change of address, or you do not change your address with the plaintiff or the court within a year, you will not get any mailed notices.

If you know a case has been filed against you, call or go to the clerk's office for that court. Make sure you have the docket number for the case, it will help.

What are the laws on mobile home repossession in Texas?

The laws and regulations on this in Texas were recently 'overhauled' and substantially changed. For up to date, precise information, please contact :-

-Texas Department of Community and Housing Affairs, Manufactured Housing Division.

They have an excellent website at -http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/index.htm

What are the divorce laws concerning rings in the state of Tennessee under the new laws?

I was told the laws changed as of December in the state of Tennessee concerning the return of wedding rings

Piercing laws in KY?

Contact your local health inspection or health protection office, they will be able to tell you the age requirements for your area as well as provide a list of inspected facilities near you.

Are there any websites with helpful info or templates for collection and repo letters?

== == Each states code specifies what must be in the "right to cure" letter sent before a repo.

What is a BK attorney?

BK attorney is short for bankruptcy attorney some guys specialize in it.

If your car is impounded during a traffic stop arrest can the impound yard refuse access to your property inside the vehicle?

AnswerIt depends on why it was impounded and what state you are in. In California, you may not be allowed access if it was impounded as evidence to a suspected crime, but you should be allowed access if was towed for any other reason. You may remove personal property that is not attached to the vehicle if you are the registered owner, their spouse, or have power of attorney from the registered owner.

Check out www.findlaw.com

Is there any way you can insure your car in another state from which you live?

In most cases you need to insure the car with a policy written in the state that the vehicle is registered. Many states require that the insurance companies report the vehicles that they are insuring to the state for cross reference of motor vehicle registrations. So if you live in state A and your vehicle is registered in state A but insured in state B then state A will think that your vehicle is not insured and revoke your vehicle registration. Now if you live in state A but register and insure your vehicle in state B then you run the risk of not adhereing to the law that says you must register the vehicle in the state of your primary residence. If you have a legitimate reason for doing this such as a second residence in another state at which you keep a vehicle then you should have no problem doing this. If you are doing it to avoid higher taxes or insurance premiums then you will be doing something illegal.

Can a towing company deny having your car for five days and still charge you storage fees for those days?

They can charge you but you will not owe them. Your best bet is to pay the fees, then using your witnesess that heard them say in person "we do not have your vehical here" on the first of the five days appear in small claims court with you to recover your money plus damages.

What is tangible personal property?

Tangible personal property includes anything you own that is not attached to real property (land or improvements to land) and that has a physical form.

Intangible personal property includes other things without physical form, such as personal rights in intellectual property (patents, trademarks, trade secrets, etc) or vested rights in things you do not yet possess.

How do you get fees reduced on a car impounded a CHP impound yard?

Unfortunately, if you wish your car back, it is YOU who will have to pay the fee and then try to collect it from your (so-called) friend.

What happens if you leave your car with the towing company in NV and you don't want the car back?

After a period of time, it becomes an abandoned vehicle and can be claimed by another person/company.

Can they make you pay after they have repossessed your car. you are on disability?

they can try - usually they repo and sell vehicle at auction - then sue you for the difference. If you have no income then essentially explain that to them or a lawyer if applicable. Chances are they will drop the issue and just stick it on your credit report as a repo and negative write off.

Can you be charged a repo and insurance fee when the original owner never notifid you of the repo and drove the vehicle away herself?

I'm not sure what your question/situation is but... The Finance company can do what's called "forced insurance" meaning if you do not have insurance they will put insurance on the vehicle at a hefty cost to you. They can also repossess the vehicle even if you are up to date in payments but do not pay them their insurance rate.... and that money is still owed after the repo.

Trending Questions
Your car was impounded and your husband had extraordinary license inclusive have you got rights what can you do? Can a person who has been storing your equipment refuse to give back your property unless you pay a fee? Is it better to turn your car in that to have it repossessed? Do Alabama repo companies have to notify you before repossessing your vehicle? Do you have to return the keys to your repossessed car The bank says they cant sale the car without them? How can I sell a car for parts without title? How do you sell your Nash Metropolitan? If your car is repoed do you have to still pay on it for any reason? Can you get out of a contract for a new car if you paid in full but have not picked it up yet? Can you be repo by being blocked in by the repo mans car not a tow truck and the police come 5 deep with no violence ever mention and threaten to be lock up by the seargent? As a private seller can you repo your car if the buyer is a day late or can you change the contract? What is the state next to New York? Can police hold car if not arrested? How long after a payment is missed should you wait to send a letter for rent payment? How many times can a judgment be renewed? What can you do if your car was stolen and you only have liability? How do find a VIN number if you have a HUD number on a manufactured home? Can a credit card company suzuki reposses a motorcycle if the title has no liens? Are buy-here pay-here car lots known for repossessing a car for only being a day or two late on a payment? In pa if you drive truck with gvw of 26000 pounds with air brakes do you need cdl license?